Sunday, Dec. 08, 2002 / 10:32 p.m.

~With Comrades~

It was great hanging out with Sandy and his son, being with them at their first hockey game, even if the game did suck, and talking with Sandy afterwards. Talking about relationships, aging, being alone, dating, marriage, what it's like to be fortysomething, and about politics, of course. We talked a lot about young people and their views of people our age, how to invest responsibly, or if it's even possible, how to live in a capitalist society without playing into the hands of those who use their money for evil purposes. Not easy to explain, but in a short period of time we covered a lot of ground.

I told him about the 'capitalist' insult slung at me, and we discussed the true meaning of the word, and the perception of the youthful anarchists who are new to the 'movement', the misperceptions amongst them, and the reasons behind what happened with me, here, the lack of any true desire for discourse, just mudslinging instead, the reasons people say what they do.

It was great to talk to him, really, we're 'on the same page' about most things.

I'm not into guestbook wars, but I will defend myself when attacked, and I think the latest attack is silly overall. We're on the same side, I'm not her enemy. I see what's behind it and it's obviously misdirected anger. I let it go, I got it out when I talked to Sandy and his son, and even his son understood, was really surprised at the method of attack, the lack of willingness to allow for rebuttal, so it's all good at this point.

Being around intelligent, rational, thinking individuals, even an 11 year old, is SO great, so refreshing......

Sandy wants me to help him with 'tabling' at the Demonstration on the 18th, in D.C., and I'm going to read the book he'll be selling, and probably do it. I hope it's not too cold...January in D.C. could be brutal. We'll see.

Cost of the War in Iraq
(JavaScript Error)

Run, Kitty, Run!

Previous - Next

New - 2012 - 2009 - 2008 - 2007 - 2006 - 2005 - 2004 - 2003 - 2002 - 2001 - Profile - Contact - Notes - Rings - Diaryland - Favourite Entries - ReadMe - Surveys - Random Entry

Recent Entries:

It Was 40 Years Ago Today - 9:44 a.m. , Friday, Oct. 12, 2012

Dead Black Cat - 9:07 a.m. , Wednesday, Jan. 25, 2012

As Seen From Outer Space - 1:07 a.m. , Saturday, Dec. 05, 2009

I Survived to Tell the Tale - 7:29 a.m. , Friday, Sept. 18, 2009

Reading My Life - 12:55 p.m. , Saturday, Sept. 12, 2009

Happy Kitty

My Diary Was Reviewed at Ms Lovejoy's - Get Yours Reviewed Too!

Registered I was a nominee