Sunday, Mar. 30, 2003 / 5:47 p.m.

~Message Boards Make Me Want a Shower~

Alrighty, I've just read most of the posts about "Irreversible" on the IMDb message boards, one that really stood out for its interpretation of the movie, and its eloquence, and I think I'm good to go.

I woke up thinking about the movie, and now, after reading all about it again, I feel *ick* again. I love that one person wrote that he wanted to shower after seeing it! Exactly. I'm still not sure if it was brilliant or really horrible, or somewhere in between, but I'm no longer craving conversation about it. I mean, I have questions that can only be answered, or points that can only be clarified by a second viewing, but jesus god I'm not sure I can stomach it again.

Man, what a film. Really, this reminds me of "The Pinao Teacher", the film I saw with Mark last Summer. I walked out after that movie in a daze. Couldn't stop exclaiming. Nothing seemed right after that film. (and see, I mentioned Mark's name in my diary, but he didn't mention mine when he talked about the Dahlonega film fest in his diary a few days ago - harrumph!)

Anyway, I've got to do something normal or I will keep those images in my head. 'Visceral' is the word that keeps being bandied about, and okay, sure. Whatever. The movie sticks, it's stuck, and in a way I think I'd like it to go away for a bit.

It's cold again, barely in the low 50s outside, and inside I'm still in shorts and a t-shirt, mainly because I've yet to bathe, and therefore I've yet to put on clean, warmer clothes until I do bathe. One thing leads to the other, the thing that always prevents me from 'just doing it', whatever 'it' is. First, this must be done, then, and only then, can that be done. It's always this way.

I started by sleeping, then reading news about the war, a long piece at the Guardian online, all about how the war is going, what we expected, how it's actually turning out, how most assuredly the "Coalition" will WIN, but at what cost, and when? And it must be hard with rebel soldiers in civies. Really. Can you imagine the mind fuck of not knowing what the enemy even looks like, and therefore thinking EVERYONE is the enemy? And the fedayin (oh, I know I'm spelling it wrong) is even using the civilians in Basra as human shields! And firing on them to keep them from leaving.

War is hell, man, war is hell.

Is there a lighter note? Here's irony, for Norman's birthday I gave her some 'treats', just little hairball prevention kibbles, soft chewy treats, only three, and of course the 'other cat' wanted some, so she had some too, and all was well, a carefully doled out birthday treat, but an hour or two later Norman threw it up, and it looked like much more than just three kibbles! It goes like this, vomit, walk a few steps, vomit again, walk a few steps, rinse, lather, repeat. Then I have to follow along with the wet paper towels and carpet cleaner. Yeah, I'm not very domestic. It works well enough for me though.

Poor old girl. Her tum is so delicate. G did fine with hers, no puking there, but Norm, ah well. And on her birthday!

I've now been online for approximately 5 hours. That's insane, and it's nothing compared to yesterday. Combine a really slow PC with a keen interest in everything that is 'online', and this is what you get. I have things to do, chores, but the last thing I feel like is doing them.

I was thinking earlier that every weekend needs to be four days, like the vacation I took a few weeks ago. That way I have the first two days to do this, a few loads of laundry and hours of Interweb. Then the next two days are for going out, shopping, spending absurd amounts of money on stuff that's fun and good, going to a movie maybe, then watching TV, and cooking.

Two days is just not enough. Who designed this system anyway? Work five days, have two lousy days off, that's just crazy.

Man, I feel like watching a Disney animated video or something, or maybe I'll take that shower, or a long bath, just to wash off the memory of that movie. And isn't it odd to be so disturbed by a film, yet think of it as brilliant for the sheer fact that it causes that response? And I don't mean it's in the same category as "Bully", no, it's much, much more graphic, but if you go in expecting the worst you've ever seen you may be disappointed. I think it helped (helped?) that I only knew the little I knew going in.

Actually, living in the Christian right-wing Bible Belt, I'm curious to know if there's any sort of public outcry that "Irreversible" is even being shown here.... must research.... must spend more time online researching..... when will I give in and go buy a new computer and get a DSL connection????

Cost of the War in Iraq
(JavaScript Error)

Run, Kitty, Run!

Previous - Next

New - 2012 - 2009 - 2008 - 2007 - 2006 - 2005 - 2004 - 2003 - 2002 - 2001 - Profile - Contact - Notes - Rings - Diaryland - Favourite Entries - ReadMe - Surveys - Random Entry

Recent Entries:

It Was 40 Years Ago Today - 9:44 a.m. , Friday, Oct. 12, 2012

Dead Black Cat - 9:07 a.m. , Wednesday, Jan. 25, 2012

As Seen From Outer Space - 1:07 a.m. , Saturday, Dec. 05, 2009

I Survived to Tell the Tale - 7:29 a.m. , Friday, Sept. 18, 2009

Reading My Life - 12:55 p.m. , Saturday, Sept. 12, 2009

Happy Kitty

My Diary Was Reviewed at Ms Lovejoy's - Get Yours Reviewed Too!

Registered I was a nominee