Saturday, Jul. 20, 2002 / 10:30 p.m.

~Well Rested~

I looked in the mirror a little bit ago and I looked positively bright eyed! I think sleeping 13 hours agrees with me.

Oh yeah. Last night Mark and I went to see "The Fast Runner", then went for some pizza, sat outside on the main drag in the main party portion of the city, kind of a mistake for a Friday night, but we talked and talked, or I talked and talked, and I didn't get home 'til around 1:30, then got online to research the movie, visited the main site for the movie, then had to go to the Moby boards to write about how the Inuit people couldn't possibly have been vegans, and Moby is ethnocentric in his desire for ALL people to be vegan, etc., etc.

So I got to sleep around 3:45 or 4:00, woke up at 2:00 p.m., then got back in bed after peeing, spooned with Gladys and went back to sleep until around 5:00. Isn't that insane? No? I don't think so either.

I get about 5 or 6 hours of sleep every night during the week, and hence I am tired every day during the week, and I am a working slob who cannot fucking wait for the weekend so I can LIVE, so I can SLEEP, so I can be FREE. I hate it, but it's true.

I told Mark last night that I need to get out of my job so I can LIVE. I want to write a book, I want to cook and clean, I want to spend more time with my cats before they get really old and die. I want my time to be MINE.

Like today.

So I look damned good today, much better than yesterday. My skin looks healthier, no kidding, just from extra sleep.

Normie is so cute right now, I wish you could see....she's cuddled up with her catnip thingie, her little face pressed against it, her paw holding it in place, her eyes closed, but I know she's not asleep. She's my special girl. God, I love my girls. Spooning with Gladys today was the best, no kidding. Some people have pillows they hold up against themselves when they sleep, hell, they even manufacture 'body pillows' for people who want to spoon, but have no one to spoon with. And I have Gladys.

Sigh. Me and my girls.

So, I was trying to find out if any radio stations in town will be promoting the Moby show, giving away tickets, or offering a 'meet Moby' thing, and the first radio station web site I visited (like I'm actually going to LISTEN to these crap commercial rock stations if I don't have to??!!!!) listed the concert at a venue I've never heard of! Yeah, they moved it! I never would've known. I would've gone to the venue where I thought it was going to be and found out it's not, and I would've been pissed.

So now I know, and I posted it to the boards at Moby's site, but no one's repsonding. I honestly think there are maybe two people from my town posting on those boards.

But I'm set to meet two women driving up from another state, and that could be potentially great fun. I hope so.

Should I write about the movie last night? Well, "The Fast Runner" is the first feature film to be made about Inuit life, the first film actually IN Inuit, with subtitles. What an interesting sounding language. What a harsh landsape living in the Arctic, in Canada. How amazing to watch these people live their lives, and get lost in it.

I actually felt I was watching a documentary, it never occurred to me these were only actors acting out a story, that it was an Inuit legend being told, a tale of good winning out against evil, an old tale, and that Inuit people may not even live that way today, in nomadic tribes, in igloos or tents made of animal skins.

And the fucking people next to me across the aisle talked during the ENTIRE film, no fucking lie. First I just turned and glared, then I turned halfway, then I covered my right ear, then I just squirmed. Two hours and 52 minutes of me hearing them talk about every single fucking thing that happened in that movie. I really had a crappy moviegoing experience due to these folks who normally never leave their living rooms.

We should've moved, I know. I should've crossed the aisle and said, "Hey, could you like SHUT THE FUCK UP? Please?!", but I didn't. I saw myself do it, a hundred times, at least, I could see me getting up and walking across to them, or just turning and yelling, but then I could see them being defiant and shouting me down, or being louder, or anything, and no one else was saying, "Shhh" or anything, so there you have it. Every time I think of this movie I'll think of these two people, this man and woman who sat there and talked throughout, who laughed inappropriately, who gasped too loudly, who everythinged too loudly.

But it was an amazing film. Amazing. Yes, it was too long, it could easily have been shorter, but I felt I was there in the Arctic with them, and I didn't necessarily want to be. These people had no fire in the Winter. Only seal oil for lamplight. They ate meat, raw. Caribou and seal, occasionally rabbit or bird. And bird eggs in Spring, boiled over an open flame on rocks. Rocks in Spring, snow in Winter. Tundra, glacier. Nothing for miles. Dogs to pull sleds. Furs worn over naked skin to keep warm.

And the fast runner, running naked across a melting glacier. Amazing. See this movie if you get a chance, anyone who reads this. You won't believe it. But be patient with it, it is slow and beautiful. It's not Hollywood, it's not special effects, it's pure and simple.

What else? "Big Brother" was good tonight. It hasn't sucked yet. It's only going to get better too, as more people leave the house. It will get more intense, these people will form stronger relationships and the leaving will be harder and harder. It's such a great show, such a great concept, really, put these 12 people in this house together for 3 months, with no outside contact, make them kick people out, one by one. I love it!

Possibly more than "Survivor"! I know, I know, how could I? Well, it's the claustrophobic conditions, the one bathroom for all those people. And the house is nicer this year, they've made some good cosmetic changes.

I'm rambling, I have nothing to say, can you tell? I almost didn't write at all because I have nothing. Nothing's going on. I'm well rested, I'm content, life is good. And see how much I can write even though I have nothing to say? Amazing, isn't it?

Cost of the War in Iraq
(JavaScript Error)

Run, Kitty, Run!

Previous - Next

New - 2012 - 2009 - 2008 - 2007 - 2006 - 2005 - 2004 - 2003 - 2002 - 2001 - Profile - Contact - Notes - Rings - Diaryland - Favourite Entries - ReadMe - Surveys - Random Entry

Recent Entries:

It Was 40 Years Ago Today - 9:44 a.m. , Friday, Oct. 12, 2012

Dead Black Cat - 9:07 a.m. , Wednesday, Jan. 25, 2012

As Seen From Outer Space - 1:07 a.m. , Saturday, Dec. 05, 2009

I Survived to Tell the Tale - 7:29 a.m. , Friday, Sept. 18, 2009

Reading My Life - 12:55 p.m. , Saturday, Sept. 12, 2009

Happy Kitty

My Diary Was Reviewed at Ms Lovejoy's - Get Yours Reviewed Too!

Registered I was a nominee