Wednesday, Jun. 25, 2003 / 1:25 p.m.

~Update On the Air~

What I'm saying is I don't need to hear that there is a Smog Alert, I can see it. Everything is obscured. We have stagnant air, low pressure now, and it keeps everything still, the air hangs over us like a blanket, and every emission, every gas, human, otherwise, all is suspended, cloud-like. I walked outside and felt it immediately. I came to work and my nose started running. I sneezed one of those whole body sneezes.

And yet, and yet, and yet, I will go out in it, mid 90s or not, and go home for lunch. I can't bare the thought of staying here an entire day, of not leaving until the end of the day, at 6:00. So, I will add to it all, my car's white exhaust upon startup will add its own contribution, and I am sorry, but this is the life we have all created for ourselves.

A woman journalist wrote a report for our free weekly, published last week, on an experiment of sorts: riding public transport for sole transportation method, for one entire week. Very interesting, very personal, and enlightening. Of course she's inner city, and I'm suburbs, but the end result is the buses run, very infrequently, and commutes take hours, not minutes, and she relied on friends for rides too. I can't see getting up at 5:00 a.m. to get to work by 9:00. Sorry. So we all sneeze and suffer, and asthmatics might even die.

We could all just move to the country, become organic farmers or something. Or what if we could go back, what if we could evolve backwards, like the current state of women's fashion (hip huggers, belly buttons, platform shoes?, puhleeze, did that!), and become agrarian? Have our own plots of land, some farm animals, wells for drinking water. Do we REALLY need cell phones that can take pictures and cars that are almost as big as trucks?

I didn't write online yesterday. Anywhere. I didn't turn on my PC at home after work. But I ate well, prepared foods, sushi rolls, spinach salad with sprouts and lots of grape tomatoes, fruit salad with fresh pineapple, cantaloupe, grapes, honeydew, watermelon.

Job related: If I say my name when I answer the phone, why, oh why, must you ask for it at the end of the call? This makes me seethe. It also makes me want to say, "As I said�", but that would be snarky. Mustn't be snarky.

Jumped into a semi-new 'reality television show' last night, and unfortunately not from the beginning, "America's Next Top Model". Good stuff. And who the fuck cares if the one chick has an eating disorder? What model doesn't? And she's too skinny??? Please. She's perfect, for modeling. Really, she didn't look the least bit unhealthy to me.

And speaking of, I'm really getting tired of Bobby Burgess' girlfriend's eating disorder saga. Can we change subjects, please? Isn't anything else going on in his life? I understand being in love, becoming absorbed in someone else's life, but there has to be more, one must remain well-rounded, up as well as down, writing on a variety of subjects, as life is filled with living, not just purging and ribs showing and acid destroying teeth. Blech.

I was thinking last night, I like to binge, but you couldn't pay me to purge. And I love bingeing on healthy food, like too much fruit, or big salads (or tofu, as we know). God, I love food!

I ramble. I have nothing to say. Kukla says we're not supposed to go outside from 3-7:00, the air and heat are due to be hazardous to one's health. I said how bad it is, how 'sick' that is, and she said, "Yeah, it's hot, the weather is really bad". Weather??? No, no, it's emissions combined with.

Oooh, tonight is the surfer reality show, the "Boarding House" show. Loves me some surfer action.

Addendum: One of the many reasons I've been a subscriber to Entertainment Weekly for so many years (12?), and read it with voracious glee, never skipping an issue, even articles about rappers and Broadway shows, is the words therein. Listen to this, in the review of Led Zeppelin's new compilation CD and DVD simultaneous release (here, the DVD), written by one Anthony DeCurtis: "The members of the band are playing exclusively for each other - the interaction between them is a pleasure to behold - and for the audience, not for intrusive cameras. The result is a coruscating immediacy - whether during an intimate acoustic performance of "Going to California" in a packed arena or a ferocious four-song set taped in a tiny studio for Danish television."

"Coruscating". See? I had to look that one up. I mean, do you and your friends use that word in conversation? Why the hell not? I love it.

One more addendum, really, then I'm clicking on "done!", which is so tiny now, the little rectangle, I can barely see it... I'm home at lunch, eating really good tarragon chicken salad on whole wheat, mmmmmm..., and I enjoyed the sleepy looks on N and G's faces when I came in. Sleepy cats = fun! I also just read on my Yahoo! start page the latest news headlines, including one story about record execs wanting sue people like ME, ME!!!!, who share music files through KaZaA. Of course, I suppose they intend to seek out the big time file swappers, or providers, the song pushers, dealers if you will, not the casual users like me. But still, what the fuck? We need to stand up for our rights here, man. Man. Fuck the man! Steal this web site, man, steal this song!

I found out today that our Manager at work (M) had told Q to 'white out' the word GAY on the memo about who can and who can't update an employee address. We'd been told to add 'gay partner', that that is okay, as well as spouse and parent and supervisor. The Manager had seen it written on Q's memo and told her it was UNPROFESSIONAL. Oh, when Q told me, I fumed! There was steam coming out of my ears, I was saying, "How does she know I'm not gay? Am I unprofessional? Are gays unprofessional? How ridiculous, why didn't you fight her on it, I would have, how could you let her tell you to do that?", etc. Unrelated, but sort of, as far as people standing up for what's right.

Downloading songs for free, sharing songs, is fine by me. It makes sense. And if I like the song, I'll go buy the CD. See? This is how it works, stupid fuckers in suits claiming they don't have enough money to spend on their cars and whores. Pisses me off.

Cost of the War in Iraq
(JavaScript Error)

Run, Kitty, Run!

Previous - Next

New - 2012 - 2009 - 2008 - 2007 - 2006 - 2005 - 2004 - 2003 - 2002 - 2001 - Profile - Contact - Notes - Rings - Diaryland - Favourite Entries - ReadMe - Surveys - Random Entry

Recent Entries:

It Was 40 Years Ago Today - 9:44 a.m. , Friday, Oct. 12, 2012

Dead Black Cat - 9:07 a.m. , Wednesday, Jan. 25, 2012

As Seen From Outer Space - 1:07 a.m. , Saturday, Dec. 05, 2009

I Survived to Tell the Tale - 7:29 a.m. , Friday, Sept. 18, 2009

Reading My Life - 12:55 p.m. , Saturday, Sept. 12, 2009

Happy Kitty

My Diary Was Reviewed at Ms Lovejoy's - Get Yours Reviewed Too!

Registered I was a nominee