Sunday, Sept. 07, 2003 / 4:57 p.m.

~Bo. Ring.~

With the a/c off I can hear the stereo in the living room. This is nice. So is having a fan on in the window, the sliding glass door open to the porch in the living room. College radio is playing the "Amelie" soundtrack, also very nice. It made me want to pop the vid in, but I've yet to watch it since I bought it - four times in the theatre, but not once since. I feel like I need to dust the TV before I watch it, like I need to clean the screen, like that movie is sacred. And besides, I'm enjoying reading diaries, thinking about things I need to do, and sitting here instead of doing them. And listening to all this wonderful accordion music that evokes so much... feeling. It's nice.

"Step Into Liquid" was wonderful yesterday! I recommend. Watching manly daredevils get towed out to sea by jet skis, then surf 66 foot waves, well, WELL! Fantastic! I wanted more women surfers, and I wanted less shots of their asses, less gratuitous underwater angles of their perfect bodies, more shots of them surfing, as I know they surf too. Just like men. But the men, yeah, it was good. Tanker surfing in Texas, surfing little ripples on Lake Michigan, surfing in Ireland! Irish surfing! Protestants and Catholics forgetting their differences, little kids, learning to surf. Why did I never learn to surf? I want to surf too. I think I'd be good at it, I have really good balance.

"Amelie" is over, too bad. Will watch vid, later, mmm, sure.

I'm worn out again, lots of sleeping, lots of dreaming, waking to wash dishes and take out smelly trash, and clean litter, and make coffee and sit here to read and write and contemplate the world. I need to exercise. I know this.

Okay, this is gross, but I have one of those popcorn poppers, the kind that's big and aluminum and has this crank handle on the lid, and I used it to pop popcorn, oh, about two or three months ago, I don't remember, and I left it on the stove, because it's a bitch to wash, and the oil left behind gets really sticky, so I just left it there. Every time I washed dishes I'd think, yeah, I should wash that too, but I didn't. So, today, I did. And the oil left behind was extra double super dooper sticky, and I had to throw away my blue scrubby thing afterward because it was just so sticky, and I felt badly about that because it was a fairly newly used scrubby thing, but now I have a yellow one, but the lid of the popcorn thing just has caked on oil, you know? It's impossible to clean, and a large part of my thinking process says to me, "Throw it away, you've had it for years, just buy a new one!", but I hate that attitude, that's so... American!

It's drying, and I'll put it in the cabinet when it's dry, and hope bugs don't attach themselves to it, think it smells good or something, but if they do, they'll never get off. It could be like a giant hunk of flypaper. And is there a way to get sticky old oil off aluminum and stainless steel? My steamer is much the same, as I oil it before I steam my potstickers. Would it help if I washed everything, like, immediately after using it?? I don't know. I'm not much for cleaning. I wasn't meant to be a housewife. I was meant to be royalty, having servants wait on me. What in hell happened here?

Publix had a phone jack splitter, and clear phone cord, 25 ft, way cool, so I was able to hook up the old phone/answering machine again, and the new one too, so I'm all set. Fun. I even called Nelson last night, but he didn't answer after a couple rings, or three, so I hung up. He has the caller ID stuff too, it's his cell, so he'll know I called. Whatever. I don't really want to talk to anyone, I think I just want to listen. The new phone earpiece part is really sort of painful up against the ear anyway. Funny that.

Did I mention I went to a movie yesterday? Yeah. Okay. I have nothing else, my life is so incredibly boring. I took out my trash. I washed dishes. *YAWN* I need to wash some clothes. I am going to fix those tacos, as I did not last night. No, I ate microwave cheddar popcorn, and it was good. And at 2:30 a.m. I ate ice cream. There you go, Caroline, I ate my ice cream, Ben and Jerry's mint chocolate cookie. I wanted more cookie than was therein, but it was good. And I sat in bed while "The Enforcer" was on TCM and looked at the new Bon Appetit I had to buy because I stood in the checkout line at Publix last night, watching the guy ahead of me talk on his cell phone, or more likely listen, "You shouldn't let him treat you like that", he says, when he finally said something, and I saw said mag and had to have it. I've always said 'mag', not 'zine'. I prefer it. I like to go against the grain.

Bo. Ring.

I'm going to look around online a bit, maybe read some political ramblings, maybe a diary or two, and then see what movies are on the digital cable, wash some clothes, make those wacky tacos, on account of I am hungry after all, and watch my "GL"s on tape, and yeah, big weekend. Whoo. Hoo.

Cost of the War in Iraq
(JavaScript Error)

Run, Kitty, Run!

Previous - Next

New - 2012 - 2009 - 2008 - 2007 - 2006 - 2005 - 2004 - 2003 - 2002 - 2001 - Profile - Contact - Notes - Rings - Diaryland - Favourite Entries - ReadMe - Surveys - Random Entry

Recent Entries:

It Was 40 Years Ago Today - 9:44 a.m. , Friday, Oct. 12, 2012

Dead Black Cat - 9:07 a.m. , Wednesday, Jan. 25, 2012

As Seen From Outer Space - 1:07 a.m. , Saturday, Dec. 05, 2009

I Survived to Tell the Tale - 7:29 a.m. , Friday, Sept. 18, 2009

Reading My Life - 12:55 p.m. , Saturday, Sept. 12, 2009

Happy Kitty

My Diary Was Reviewed at Ms Lovejoy's - Get Yours Reviewed Too!

Registered I was a nominee