Thursday, Dec. 05, 2002 / 9:25 p.m.

~TV Night, Don't You Know~

No puppies, no daisies, just a commercial break from "CSI". I love this show, even if I did have to hold my hand over my eyes when the coroner was peeling the skin away from the FIVE INCH stab wound in the dead kid's belly. (his eviscera 'popped out' from the wound when the cab ran over him!) Good, good show.

The 'new boy' and I completed a crossword puzzle today, the one in the free weekly, the really hard (no, not NYT hard, but hard) puzzle. No shit, as a team, we rock. Oh, not the 'new, new boy', the 'new boy'. 'Perm boy'. Dammit, he deserves a nickname.

And I'm getting way too much political email lately. It's insane. MoveOn.org, the ACLU, the IAC, and IRC, what the hell is IRC? It's long, long, book-length preaching to the choir kind of stuff. Yes, Iraq is being inspected, the fookin' palace is being inspected, and yes, tell Bush that is best, inspect before blowing them to smithereens, if you must. But I hate the format, I don't want long, long, emails to read, I don't read them, I file them away, for 'later'.

'Later' never comes.

Ah, but magically it is later, now. Another commercial break, and what I'm realizing I like best about this show, "CSI" for those of you not paying attention (like there's some huge audience reading this? - um, yeah, so aware, aren't I?), is the lack of emotions. It's about the evidence telling the story. The story is told, just enough for the viewer to shake her head, to sort of 'tsk, tsk' under her breath, but that's about it. It's very cut and dried. Mystery, evidence, solutions. Usually anyway.

Why do navel oranges dry out so severely in the fridge? Is it time? Or do they come that way? Is it that I always leave them too long?

Today was high energy day, today was shake with it, gotta get up and go over THERE now energy day. Check the FAXes, the Next Day Airs, the mail, what about THAT?, and THIS?, better go CHECK IT OUT. Now. Sit. Take a call, no calls, time to get back UP. Really. No Wheaties, just some planetary alignment or misalignment or something.

Hence the crossword puzzle solving. And it was a hard one, really. But between us we got it. I jumped up and down when we figured out the Rat Packer was Joey Bishop. Joey Bishop!!! Yes! I knew it was Joey! I can see him, dark hair, short guy, funny guy.

It's really hard to write on Thursday nights.

There was some emotion there at the end of "CSI", but not much. So she lost both her sons, it was preventable, 100%. Not the best episode yet.

My TV analysis goes on to note that the lighting on "ER" is nothing compared to "Felicity". The scenes in Abby's apartment? Where is the light coming from? I know it's lit from above, but there are no obvious lights there. She has an overhead in the kitchen, appropriate light falling below, but all that ambient from the ceiling?? Stage lighting. TV lighting. Really, really artificial. Hate it. "ER" is something I watch because I have been. Sort of like "GL", not because it's the best, but because I'm committed, or should be, or something.

I can't quote Grissom directly, but his line about mob mentality allowing the individual the freedom of not having to discern between right and wrong was beautiful. Perfect. I wish I could have written it down verbatim.

I'm tired, even my antsy restlessness is wearing thin. This is it, I think, this one last show, email to Sandy, and bed. I hope.

Cost of the War in Iraq
(JavaScript Error)

Run, Kitty, Run!

Previous - Next

New - 2012 - 2009 - 2008 - 2007 - 2006 - 2005 - 2004 - 2003 - 2002 - 2001 - Profile - Contact - Notes - Rings - Diaryland - Favourite Entries - ReadMe - Surveys - Random Entry

Recent Entries:

It Was 40 Years Ago Today - 9:44 a.m. , Friday, Oct. 12, 2012

Dead Black Cat - 9:07 a.m. , Wednesday, Jan. 25, 2012

As Seen From Outer Space - 1:07 a.m. , Saturday, Dec. 05, 2009

I Survived to Tell the Tale - 7:29 a.m. , Friday, Sept. 18, 2009

Reading My Life - 12:55 p.m. , Saturday, Sept. 12, 2009

Happy Kitty

My Diary Was Reviewed at Ms Lovejoy's - Get Yours Reviewed Too!

Registered I was a nominee