Friday, Nov. 01, 2002 / 3:24 p.m.

~Shadoobie~

Next to my Random House Unabridged Dictionary of the English Language, I think my favorite book is The Medical Advisor � The Complete Guide to Alternative and Conventional Treatments, published by TIME/LIFE books.

I consulted it after I wrote here last night, after I gave up on WebMD.com, and I realized I should have gone there first. I found out I have inflammation of the inner ear resulting from a viral infection. For once (tee hee!) Mark was right.

I feel better knowing it�s nothing serious. I read that with or without treatment it can last a few days to a few weeks. But I feel better already. (by the way, treatment consists of bed rest and a particular antihistamine�)

I�m listening to �Some Girls� and wishing I was going to see the Stones again. Obviously I�ve thought a lot about that show last Saturday, and I�ve realized that was the best concert I�ve ever been to. Yes, Moby was good. Meeting him afterward was better. Pink Floyd was amazing. Crosby Stills Nash and Young. Elvis Costello. Grateful Dead. DEVO. B-52s. I�ve been to a LOT of concerts over the years, 26 years of concert going to be exact, but seeing the Stones, seeing that they may be old, but they�re by no means washed up, seeing Mick dance all along those runways, shake that little ass of his, that 59 year old ass, and see the amazing stage show, the technology of a 2002 Tour. Yeah, I�m still a bit blown away, and a bit star struck.

It�s hard to believe it�s November. Seems like just days ago I was complaining about the heat, driving in the Easy Bake Car, getting my air conditioning fixed, etc. Now it�s Christmas decorations and wrapping paper everywhere, trees set up in the lot next door, and lots of spend, spend, buy, buy, family, family. I hate this time of year. I love the weather, and ours has finally changed. It�s cool, it�s cold at night, the sky is blue after all, the air feels cleaner though the brown haze of smog is still there (it never really goes away), and the leaves are beginning to change color and fall to the ground. It�s good, the media advertising frenzy is bad. Nothing will ever change.

I didn�t get it at the show on Saturday, Mick et al didn�t play it, but I�m listening to it right now� �Shattered�, one of my all-time favorite Stones songs. Shadoobie indeed!

It�s only 9:16 a.m. cubicle time. I suppose I have work to do.

�Success, success, success!!! Does it matter?!!!�

**Later that day: Mark came and took me to lunch, Chinese Buffet.... mmmmmm! No such thing as a free lunch, but it doesn't seem to have cost me anything so far.

I came back feeling goofy. I left feeling goofy. Sort of typical end of week stuff. And Listerine has accused me of drinking Sake. Nope. No Sake. Just Friday Happies. Guess I'll listen to my "Run Lola Run" soundtrack and keep to myself.

I hope to buy a new VCR this weekend...

Cost of the War in Iraq
(JavaScript Error)

Run, Kitty, Run!

Previous - Next

New - 2012 - 2009 - 2008 - 2007 - 2006 - 2005 - 2004 - 2003 - 2002 - 2001 - Profile - Contact - Notes - Rings - Diaryland - Favourite Entries - ReadMe - Surveys - Random Entry

Recent Entries:

It Was 40 Years Ago Today - 9:44 a.m. , Friday, Oct. 12, 2012

Dead Black Cat - 9:07 a.m. , Wednesday, Jan. 25, 2012

As Seen From Outer Space - 1:07 a.m. , Saturday, Dec. 05, 2009

I Survived to Tell the Tale - 7:29 a.m. , Friday, Sept. 18, 2009

Reading My Life - 12:55 p.m. , Saturday, Sept. 12, 2009

Happy Kitty

My Diary Was Reviewed at Ms Lovejoy's - Get Yours Reviewed Too!

Registered I was a nominee