Friday, Jul. 18, 2003 / 7:21 p.m.

~The Shit Shall Now Hit the Fan~

Although I crave good energy, I find I'm suspicious when I have it, when I'm in the thick of it, bouncing off walls, loving the piles of work on my desk, loving the challenge of everything. It's a sign I'm going to get sick, I'm 'coming down with something', and I do have a swollen gland on the left side of my neck, and it really hurts, and is swollen, duh. And, the moon is entering Aries, my own sun sign, and say what you will, this is an indication as well.

So, bounced off my cubicle walls all day, until the end, and until I ran out of work. Then I crashed hard, almost falling asleep, or almost wishing I could almost fall asleep. I've gotten to the point where I'm totally at home in my little cubicle, and at the end of the day, when I sat facing the back of it, talking to Q, with my feet way up on the wall, leaning back, it was like I wanted to just be there.

How sick is that?

So, Ari Fleischer on Letterman last night, right. I was excited at first, thinking Dave would tear him up, in his own not so subtle way, but he disappoints me, he has this way of pretending he's an idiot when it comes to politics, of idolizing anyone who comes on with any clout at all, and it makes me gag. He asked Ari whose responsibilty it was, the whole State of the Union speech (which, oddly enough, I taped, remember?, and this must be the reason why, which was not in evidence at the time, not really), basically trying to get him to say where the buck actually stops. And oh, Ari says it's this department and that, depending on the topic, deflecting all the shit from hitting the teflon Pres. And he says something to the effect that it's all so overblown anyway, it's so not important, and isn't the important thing, the truly wonderful thing, that Saddam is a bad man and we got him OUT of Iraq? (by the way, in Dave's questions, he actually pronounces it "Ir-Rock", the only good thing about the whole promotional interview - what is Ari promoting?, his ass?)

And the audience applauds. And applauds. And suddenly it's like the Oscars when Sophia Loren appears, or anyone we all thought was already dead, and are they fucking standing?, we don't know, but it's the longest smattering of applause I remember on Dave's show, and it's sick. More gagging before Ari says New York is Republican! And I had to leave the room.

The ultimate responsibility of ANYTHING that the President says, any President, is HIS. The buck must stop at GWB. No one else can take this blame, and it IS a big fucking hairy deal, of course it is, he was making his case as to why we should go in and fuck up an entire country, kill its people, take over its streets, and remain there! Indefinitely. Of course it's a big deal. Jesus.

At the time, I scoffed, at all of it. And when Sandy and I went to that activist party, the one where the median age was 50, they were all talking about some NYT article that explained forged documents, and how the Nigerian uranium thing was a scam, and etc., and etc., and I felt really stupid because I hadn't read the NYT, because I read miscellaneous articles linked from antiwar.com and think I'm well read. They were all so educated, so smart, all these old hippies, and permanent activists.

But now it's all hit the mainstream, and there's so much chatter, and they're talking impeachment, etc., and the now retired Ari is still spinning, still doing his spin, on fooking LETTERMAN! MY Letterman. Dave, stop with the sucking up. You're not an idiot. Why are people so afraid to criticize this administration? You can see what's happening, even if you didn't read about it then, you can see it and read it now, right? You know the invasion was based on lies, right??? Do you see it NOW?

My god, we all saw it so long ago, in Sept of '01. With Afghanistan, and Bin Laden, and then this, the connect the dots accusations, the "9/11" connection, false, all of it.

What will happen? The Dems want the neocons out, they want to win the power seat in '04, so sure they're trying.... NOW. But where were they when it REALLY mattered?

Grrrrrrr... it makes me really angry, and especially when it bleeds over to Letterman. I know, I should've watched the entire interview, but when Dave gave the hypnotically clapping audience leeway, I had to make my exit. I shall catch it on the flipside. Repeats, baby.

Then, then, then, the big news is this UK Iraq weapons inspector who has mysteriously turned up dead. Oh yeah. He's one who called the Iraq report 'sexed up', a dossier 'transformed ' by Downing Street. A whistleblower turns up dead. Gee, kinda makes even the least likely conspiracy theorist say, "Hmmmm....", and scratch her head. Oooo, when, when, when are things going to really come out? Like ALL of it? Like Bush knowing about Sept '01 before the fact, and the Bin Laden connections, and is Michael Moore working on this? Please, please.

