Thursday, Sept. 18, 2003 / 11:00 p.m.

~The Perfunctory Entry~

I just realized I have not only not been online all night, haven't even turned on the PC until just now, but I haven't been online since my first break at work today, 12 hours ago. Not bad, I kind of like it.

I actually fantasize about a life without my PC, sometimes, not terribly often, but I do. It sucks hours from me, and they're enjoyable hours, but they're hours nonetheless. And they're gone. So much I need to do I never do because I'm here.

That said, I was all ready for bed, about to get in it, and I felt this obligation to come here and jot something down.

"Survivor" was good. I don't know why they voted out Nicole, but it's probably best because that dress couldn't have possibly lasted much longer. Why didn't they buy clothes? And I like Rupert. He's into the whole lying, cheating, stealing thing. But he's not liked. Of course neither was Richard, and he won a million. We shall see.

The hurricane footage was fun to watch. Not that I'm happy anyone now has a tree where their living room used to be, or that some hotelier has to replace his roof, etc., etc., but watching people in rain gear holding onto lamp posts with one hand and a microphone with the other while they almost fall backwards from the wind is always kind of fun to watch. The ocean looked so beautiful all swirly and tumultuous.

My trainee left early, as there was work to do in her department today. And just in time. I was getting tired of her in my cube. She smelled bad. She must be a nighttime shower taker, or maybe an every other day person, I don't know, but she had on perfume to cover it up today (how very French!), and she smelled extra awful. And she brought a book to read, finally, because we are slow, slow, slow this week, and when it came time to take some calls, she didn't look up from her book. Not good. Read BETWEEN calls, not during. And, and, and, she took a half hour break. Very extra special super duper not good. Our breaks are 15.

Yeah.

And she'd brought up my race a couple times, and I didn't like that. Yes, I know I said she reminds me of a gorilla, and if you saw her face you'd agree with me, I have no doubt, it was a visual thing, but she started saying, "You people" and "Us" and "We", and "Black men trim their facial hair really carefully", and I had to say that some white men are really anal about their trim jobs too. I don't know, it just started to strike me. Besides the gorilla analogy, I saw this person as who she is, and I was digging her, singing her praises, but when she started to point out to me that I'm a part of a different group, it began to bother me.

I honestly believe the black people in my office never associate with whites outside of the office. That they talk to me because I'm there, and it's better to be friendly, and easier, but they'd never really associate with me outside. Other than Kukla. Kukla is the only person who's invited me out, and I her. Well, that's not true, Listerine and I went bowling that time, but that was different. She's very prejudiced.

It's the elephant in the middle of the room. The thing that they don't mention, but when they do it's in code. And I have to say, Oh, yeah, I am white, aren't I? They don't want me to forget that they want to stay segregated. They do. Oh yes, you don't believe that, but you're not experiencing the racial tension I am. See, I totally forget I'm not like them, a woman, a human, but they like to remind me that I'm white. It doesn't seem fair. Nor does most of life.

It's fine though, really.

I'm off to bed.

Wait, one more thing, I read today on Yahoo!, a story off Reuters, that EIGHT U.S. servicemen were killed in that Iraq 'ambush', and now they're saying two. What happened? And why is CBS, and most likely every other mainstream news source, just now pointing out that people have mistakenly linked Iraq to Al Qaeda and 9/11/01? And that Bush/Cheney/Rumsfeld led them to that link? Now? I've known this since the beginning. And so has every other person in the peace/antiwar or anti-Bush movement. It's like everything we've been saying all along is now suddenly gaining some validity, it's being spoken by reputable people, the Rathers and Brokaws and Anderson Coopers of the news media.

And, are people finally going to face up to Bush, begin to question him? Realize what he actually did? And how wrong it was? Invading Iraq when they posed no danger? Only now they're pointing this out? How is it possible that it took this long, and is it a case of better late than never? And will Michael Moore have such a scathing film about Bush and Bush Sr in theatres by election time that there will be no way in hell Bush will be reelected?

I'm back into it. I'm soaking up news. I can't get enough. I watch Dan and Jim and Anderson, yes, Anderson. He's just snarky enough for me to enjoy him. He interviewed Ted Nugent AND Isaac Mizrahi tonight, live. Wow.

There is a lot to think about lately.

But really, I am going to bed. It's been a long week and getting up in the morning has been so hard. PMS kicks my ass. It makes me exhausted, it keeps me up all night, dreaming, tossing and turning.

******Addendum: Here is Moby's diary entry from today... and my response... YESSSSSSS!!!!!! Impeach now!!! Click the link on this page, go to the site, vote to Impeach George W Bush for lying to us for months. For committing horrendous crimes, and unleashing weapons of mass destruction on Iraq!!!

From Today's News
9/18/2003 - New York City

collected from todays news:

"There's no question that Saddam Hussein had al Qaeda ties," Bush said.

"We don't know," Cheney said. "We've learned a couple of things. We learned more and more that there was a relationship between Iraq and al Qaeda that stretched back through most of the decade of the '90s."

"We've had no evidence that Saddam Hussein was involved in Sept. 11," Bush told reporters as he met members of Congress on energy legislation.

In recent speeches, he has called Iraq the "central front" in the war on terror, saying U.S. occupation forces face "a foreign element" as well as Saddam loyalists.

But the U.S. authorities have yet to produce any foreigners known to have participated in any recent military operation.

Before ordering the invasion that toppled Saddam, President Bush talked of an imminent threat posed by Iraqi weapons as a prime justification for war.

UN chief weapons inspector Blix, who said this week he believed Iraq had destroyed its weapons of mass destruction 10 years ago, told BBC radio that the United States and Britain "over-interpreted" intelligence about Baghdad's weapons programs. five months after Saddam's overthrow, no banned weapons have been found.

so, to paraphrase:
according to bush, the war was justified because of iraq's weapons of mass destruction and iraq's role in terrorism. and now we see very clearly that there were NO weapons of mass destruction in iraq
and NO iraqi involvement in al qaeda.
and we also see very clearly that the bush administration knew these things before the war was started.

so now we're stuck with a peacekeeping job that is taking american lives daily and will cost over $100 billion dollars, and it's all because the bush administration egregiously misrepresented the facts(aka-'lied') to start a war.

if clinton was impeached for lying about sex wouldn't it stand to reason that bush should be impeached for lying about reasons for starting a war?

-moby

Cost of the War in Iraq
(JavaScript Error)

Run, Kitty, Run!

Previous - Next

New - 2012 - 2009 - 2008 - 2007 - 2006 - 2005 - 2004 - 2003 - 2002 - 2001 - Profile - Contact - Notes - Rings - Diaryland - Favourite Entries - ReadMe - Surveys - Random Entry

Recent Entries:

It Was 40 Years Ago Today - 9:44 a.m. , Friday, Oct. 12, 2012

Dead Black Cat - 9:07 a.m. , Wednesday, Jan. 25, 2012

As Seen From Outer Space - 1:07 a.m. , Saturday, Dec. 05, 2009

I Survived to Tell the Tale - 7:29 a.m. , Friday, Sept. 18, 2009

Reading My Life - 12:55 p.m. , Saturday, Sept. 12, 2009

Happy Kitty

My Diary Was Reviewed at Ms Lovejoy's - Get Yours Reviewed Too!

Registered I was a nominee