Tuesday, Mar. 25, 2003 / 2:36 p.m.

~Personal Day, So Far~

It's about 75 degrees fahrenheit in the shade, the sun is shining, huge bumblebees are swarming around the pine 'blossoms'. Yesterday morning, waiting at the traffic light at the end of my street, I saw the tree that grows on the corner there, on a really busy street corner, in full soft pink bloom. Like wispy cotton candy. I wanted to take a picture with my digital camera, to post it here, but I remembered the camera's software is on the OTHER PC. Oh, yeah.

I need a drive into town, there are always more flowering trees and shrubs, amazing gardens there than here. I'm thinking of a lot of things I could do, but I'm moving a bit slowly. I only got up at 1:45 because I was too hot in bed. I've got to switch comforters.

I hesitate to open up the porch door, as the pollen is going to be thick, soon, and I hate to have it all inside... either that, or turn on the a/c. It's really getting hot. Too soon, as usual.

Most people welcome Spring, but I see it as the beginning of the long, hot Summer we have here. The one that lasts usually from late March to early October. That's a lot of heat, a lot of smog.

Speaking of, I need my emissions test. I need to drive around a lot before I go, to clean out the exhaust. I'm thinking now is a good time, the tank is full of that really expensive gas that's available now. Yeah, regular. Like $1.57/gallon. I'm getting about 200 miles per tank. Remember when all car ads, TV, print, etc., came with mileage ratings???? When was the last time you saw that? Remember? 35/Highway, 25/City. You'd see it and say, "Hey, that sounds pretty good." But now? 0% Financing! "Hey, that sounds pretty good, and look, it seats 8!"

Yes, yes, I called in sick. My Supervisor, H., is apparently still out on her 'personal matter', so I left voicemail and talked to the Manager (M) directly. "This is _____ (real name)." Silence. "I'm home sick. I think I have food poisoning." Silence..... "I called H. and left a message on her voicemail...", "She's not here. I hope you feel better", "Thanks. Bye."

I felt SO good. I don't lie well, but I didn't care. I never even get diarrhea, much less have I thrown up in the past I don't know how many years. Me? Food poisoning? It sounded good. It's plausible. It usually hits people quickly and with little warning, well, unless they pay close attention to the fact that they probably should cook their food before they eat it, or they really shouldn't eat at the hole in the wall restuarant, or order fish on Mondays (according to Tony Bourdain). Whatever.

I got a phone call that woke me up, a message from a local TV anchor, our NBC affiliate, asking me to take a short survey, so I picked up and took it. Questions about the War In Iraq. Fun! No, I do NOT think it's worth $75 BILLION, and I think NEITHER side is winning, and I think the U.S. Military doesn't care ENOUGH about civilian casualties, and I think it could last UP TO A YEAR. Yay! I've spoken out, however anonymously. I should remember to tune in later to see the results.

See, now if I hadn't been home I wouldn't have been able to participate.

I really think I should finish my coffee, set my tape to tape "GL" and get out in this weather, even if it means sweating in my car, just to be free, for a day, to see sunshine and flowers and birds and bees, up close. And I could stand to run some errands, maybe see a movie. This is a true 'personal day'.

Oh, I turned on the TV earlier and there was Donald Rumsfeld giving a little press conference, getting the whole room laughing by looking at his watch, trying to figure out exactly how short this War has been so far, when it seems like months have gone by. "It's only been since..... 1:00 Friday that the Air War started!". Guffaws all around! Whee! We're at War!!! It's been less than a week, that's not bad at all! So, some people have died, still, it's only been a few days! We'll have this wrapped up in NO time! Wheeeee, War is fun!

Cost of the War in Iraq
(JavaScript Error)

Run, Kitty, Run!

Previous - Next

New - 2012 - 2009 - 2008 - 2007 - 2006 - 2005 - 2004 - 2003 - 2002 - 2001 - Profile - Contact - Notes - Rings - Diaryland - Favourite Entries - ReadMe - Surveys - Random Entry

Recent Entries:

It Was 40 Years Ago Today - 9:44 a.m. , Friday, Oct. 12, 2012

Dead Black Cat - 9:07 a.m. , Wednesday, Jan. 25, 2012

As Seen From Outer Space - 1:07 a.m. , Saturday, Dec. 05, 2009

I Survived to Tell the Tale - 7:29 a.m. , Friday, Sept. 18, 2009

Reading My Life - 12:55 p.m. , Saturday, Sept. 12, 2009

Happy Kitty

My Diary Was Reviewed at Ms Lovejoy's - Get Yours Reviewed Too!

Registered I was a nominee