Moving right along, got to finish this up so I can watch the "BB4".

Last night's "Amazing Race" was good, as always. I want to do it, I really, really do. But with whom? I don't know how well I'd do, but I love the whole idea, and the travel would be insane. I'd break down, for sure. But what fun, eh? Really though, I don't remember the race ever being quite so incredibly close before. It seems, if memory serves, the first race was not close at all, not in the beginning or middle, maybe at the very end...

Good stuff!!

Here's how wacky this morning started, I went for my first pee of the day, and ran into the payroll administrator, whom I barely saw as she entered a stall. I saw white feet or arms or something, knew she was white, heard the voice, aha! She said she never sees me anymore, I'm busy, she's busy, we don't allow people back in our little dept anymore, and I tell her I do want to talk to her, but it is kind of awkward to talk to someone as she's peeing, and she says to go for it anyway.

I tell her about my hair, how I'm sorry I didn't wait, didn't go to a professional to get it put in ponytail that could be donated, I did it myself all spontaneously in my bathroom, the hair was too messy to save, and she says that's fine, but she's become a 'hair farm' for them, this charity, and since they need 10 inches at least, she just keeps growing it out for them. And she wants someone else to do the work when it's drastic like that, but I tell her I don't mind, I just do it myself, it's easy, and she's been out of the stall for a while during all this, we're washing our hands, etc.

And she tells me how people are being really insulting today, how one made fun of her pants, didn't understand why they have peppers on them, and are they pajama pants?, and the stripe down the sides makes them look like prisoner pants, and she's so offended, calls the woman a 'bitch' for saying it, and I look her up and down and say I think they're pretty fantastic pants after all. And then she says one of the managers had something nasty to say too, but she's like that, and "She doesn't have any Karma left", and I'm laughing because this woman has just launched into a spiel that sounds like I'm saying it! But it's so out there, so spontaneous, and forward, I'm sort of shocked.

And I love the Karma line. I know the manager in question, and it's true, from everything I hear especially, in addition.

Back to the hair, I tell her I'm not sure I ever wanted to donate it, I'm concerned about my DNA being 'out there', like a man's sperm when he donates, that I could be cloned or something, and she says how great that would be, how the world needs more of me.

And we left, went our separate ways. Does she really think I should be cloned? Two freaks meet in the ladies room, and the one says to the other.....

I'm going to work on the music survey this weekend, and I'm going to see "The Eye", and I'd be seeing it tonight, opening night, but it starts at 9:30, and "BB4" goes 'til 9:00, and well, I don't want to push it. I'm better sitting with the 'seniors' at the matinee tomorrow anyway. And since WHEN did matinees become "$6.00, when the normal price is $8.00? It seems not that long ago that a matinee was like $3.50 and a regular show was $7.50. What happened? But you know I pay it. I don't care about money too much when it comes to movies, music and food.

I think that's all I had, really. I'm listening to my playlist on Winamp. "Move - You Make Me Feel So Good" is on. Moby dispelled rumors yesterday, on his web site, that he is getting married this weekend. Huh. I wouldn't be surprised if he were getting married. But it should be to me.

Cost of the War in Iraq
(JavaScript Error)

Run, Kitty, Run!

Previous - Next

New - 2012 - 2009 - 2008 - 2007 - 2006 - 2005 - 2004 - 2003 - 2002 - 2001 - Profile - Contact - Notes - Rings - Diaryland - Favourite Entries - ReadMe - Surveys - Random Entry

Recent Entries:

It Was 40 Years Ago Today - 9:44 a.m. , Friday, Oct. 12, 2012

Dead Black Cat - 9:07 a.m. , Wednesday, Jan. 25, 2012

As Seen From Outer Space - 1:07 a.m. , Saturday, Dec. 05, 2009

I Survived to Tell the Tale - 7:29 a.m. , Friday, Sept. 18, 2009

Reading My Life - 12:55 p.m. , Saturday, Sept. 12, 2009

Happy Kitty

My Diary Was Reviewed at Ms Lovejoy's - Get Yours Reviewed Too!

Registered I was a nominee