Thursday, Dec. 12, 2002 / 7:37 p.m.

~"We'll just take those documents and make you some copies, how does THAT sound?", nudge, nudge, wink, wink~

Heavens, I never meant I wasn't coming back, I simply meant 'the rest' of anything I had to say last night.......

Ahhh, I just ripped through a package of smoked salmon with peppercorns, covered Breton crackers with soft cream cheese, topped each with generous portions of the salmon, flakes of the salmon, shreds, peppercorns falling off, inhaled it all. This, was dinner.

I suppose I'm a bit unconventional.

I have plans for tomorrow night. Loose plans for Saturday. They'll tighten, no doubt. I've been putting a lot of energy into everything I do. Even slacking off is the best slacking off. Ever.

I was astonished when I read the U.S. grabbed the Iraq weapons report, the dossier, the thousands of pages, and I imagine the scene in my own head as something in black and white, something directed by Stanley Kubrick, something from "Dr. Strangelove...", something along the lines of, "There's no fighting in the War Room!", something like, "Ahhh, I'll take that, no really, we have these great scanners/copiers in Washington, real state of the art, no, we don't mind at all, really, we'll make copies for you, how does that sound? We'll FedEx them to you, UPS if you prefer, Next Day Air, no worries, we'll send them off tomorrow, is it a deal?"

Shuffle, shuffle, shuffle, a room full of people poring over them. And now it turns out we wanted to remove certain weapons information, weapons building info, for those who couldn't get their own copies of The Anarchist's Cookbook. "Um, gee, don't be offended, but you guys aren't equipped to make this stuff yet, and well, you don't really need your own biological warfare, now do you? You know WE have it, and if you need US to protect you, we are SO right there, you know that, right? We'll just set these pages aside....... oh, why does it go from page 23 to page 432? Ah, don't worry about it, those pages were so extraneous, you'd be bored with them, really. And the typos! Oy!"

At the time, I printed out the story, I showed it to Listerine, I told the 'new boy', I said, "I wonder who else has read this, it's from Reuters, surely it's going to get out, right?"...... and now, it's out. Good god, the Interweb is the new alternative news source. It's fantastic.

From an article in The Buffalo News, online, by Douglas Turner, 12/09/02:

"A generation ago, the great investigative reporter and columnist Jack Anderson said that when the press was doing its best work, it performed as "the alternative source of information." He meant alternative to the government."

Turner goes on to discuss the recent 'anonymous' sources for crucial bits of war or potential war information being bled to the press. How important it is in this time of instability and possible chaos to have valid and quotable known sources. Public opinion is being swayed by potentially bogus reports, falsehoods.

So what's new, right?

Eh. I don't know. It's interesting, the information available, the editorials, the reports from 'alternative news sources', I get almost all my news online these days. Everything on TV seems biased, slanted, skewed, as if there are no objective opinions, reporters, sources anymore. The newspaper here is even worse. No one has even taken note of the antiwar movement, not really, until the other day when a group of celebrities banded together to form a mainstream/conservative coalition to oppose a pre-emptive attack on Iraq. They want the UN to do their thing before we do anything. But they do not oppose using 'force', 'if necessary'. Still, I knew if celebs spoke up people would listen.

Who wouldn't? I've said it since the attacks on September 11,01, take one really well-respected, admired celeb, preferably a room full, and your average Joe Schmoe sitting on the couch eating Doritos, waiting for "Survivor" to come on, will sit up, his ears will perk up, and he will begin to think. "Hey, David Hasselhoff is against the war, maybe I should be too....".

Or something like that.

No, it's radicals, Ed Asner, that Farrell guy from "M*A*S*H", Samuel L. Jackson, etc. And they're not that radical, that's the thing. Well, maybe Martin Sheen (how many times has he been arrested anyway?)......

But things are happening. The rest of the world is watching us, Bush, etc., they're talking, they're taking notes, they're not happy, and YES, it matters, a great deal. If Bush doesn't play this right, who knows what might happen? He's even having to defend the photocopying debacle, the removal of the juicy bits from the Iraq report, read this:

U.S. Defends Deal to Take Iraq Report, if you please.

Ah, but see, I have to go watch "Survivor" now. I can only do as much as I can do, then I have to relax and live my life too. Right now, that's it.

Cost of the War in Iraq
(JavaScript Error)

Run, Kitty, Run!

Previous - Next

New - 2012 - 2009 - 2008 - 2007 - 2006 - 2005 - 2004 - 2003 - 2002 - 2001 - Profile - Contact - Notes - Rings - Diaryland - Favourite Entries - ReadMe - Surveys - Random Entry

Recent Entries:

It Was 40 Years Ago Today - 9:44 a.m. , Friday, Oct. 12, 2012

Dead Black Cat - 9:07 a.m. , Wednesday, Jan. 25, 2012

As Seen From Outer Space - 1:07 a.m. , Saturday, Dec. 05, 2009

I Survived to Tell the Tale - 7:29 a.m. , Friday, Sept. 18, 2009

Reading My Life - 12:55 p.m. , Saturday, Sept. 12, 2009

Happy Kitty

My Diary Was Reviewed at Ms Lovejoy's - Get Yours Reviewed Too!

Registered I was a nominee