Sunday, Dec. 22, 2002 / 2:52 p.m.

~Scary Because It Was Precognitive~

I had a lot of dreams. After waking at 8:30, wide awake waking, I almost had to force myself to sleep to a decent hour for a Sunday, usually 1:00 or so, and I dreamed and dreamed and dreamed.

The Earth has moved, we are at a different angle to the Sun, and I never noticed because of all the clouds, the rain, but now the Sun shines, through a different window, and it's loud in its brightness.

One dream involved my computer 'breaking'. It shut down like an old TV than runs on tubes. The picture on the monitor closed from the outer edges inward. To a dot. It made a noise too, like a TV shutting off, one of the old ones. I said, "Oh no" or "Oh my god", but tried not to panic, restarted it and it was in that horrible 'safe mode'. Horrible.

I came in here to log on a few minutes ago and I got a blue screen with an error message, so I wrote it down. I won't write it here, it's awfully long, but the gist was about some child device, some Intel something or other, some incompatibility, and when I tried to 'press any key to continue' it did nothing, same with 'control + alt + delete'. I hit the 'restart' button, ScanDisk ran and all seems to be okay..........

I'm trying to figure it out. KaZaA tends to crash everything when it runs. I downloaded "Break On Through" the other night.... A couple nights ago I went through Windows Explorer looking for programs to delete, a throwback to my old computer, being used to only 24 MB remaining in storage, but I've got about 3 GB left on this one, what was I thinking? Frugality, it's inbred.

I deleted something called MS Chat. I figured it was a Chat program, what do I know? This computer was used on a LAN, it was an office computer, there are all sorts of things on it that I don't know anything about.

Whatever. I'm up, I'm running, I'll click on 'done!' in a minute, and we'll see what happens, maybe I'll defrag too.

That blue screen is scary though. It means everything might be fucked, or not. It means I have to get help, and I don't like having to turn to someone else for anything. I'm weird like that.

Last night (totally unrelated), after I changed my diary a bit, I had to keep looking at it. I love the background color, it's a mauve, sort of. I have no idea what it looks like on any other monitors, obviously, and my guess is it looks different on every one, but on mine it looks fabulous. And the new Gorey drawings are perfect. If I do say so myself. (Thanks, Aimee, I agree)

I left the old one on the 'older' pages. And I have more to use when I feel the need for a change, which despite my adverse reaction to forced change, I do like desired change, change on my own terms, change when I feel the need.

I also dreamed Gladys was talking. And I was carrying a talking cow back to her pasture. She was small. I can't remember what we were talking about..... oh, wait, it had something to do with a cafe that was serving free lunch, but it wasn't really free, and we were catching the culprits, or culprit, a cowboy. It was a range, a range house, a range kitchen.

I'm sure it's because I started to watch a Kirk Douglas movie last night, he came into a kitchen and Gena Rowlands made him some eggs, and he said he wanted a shower. Too easy to figure that one out.

I woke and looked at Gladys, under the covers, surprisingly not smothering to death (how does she do it?), but she wasn't talking.

Today is warm and beautiful, LiveWeatherBug says it's 64, though Yahoo Weather says the high will be 58. I believe the former, it's hooked up directly to the local weather radar. I have a window open in the bedroom, the porch door open, the curtains are flying from the cross ventilation.

I have an avocado to eat, and bocconcini (Caroline, it means little bites. It's pronounced: Bohkohncheeny, emphasis on the cheeeny), and a tomato. I'm thinking thin slices of all, olive oil and herbs, salt and pepper on top. Eggs with baby shiitakes later, leftover squash, carrots and peppers and shallots after that. I love having food to eat. Real food.

Things to do, must be off.

Cost of the War in Iraq
(JavaScript Error)

Run, Kitty, Run!

Previous - Next

New - 2012 - 2009 - 2008 - 2007 - 2006 - 2005 - 2004 - 2003 - 2002 - 2001 - Profile - Contact - Notes - Rings - Diaryland - Favourite Entries - ReadMe - Surveys - Random Entry

Recent Entries:

It Was 40 Years Ago Today - 9:44 a.m. , Friday, Oct. 12, 2012

Dead Black Cat - 9:07 a.m. , Wednesday, Jan. 25, 2012

As Seen From Outer Space - 1:07 a.m. , Saturday, Dec. 05, 2009

I Survived to Tell the Tale - 7:29 a.m. , Friday, Sept. 18, 2009

Reading My Life - 12:55 p.m. , Saturday, Sept. 12, 2009

Happy Kitty

My Diary Was Reviewed at Ms Lovejoy's - Get Yours Reviewed Too!

Registered I was a nominee