2001-07-05 / 6:42 p.m.

~Full Moon Crazy~

Not that I mind pretending that every other day is Friday, when one of these days actually will be Friday, but having a day off in the middle of the week just plain fucks with people. P. kept saying, "And then Friday night we....." and Karen would cut her off and say, "You mean Tuesday, it was Tuesday, P., not Friday", and P. would say, "Oh, right! That's right!", like it was this thing that was too huge to fathom. I understood.

Next week I get to do the same thing, going to the Area:One Festival on Wednesday. I'll spend almost the entire day and evening enjoying music, looking at young men I can't possibly sleep with, but will want to, and feeling old. I know. I remember Lollapalooza, very well, despite the LSD. Yes, I remember what it's like, the outdoor festival, the hot sun, the skin everywhere, the hormones, the drugs, the music......hmmmmm....why am I torturing myself?

But the moon is full, today, and I could feel it, I could tell from the phone calls, I could tell when the one guy wouldn't let me hang up, so I muted myself, told Karen what was happening, "He won't hang up, he just keeps going on, he says, 'Too many hands in the cookie jah!', and 'Where's my papuh?!', and he won't let me go, Karen, he won't let me go!", but when I picked up my earpiece, expecting to hear him ranting, it was a dial tone instead.

I've been thinking about Steve and that wild phone call last night, and I've decided I should bill him. Let's see.....2 1/2 hours at $150/hour.......maybe I should've said, "And how does that make you feel?" every so often. I didn't do that. But I did say, "You never talk about your mother, why is that?" and that was a can of worms opening, I could see them wriggling out slowly, adjusting to their newfound freedom. Crazy.

Tonight, shortly in fact, I head back to the FOX, ho hum, back to the FOX......stretch.....yawn.........another movie......la de da. This time it's Kubrick night: "Dr. Strangelove" and "A Clockwork Orange" and I hope I can handle all of it. I want to skip the singalong, though what if Jay Mitchell includes "Singin' in the Rain"? Nah! He wouldn't! Imagine, on the Mighty Mo' pipe organ, the second largest in the nation, picture Malcolm McDowell, in full gang rape mode...."...Just Singin' in the Rain.....", brandishing that huge faux penis. That's almost all I remember. I think women tend to remember rape scenes from movies.

The other thing I remember is Malcolm strapped to that chair, his eyes propped open, how painful it looked, how I knew it was no trick, no special effect, he was really sitting like that, with his eyes propped open. What actor would subject himself to that now?

But the rest of the film? It will be new to me, or hazy memories becoming clear.

And "Dr. Strangelove"? I've only seen bits and pieces, but I hear it's a classic, and Peter Sellers plays multiple roles, a bravura acting performance. We shall see.

If I want parking for free I'd better run along now.

Cost of the War in Iraq
(JavaScript Error)

Run, Kitty, Run!

Previous - Next

New - 2012 - 2009 - 2008 - 2007 - 2006 - 2005 - 2004 - 2003 - 2002 - 2001 - Profile - Contact - Notes - Rings - Diaryland - Favourite Entries - ReadMe - Surveys - Random Entry

Recent Entries:

It Was 40 Years Ago Today - 9:44 a.m. , Friday, Oct. 12, 2012

Dead Black Cat - 9:07 a.m. , Wednesday, Jan. 25, 2012

As Seen From Outer Space - 1:07 a.m. , Saturday, Dec. 05, 2009

I Survived to Tell the Tale - 7:29 a.m. , Friday, Sept. 18, 2009

Reading My Life - 12:55 p.m. , Saturday, Sept. 12, 2009

Happy Kitty

My Diary Was Reviewed at Ms Lovejoy's - Get Yours Reviewed Too!

Registered I was a nominee