Thursday, Oct. 02, 2003 / 10:21 p.m.

~A Close Ten Per Cent~

I spent a good portion of my free time today at work looking through my new Zagat music guide, checking off albums I have, out of the 1000 listed. I counted about 110. Not bad, eh? There are a lot more I want to have, and now I can make up a good list, go record shopping, or CD shopping.

The overall best rated album of all time, according to the survey participants, myself included?

Guess.

No, really, guess.

It's one of my very favorite all time albums. Possibly my favorite album of all time, hard to say.

Miles Davis' "Kind of Blue".

So, it was a day in which I felt better, Thursday always is, the proximity to Friday and the upcoming two joyous days spent NOT at work felt with some gusto. If one could feel proximity with gusto.

I had energy, and so I flipped through lists of albums, checking off, and reading reviews, and answering the phone if it rang, and ringing my hands, my fingers, as I've noticed lately that I do, a lot apparently. And I showed the Zagat book to Jane, and the Home Bistro catalog, as I'd placed my order for gourmet flash frozen food items to be delivered, and called to see if they were on their way. And they were, and I in fact received them, left at my door, after work this evening.

I ate the smoked salmon/smoked mozzarella ravioli with balsamic vinaigrette with walnuts and sun dried tomatoes, and although the portion was not too large, it was not too small, and it was quite tasty.

I wrote a check for the bus to D.C. too, and some extra, as I like to donate when I can, and mailed it after work, so I am committed to considering going, as I won't want to simply subsidize, and I know I want to go, again, a new group this time, it's been months, and there is excitement there.

This weekend I plan to buy new athletic shoes, and maybe new jeans, not only because I need them, but to wear to the Demonstration. And an automatic pet feeder, for the 'pets', finally. They really need it, in place of me just leaving them out enough food for the two nights and a day.

Gladys feels awfully lumpy, and I can't tell if it's just my own paranoia. When will I choose a doctor and take her? She seems so fine though, so healthy though, bright eyed, a bit chunky from the new Senior food, her coat shiny and nice, her energy level high when she's in the mood. She's responsive, she drinks and eats fine, has a good appetite, and evacuates her bladder and bowels quite normally and regularly. It's nearly impossible for me to admit she may have cancerous tumors, or simply an invasion of lipomas, and how do lipomas invade anyway? I'm turning to see her now, she looks fine. She just feels... lumpy. There seem to be lumps under each forearm, under the 'elbows', the joints. Hard to say.

I called Hermione to wish her a happy birthday, but she seemed distracted. She has family there, family who've flown in for the occasion, her birthday and her husband's, one day after the other. She seems so 'spoiled', always has. People are always giving to her, and now her child, an only child as well. When she was here earlier this year I suggested again, quite strongly, that she produce another child, soon, because the one should not be an only child, but she doesn't seem to think it's a bad thing. Maybe it's not, but Jesus, I've been to three of that little girl's birthday parties already, and they're sort of disgusting. Too much of everything, and no appreciation for anything.

These are people with too much.

I won't go into it any further. That's enough right there.

But speaking of too much... I cut out items I wanted to purchase, from the KMart sale circular, and unlike most of their sales, wherein I consider finally going on the last day, only to change my mind and throw away the cutouts, I went after work. I bought a three pack of Polaroid film. Because I have a Polaroid camera, and Polaroids are fun. No other reason. And snacks, because they were on sale, and I like snacks. And Reese's 'inside out' peanut butter cups, because they are inside out. And three men's long sleeve, one pocket, very thin cottony/polyestery tshirts, made by fruited looms, because they were three for nine dollars. Three dollars each, no wonder they're so thin. But I can wear them on Fridays at work. I need shirts, sans logos, to wear on Fridays. And I bought gray, black and maroon.

And a three drawer plastic storage bin thing to put in the closet, to fill with the crap that is on the floor of said closet, so that there will be more room, or at least this is the plan. And it's not crap, it's mostly photography school supplies - meaning really old crap. Photos, black and whites, some negs, surely, and mounted photos, some really old paper, photo paper, and mementoes from the bookstore where I worked for 4 years. Stuff. Mementoes. One day I'll go through my filing cabinet and throw out the crap in there, make room for the crap from the closet, or maybe it will all fit in these new drawers.

I am a packrat, self described, no shame, but it's good stuff I save. Really. I always think I'll show it to someone, but there never is a 'someone'. Maybe I can sit with it all one day and show it to me.

Gladys just brought me her sock. Mr Sockie, I call 'him'. With accompanying yowling. Now she's turning in circles, settling atop a pair of jeans thrown over a storage box, the last storage box I bought, to put my mother's old letters and photos in, the box that hasn't quite made it back into the other closet. Gladys likes to sit on it, and I'd hate to deny her.

Isn't that a good excuse?

I'm suddenly exhausted. If I exercised, would I be so exhausted all the time? Is it that my energy of this morning burned me out? And the shopping spree? Shopping is draining. Spending money can be fun, but when the reality sets in it's hard to stomach. Although, I spent less at KMart than I usually do at Wal Mart. I did pretty well actually, and I have no regrets. In fact, I'm kind of excited to work on my closet. I've been meaning to do it for a long, long time. The big 'walk in', into which I canNOT walk.

Hah, I'm going back to Washington, can you believe it?

And I now have frozen gourmet food, in pouches, food that I can heat up in boiling water. This is exciting, I think. And tomorrow's Friday, and "The Daily Show" is on in a bit, and Jon Stewart makes me laugh, and this is good, and Letterman after, but I can't stay awake lately. Last night I fell asleep in the time it took to show one more commercial before Tim Robbins was going to be on. I awoke during his interview and groggily fell right back to sleep, sort of cursing my exhaustion of late. Tonight should be no different, I'm worn.

P.S. What the hell is going on on "ER"? I guess I missed the last two or three eps from last season, and they're rerunning one now, but I'm lost. I had to get up and walk away. Is Kovac dead? Why are they in Africa? And who is the chick who sits with her feet on her chair?

Cost of the War in Iraq
(JavaScript Error)

Run, Kitty, Run!

Previous - Next

New - 2012 - 2009 - 2008 - 2007 - 2006 - 2005 - 2004 - 2003 - 2002 - 2001 - Profile - Contact - Notes - Rings - Diaryland - Favourite Entries - ReadMe - Surveys - Random Entry

Recent Entries:

It Was 40 Years Ago Today - 9:44 a.m. , Friday, Oct. 12, 2012

Dead Black Cat - 9:07 a.m. , Wednesday, Jan. 25, 2012

As Seen From Outer Space - 1:07 a.m. , Saturday, Dec. 05, 2009

I Survived to Tell the Tale - 7:29 a.m. , Friday, Sept. 18, 2009

Reading My Life - 12:55 p.m. , Saturday, Sept. 12, 2009

Happy Kitty

My Diary Was Reviewed at Ms Lovejoy's - Get Yours Reviewed Too!

Registered I was a nominee