Wednesday, Dec. 24, 2003 / 11:45 p.m.

~Fifteen Minutes Worth~

Aha, Diaryland was not working earlier, but now it is, and all is well, and I have 15 minutes before it is no longer today, so if I want to be a true diary writer and update daily, well, you get the idea. I am trying to be better about updating here, as it seems I've strayed a bit.

Such a day I've had. I got up around 6:00, but I'm still not sure. I blocked it out immediately. It was very dark, and it stayed very dark, and it was still not too cold, but a 'front' moved in and now it's downright nippy.

Major data entry project at work, and I'm still weighing whether not being laid off was a good idea, in light of what I'll be doing once our department is 100% obsolete. As long as Kukla and I keep it up and running, just enough to redirect the mail and answer the phone, if it rings, which it basically does not, we have it made - as far as privacy and autonomy are concerned, but we are still sharing data entry duties with the other department, and it sucks so very horribly.

I am not a data entry person, but I am very good at it. I get into a 'flow', and I become very fast at 'keying', but I hate it. It's numbing, and I'm under a lot of strain with my eyes squinting and hurting, and a semi-permanent spasm, to which I alluded yesterday by it's medical term, whatever it was, go look if you want. I also have the wrist and shoulder pains if I do the same thing for too long. So, I don't, and I get up and stretch and do neck rolls and shoulder rolls, but then our mail arrives and I'm thankful to do that drudgery for a bit instead of the other.

I'm still earning money. And they did let us go home early, WITH PAY. I had already requested my final hour for the year to be applied, but it wasn't necessary and I asked over and over again, of the remaining manager on site, "And we get paid, right? You sure?", and she said, "A full eight hours", and Kukla had been outside walking on her lunch 'hour', er 20 minutes (we were cutting corners, coming in early, taking short lunches, yada, yada, to make up for the leaving early, early being 3:00, but then it was 1:00, and I was pissed in the long run that we were jerked around so).

Our Manager (and the Site Manager) is out until after the 'New Year', so things are just screwy.

Alas, and alack, I came home at 1:00, after working 5.5 hours total, and it was nice.

I've been cleaning my apartment a bit, which is unusual, I know, but I haven't wanted to watch television, and being online gets old when no one is responding to all the crap I keep posting at the journal site.

Oh, I found someone to go to a hockey game with, a total stranger, but he goes to a lot of games, and I need hockey buddies bad. We shall see how that goes - we meet Friday.

It's cold now, and I've drunk so much hot tea my back teeth are floating. Still, I'm cold.

I've listened to some Elvis Christmas songs, and some Jingle Cats, so I'm good for the "Holiday", and I have nothing to eat for tomorrow, so I'm seriously considering some good Chinese takeout. I don't think I can stand to sit in a restaurant alone on Christmas without feeling the overwhelming pity from strangers that would erupt through the room, so I'll bring it home to eat with the girls, if I do it.

There was even an article in the paper online today, a list of Chinese restaurants open tomorrow, for all the Jews, Muslims, and wannabes. Or just people with nothing else to do, people who sort of forgot to buy food and know the stores are closed. Etc.

I also hope to continue with the cleaning tomorrow. It's so seldom I get the urge, I have to run with it. We'll see if it carries over. We, who am I kidding? I'm so weird.

Oh, and I am seriously crushing on more than one person now, isn't that stupid too? There was the Site Manager, the one who can fix things, and does, and is so great and mysterious and older, but acts young, kind of like me ("I", I know, but I don't feel like being grammatically correct right now). But then there's the younger one, hmmmmm... so attractive, so smart, one of the most intelligent people I've ever met, filled with book smarts out his ass. Many thoughts on this subject. And much online flirting with men I'll never meet, but would like to.

I think I just really want someone in my life, and that's never anything I ever admit, but it feels so good to be with someone, to talk and be together, and yeah.

There's more, but this feels awkward. I feel I've said too much already. I'm just thinking a lot, as I am wont to do. But I'm cold and I need to go to bed, and it's been 15 minutes of me writing off the top of my head, so that's good, yes?

(An alarm just went off, and I'm not sure why - it's outside, not a car alarm - ugh)

Cost of the War in Iraq
(JavaScript Error)

Run, Kitty, Run!

Previous - Next

New - 2012 - 2009 - 2008 - 2007 - 2006 - 2005 - 2004 - 2003 - 2002 - 2001 - Profile - Contact - Notes - Rings - Diaryland - Favourite Entries - ReadMe - Surveys - Random Entry

Recent Entries:

It Was 40 Years Ago Today - 9:44 a.m. , Friday, Oct. 12, 2012

Dead Black Cat - 9:07 a.m. , Wednesday, Jan. 25, 2012

As Seen From Outer Space - 1:07 a.m. , Saturday, Dec. 05, 2009

I Survived to Tell the Tale - 7:29 a.m. , Friday, Sept. 18, 2009

Reading My Life - 12:55 p.m. , Saturday, Sept. 12, 2009

Happy Kitty

My Diary Was Reviewed at Ms Lovejoy's - Get Yours Reviewed Too!

Registered I was a nominee