Sunday, Feb. 16, 2003 / 7:23 p.m.

~Trying To Consolidate My Peace Links/Buttons Just a Bit~

Go look at the pictures from yesterday's peace march in Los Angeles in Kassia's diary! Cool, huh? Rob Reiner, Martin Sheen, James Cromwell!! Very cool.

I'm almost embarassed at my city's turnout. I know, I know, I didn't go, and so did a lot of other people, not go. What happened to our city? Don't we care? We're a HUGE city, a major, major city, we get all the movies, concerts, etc., New York, L.A., Us. What's the deal???

I taped the news coverage, but even the reporters standing in front of the tiny throng (estimated at a couple hundred) mentioned how scattered, disorganized it all seemed. Sad.

Still, yes, yesterday's "The World Says No To War!" was magnificent!

I watched "Annie Hall" again last night, though I really, really did intend to see Beck on "SNL". I love "Annie Hall". And today I got out of bed just to grab the remote and check the digital guide, decided on "The Last Picture Show", and stayed in bed watching it on the little TV, finally getting up to get my glasses to try to make it a bit easier to see.

What a sad movie. I am tempted to say 'depressing', but it's mainly just sad. I'd never watched it all the way through before, especially not on cable, not seeing all the nudity, and it was good, really well shot, well directed, well acted, and Cloris Leachman.... wow. Of course, for me, it was cool to see a 40 year old having an affair with a high school kid, and him being turned on by her. Gave me some hope. And I thought she was beautiful when her hair was down falling all around her face. Woman's got some amazing bone structure.

Good, good movie.

So, it's been raining, I've been doing nothing, and this is what my weekends are for. All week long I'm driving my pitiful old car, going back and forth, running errands and going to work, being so responsible. Two days a week I do nothing, and I try not to feel guilty, like I should be doing this or that instead. It feels great.

Michael Moore is going to be featured on "60 Minutes" in just a few minutes, and then at 8:00 we have "The Simpsons" 300th episode! Woo hoo!!!

My only regret is that all the heavy weather, all the inches and feet of snow, the freezing rain, all the bad stuff, is north of here. We get nothing. Not even a Holiday for President's Day. Fuck.

Oh, speaking of words, like fuck, I sometimes say La dee da, or La dee fucking da, and I realized I got that from "Annie Hall", not that she says fuck, ever, but still. That is such a great movie. Such.

Cost of the War in Iraq
(JavaScript Error)

Run, Kitty, Run!

Previous - Next

New - 2012 - 2009 - 2008 - 2007 - 2006 - 2005 - 2004 - 2003 - 2002 - 2001 - Profile - Contact - Notes - Rings - Diaryland - Favourite Entries - ReadMe - Surveys - Random Entry

Recent Entries:

It Was 40 Years Ago Today - 9:44 a.m. , Friday, Oct. 12, 2012

Dead Black Cat - 9:07 a.m. , Wednesday, Jan. 25, 2012

As Seen From Outer Space - 1:07 a.m. , Saturday, Dec. 05, 2009

I Survived to Tell the Tale - 7:29 a.m. , Friday, Sept. 18, 2009

Reading My Life - 12:55 p.m. , Saturday, Sept. 12, 2009

Happy Kitty

My Diary Was Reviewed at Ms Lovejoy's - Get Yours Reviewed Too!

Registered I was a nominee