Wednesday, Feb. 05, 2003 / 1:24 p.m.

~In the Mood to Read~

It's War Day, isn't it? Colin Powell, LIVE AT THE UN. No "Guiding Light" today, I'm guessing. Why did we impose a 'deadline'? Why must there be a deadline? Is this still about whose penis is bigger? Or world domination????

That's what Saddam said in a recent British television interview. CBS Evening News showed a snippet last night, Saddam saying if Iraq had ties to Al Qaeda they would not be ashamed to admit it� but they don't. He says if Iraq had biological and chemical weapons they would be too hard to hide, and if the UN is not finding them it's because they simply do not exist. U.S. officials say he is lying. Saddam says U.S. officials are lying. The pissing contest continues. But we have imposed a deadline. Um, why? Saddam says this is not about weapons, this is about his country's oil. He says the U.S. wants Iraq's oil, the U.S. wants to control the area, for the oil, and thus control/dominate the world.

He is right, in a way. And as many horrible things ('atrocities'?) as have been attributed to him, to his behavior, as horrible a man as he is purported to be, I couldn't help but side with him. I couldn't help but enjoy his visage, admire his countenance, even the video of him standing on the balcony firing his rifle. Why? What's wrong with me? Why do I hate and distrust my own government to the point that I am treasonously siding with THE ENEMY?!

Horrors!!!

I admit to being a lazy activist of late. There are meetings galore, a virtual plethora of meetings, planning, plotting, organizing. The antiwar movement has escalated, the push is on, and some say 'we' can stop this war before it starts. There is also a push to impeach Bush, a web site newly installed to do just that, to organize it, to petition it, to make it and everything else happen. I've never seen such an effort, or maybe I've just never seen it quite like this, via the Interweb, this Interweb antiwar/leftist/activist movement. It's widespread and organized, beginning to come together as a really strong, cohesive movement. I love it, but it's overwhelming right now, to me.

I'm not sleeping at night. I'm tossing and turning and dreaming. I wake up remembering these long drawn out dreams, I go over them in my head, I try to remember them for later, but they disappear. Mostly. One dream this morning involved my Supervisor, H., hanging a bulletin board on the wall here at work, and on it my photographs were attached with push pins, photos in black and white, and they were really good. Kukla was really excited, people were looking, I was proud, I was realizing what talent I have as a photographer, remembering what talent I have. I felt newly invigorated, restored, like I remembered my 'calling'�

That was a good dream. But I'm not sure they all are.

I think I talk in my sleep. Sometimes I wake up talking, or laughing, or in the middle of an orgasm. Sleeping is so active, it's not restful at all. And Gladys is up and down as I am, all night long. Norman sleeps, usually at my feet, like a dog, but her compatriot is restless.

So she sleeps all day. I have no such luxury.

I've not been online at night, at home, this week, and it feels good. It feels good to eat dinner, watch a television program or two and get in bed. I even started a new book! Normally I'd be obsessive compulsive about my reading, tell myself there's a set order and I mustn't deviate from it. I must read my Entertainment Weekly 'scrip., I must catch up, I am forbidden to read a book until I'm on the current issue of EW. But I got two new books in the mail yesterday and I couldn't wait to dive in. Usually I put them in the pile on the floor in front of the bookcase next to my bed, thinking maybe one day I'll find a way to stack them on top, or squeeze them into my library, somewhere. I have books overflowing all over my apartment.

I'm a member of the Quality Paperback Book Club, have been for years, on and off, and recently I've started replying to the mailings online, but with my new computer down for the count I can't log on to their web site. I'd need IE to use it and I don't have IE on the old PC. Long, boring story, but I neglected to send in the reply form and I let them mail me the 'dual selection', one Prague and one The Lovely Bones. Seeing as how the latter has been on the NYT Bestseller list for months, I thought I'd give it a try. Good, so far. Heavy. And I can relate on some levels.

It's a novel, something I don't read often - I prefer non-fiction usually - a first person narrative written by a 14 year old girl, in heaven. She was raped and murdered and now she is coming to accept her death, and the fact that she can see her family left behind, on Earth, but she cannot affect their lives. Or can she?

Of course because my own sister was murdered when she was 16 (no rape, just murder), I thought of her a bit as I read the beginning account of the murder, and thought of how I wanted to see her, wanted her to 'appear' to me in the days after, but she never did. I'm enjoying this book so far though. I'd like to read now, here, at work, and I will as soon as I process some more paperwork. It's hard to concentrate here, due to massive amounts of NOISE, but I'm in the mood to read and write, so we'll see.

Cost of the War in Iraq
(JavaScript Error)

Run, Kitty, Run!

Previous - Next

New - 2012 - 2009 - 2008 - 2007 - 2006 - 2005 - 2004 - 2003 - 2002 - 2001 - Profile - Contact - Notes - Rings - Diaryland - Favourite Entries - ReadMe - Surveys - Random Entry

Recent Entries:

It Was 40 Years Ago Today - 9:44 a.m. , Friday, Oct. 12, 2012

Dead Black Cat - 9:07 a.m. , Wednesday, Jan. 25, 2012

As Seen From Outer Space - 1:07 a.m. , Saturday, Dec. 05, 2009

I Survived to Tell the Tale - 7:29 a.m. , Friday, Sept. 18, 2009

Reading My Life - 12:55 p.m. , Saturday, Sept. 12, 2009

Happy Kitty

My Diary Was Reviewed at Ms Lovejoy's - Get Yours Reviewed Too!

Registered I was a nominee