Thursday, Oct. 03, 2002 / 1:28 p.m.

~The Ultimate in 'Reality Television', a Very Bad Decision, and Our Crazy World~

Forget "Real World", forget "Survivor", "Big Brother", "The Mole"� The best (and of course this is just my opinion, and probably the opinion of Entertainment Weekly's Dalton Ross too) Reality TV program to date is "The Amazing Race". The season premiere was last night, and it was excellent as always. The only thing I might have changed was the little snippet with the soccer mom saying, "We have to win!". That was a clue that she and her soccer mom buddy were going out. But those twin models were goofy as hell, so even without the editing, they were a close second. What a great concept, seriously, take these 12 teams of 2, and the "2" are couples, friends, siblings, parents, whatever (this season they have a dad and his gay son, his gay cheerleader son - I love it!), and watch them race around the world. Perfect! There's something for everyone, exotic locales for the armchair traveler, relationship conflicts for the amateur psychologists and Jerry Springer fans, scavenger hunting and physical challenges for the "Eco-Challenge"-lovers.

There's running, overstuffed backpacks bouncing on backs and chests, arguing, sweating, speaking in foreign tongues (fun how many of the contestants actually spoke decent Spanish!), much 'high-fiveing' and hugging, posturing, but very little primping. This is not a show about flat-stomached pretty girls in their 20s, oh no, these are 'real' people thrust into intense situations. And no voting people off! You're late, you lose.

I already have my Fall TV schedule all lined up. And it's good, so far.

I watch "CSI: Miami" on Mondays, "Gilmore Girls" and "Real World" on Tuesdays, "Amazing Race" and "MDs" on Wednesdays ("MDs" is similar to "M*A*S*H", but it's set in a San Francisco hospital, there's no war going on, and it's not as bloody, not yet, no martinis either, but it seems to constantly and good naturedly make fun of itself as being 'yet another hospital show', most enjoyable), "Survivor", "CSI" and "ER" (can you BELIEVE Romano's arm got cut off by a helicopter rotor?!) on Thursdays.

That's it, so far. I watched a bit of "60 Minutes II" last night, but just to see the behind the scenes stuff about the Rolling Stones Tour - they have 300 people working to put it on, the tour. Amazing. And seeing Mick and Keith interviewed by Ed Bradley was really cool. I love Ed. He was asking Mick about the thing with Keith being all pissed that Mick was 'knighted', but Mick didn't want to talk about it. Ed's knocking back his bottled water, sort of, "Aw, hell, come on Mick, dish for us" and Mick was all "Uh gee, no Ed, but thanks for asking" sort of thing. Very funny, big smiles all around.

Mick has such deep crevices in his face. It's fascinating to look at him. Keith too. And Keith has that 'I've been smoking for my entire life' cough. Even Charlie Watts says they'll keep touring and playing as long as they can. I see them playing until one of them dies. And even then, like after Jerry Garcia died, they'll probably keep it going somehow� how can they stop?

The segment also focused on the money behind the band, the Institution that is the ROLLING STONES, the merchandising, the new CD promoting the Tour, the Tour promoting the CD, but I don't mind at all, I'm all for it. It must cost a FORTUNE for them all to travel on their fancy plane, with all their fancy food, their fancy stage show (and it looks really good, I can't WAIT to see it!! - god, I'm glad I bought a ticket!!!!), and all those 300 people putting it all together, so I don't mind supporting it. I'll most likely buy a t-shirt before it's over.

In other news�

Here's an example of one really bad decision fucking up your entire life: You're a 28 year old woman with a 3 year old, your baby's daddy is long gone (I'm guessing here with some of this), you need work, you get a temp job, but on your first day you can't find a sitter for the kid. "Aw hell", you think, "I'll just leave her in the car, she'll be okay, I'll check on her on my breaks, at lunch, what choice do I have?" You go on in to work, you check on the kid (I'm guessing here, as I said), she's fine, you go back in, work a bit, come out later� "Gee, it's kind of hot for October, I hope little Shaniqua (or Tequila, or Cequila or whoever) is okay� what's this? Wake up, Shaniqua!!!", and the kid is unconscious. You rush her to the hospital, but her internal body temperature has reached 107 degrees and she is way dead.

This happened yesterday here, in Buckhead, an area in Atlanta. Now she's being accused of murder, not just neglect. This chick will most likely spend the rest of her life, or the best portion anyway, in prison. All because she felt her new temp job mattered more than the welfare of her 3 year old.

You know, what the hell?!

Look at the investment, the pregnancy, the morning sickness, the maternity clothes, the baby shower, the stroller, the car seat, backtrack to the labor itself, the hospital bills, the vaccinations, the diapers, the food, the cuddles, the giggles, the sleepless nights, the joy, nearly four years worth, POOF! Because she was an idiot. How fucking stupid do you have to be to commit such a crime? To make such a poor choice, to decide your 3 year old will be okay in a sealed tight car on the top floor of a parking deck in 85 degree weather??!!

I brought it 'to the floor' here at work a little while ago, to see what the women here thought about it, and they were all sick about it, in disbelief really, and I still think it all boils to down to what one really bad decision can do to ruin your entire life. THINK, people, think. Just like what I wrote yesterday, about Penelope's dog. Yeah, that blood on the floor means the dog's in heat, get her spayed, keep an eye on her, keep her inside with you, take her to the park for long walks, throw her a ball, a frisbee. Maybe when I joked that the dog is trying to commit suicide by running into traffic I wasn't far off�

This is a crazy world we live in.

One final illustration for the day, an illustration of how crazy it all is, last night's CBS Evening News with Dan Rather reporting. Hurricane Lili coverage galore, of course, the 'news' agencies love hurricanes, such an opportunity for 'you are there' reporting, and Dan says we should stay tuned to CBS for the Best In Hurricane Coverage.

I don't know about anyone else, but I had a problem with advertising potential disaster as if it's part of the new fall lineup. Can you see me shaking my head? Tsk, tsk, tsk

Cost of the War in Iraq
(JavaScript Error)

Run, Kitty, Run!

Previous - Next

New - 2012 - 2009 - 2008 - 2007 - 2006 - 2005 - 2004 - 2003 - 2002 - 2001 - Profile - Contact - Notes - Rings - Diaryland - Favourite Entries - ReadMe - Surveys - Random Entry

Recent Entries:

It Was 40 Years Ago Today - 9:44 a.m. , Friday, Oct. 12, 2012

Dead Black Cat - 9:07 a.m. , Wednesday, Jan. 25, 2012

As Seen From Outer Space - 1:07 a.m. , Saturday, Dec. 05, 2009

I Survived to Tell the Tale - 7:29 a.m. , Friday, Sept. 18, 2009

Reading My Life - 12:55 p.m. , Saturday, Sept. 12, 2009

Happy Kitty

My Diary Was Reviewed at Ms Lovejoy's - Get Yours Reviewed Too!

Registered I was a nominee