Monday, Nov. 25, 2002 / 9:45 p.m.

~"The Ice Storm", Again~

The F/X channel cut out an entire scene from "The Ice Storm", and the only reason I can think of is maybe it fit into the time slot better without it. It's the scene where Elena steals the lipstick in the drugstore. She gets caught, runs out of the store, gets back on the bicycle and rides home, and it's only then that she runs into the kitchen and helps her husband get the turkey from the refrigerator. It made no sense without seeing that drugstore scene.

This is why I avoid commercial television for movies. Editing. Not good for such an excellent, deeply moving film such as this by Ang Lee. I love this movie. I've seen it several times, and I'll still watch it next time I see it's on. Everything about it is cold, like ice. All the people in it, searching for comfort, warmth.

Time for the electrocution scene.....

Okay, whew, heavy, heavy movie. Man. Yeah, okay.

Watching that ending makes me think of last night, looking over the railing and down 11 stories, enjoying getting right up to the edge, looking down, imagining falling, for just a moment, backing up, doing it again. Like Mikey on the diving board covered with ice, bouncing up and down just to get that feeling that he might fall into that empty pool at any moment, or he might control it, come close, get that uneasy sensation in the pit of his stomach, then step back, feel 'normal' again.

Cost of the War in Iraq
(JavaScript Error)

Run, Kitty, Run!

Previous - Next

New - 2012 - 2009 - 2008 - 2007 - 2006 - 2005 - 2004 - 2003 - 2002 - 2001 - Profile - Contact - Notes - Rings - Diaryland - Favourite Entries - ReadMe - Surveys - Random Entry

Recent Entries:

It Was 40 Years Ago Today - 9:44 a.m. , Friday, Oct. 12, 2012

Dead Black Cat - 9:07 a.m. , Wednesday, Jan. 25, 2012

As Seen From Outer Space - 1:07 a.m. , Saturday, Dec. 05, 2009

I Survived to Tell the Tale - 7:29 a.m. , Friday, Sept. 18, 2009

Reading My Life - 12:55 p.m. , Saturday, Sept. 12, 2009

Happy Kitty

My Diary Was Reviewed at Ms Lovejoy's - Get Yours Reviewed Too!

Registered I was a nominee