Wednesday, Oct. 15, 2003 / 1:18 p.m.

~On Gods and Goddesses~

This is weird, and doesn't happen that often, which is why I had to make a note of it - I just looked in the mirror in the bathroom at work and I looked spectacular. I mean it. My hair is still kind of wet, being it's only just before 10:00 a.m., but it's curly and frames my face and, well, it was probably that I wasn't wearing my glasses, and that when I lean in to see better, or just to wash my hands, I'm sort of indirectly lit by the overhead fluorescents (wouldn't it be a nicer world if we only had table lamps, maybe with those environment-friendly eco-bulbs?), but maybe it was that this week I have some energy, and one day I didn't even have a headache, which is notable because I noticed it, I said, Hey, I don't have a headache, which really makes me realize how often I do have headaches, and I'm sure they're caused by toxins indoors, indoor pollutants, mostly here, some at home (well, dust and dust mites at home, but we live in harmony), or maybe I'm just having a good day. Long, long, crazy sentence.

I shouldn't be writing, I should be reading, on account of I'm way in the mood to read today, I'm totally able to concentrate on every sentence, really 'absorb', and I'm so behind on the Entertainment Weeklys (which I like to call 'E Dubs') it's insane, and I'm dying to read a book, as I have so very many at home.

But see, the thing is this, I don't think a lot about my appearance, I dress comfortably, I seldom buy new clothes, I really don't give a fuck how I look when I'm at work, I merely dress within the 'dress code', and most of the time, when I do look in the mirror, I only think how very odd I look, and sometimes how ugly, then I go about my business and decide not to care, because why? I'm not trying to appeal to anyone, I'm not trying to attract a mate, I don't have a lover for whom I want to look my best, I'm not going on job interviews (hey, I SHOULD though!), so who cares? I mean, I check for snot, and sleepies in my eyes, and I wear clean clothes, and I do try to do 'something' with my hair, and I wash, I'm clean, well, when I go out, but otherwise? Nah, I honestly feel I've outgrown worrying about looking a certain way to please an uncertain public. I don't subscribe to patriarchal society's standards for female beauty. I don't shave my legs, nor pits, and I don't wear makeup, I'm more the earthy hippie type, with a bit of conservative prudishness thrown in.

That said, damn I look good (today)!

Oh, Commonwealth Club is on college radio - I'm curious to hear who the guest will be� Oh, good, the director of an organization advocating separation of church and state, cool. And a Reverend even.

Makes me think that I read the other day they're considering dropping the "�under god�" from the pledge of allegiance. I remember my mother not wanting me to say it in school. She was such a rebel. I didn't want to make waves. In fact, it was only with our last two or three group meals here at work that I refused to hold hands or participate at all in the blessing of the food. Not that this is church and 'state', but just the same, unless you work for a religious organization, I don't believe there is room for religion in the workplace, especially group blessings. Egad!

Must run, phones to answer, Reverend to listen to - he's a great speaker so far. Oh, really, I love this man, you should be listening!!! (he's funny too - humor is always good when discussing the separation of church and state)

Cost of the War in Iraq
(JavaScript Error)

Run, Kitty, Run!

Previous - Next

New - 2012 - 2009 - 2008 - 2007 - 2006 - 2005 - 2004 - 2003 - 2002 - 2001 - Profile - Contact - Notes - Rings - Diaryland - Favourite Entries - ReadMe - Surveys - Random Entry

Recent Entries:

It Was 40 Years Ago Today - 9:44 a.m. , Friday, Oct. 12, 2012

Dead Black Cat - 9:07 a.m. , Wednesday, Jan. 25, 2012

As Seen From Outer Space - 1:07 a.m. , Saturday, Dec. 05, 2009

I Survived to Tell the Tale - 7:29 a.m. , Friday, Sept. 18, 2009

Reading My Life - 12:55 p.m. , Saturday, Sept. 12, 2009

Happy Kitty

My Diary Was Reviewed at Ms Lovejoy's - Get Yours Reviewed Too!

Registered I was a nominee