2001-11-09 / 1:39 p.m.

~Ah, the Irony~

So, I was at work this morning, filling out the forms the nice lady from the Cat Clinic sent me yesterday via FAX, right? I'm paying great attention to detail, sitting with a big folder filled with every piece of paper I've ever received from every vet. about every cat I've had the pleasure to know, all their papers in front of me, records of shots, etc., and I'm all through, and I brag a bit to Lulu, "See my cats' records?", and I'm flipping through, come across the name of the vet. who misdiagnosed another cat, a long time ago.......

It's the same vet. I just made the appointment to go see.

Yeah, I was on the phone with the nice, knowledgeable receptionist yesterday, and she asked me if I'd ever been to a cats only clinic before, I tell her yes, tell her which one, tell her I had a bad experience there because the doctor misdiagnosed my cat, said he had hypothyroidism, when it turned out to be FIV, or Feline AIDS. I told her it was 1990, and maybe they didn't know a lot about FIV back then, and the nice lady on the phone held her breath, said she couldn't really comment.....but she must have known.

That same doctor opened this clinic in 1993. She must've known it could've been her at the other clinic....must've bitten the hell out of her tongue.

So, I looked at the records. Rocco was misdiagnosed in Februrary, then correctly diagnosed five months later, and died only a few weeks, or was it days?, after the FIV diagnosis. He died five months after she misdiagnosed him. Was it her fault he died? No, of course not, but do I want to take N and G there???? Uh......NO. No, I don't, I'm flabbergasted, frankly. Frankly flabbergasted. Jeez, I didn't think of it yesterday, didn't notice the doctor's name, didn't ask. The nice lady on the phone didn't mention the name of any doctor, not at all. On purpose????? I only saw it in the ad in the yellow pages....

Oh man, and I had almost FAXed in the forms, I have them all ready to go. Lulu says not to go, to cancel, not give a reason why, to keep looking for a vet. And I said, yeah, they're everywhere, aren't they? One on every corner, just like video rental stores, or chiropractors. In fact, there's a Cat Clinic like a half mile from my apartment. Whew, this was a close call.

I mean, maybe she's all knowledgeable now, this doctor, but I found the FIV info manual I was given, FIV was discovered in 1987, she should've known to test Rocco back in Feb of 1990, she should've known. No, I can't trust my girls to her. Sorry.

Jesus, how fucking ironic is all of this? I'm tempted to confront the doctor, to tell her, but I want to let it go, I hate confrontation. Ack!

Cost of the War in Iraq
(JavaScript Error)

Run, Kitty, Run!

Previous - Next

New - 2012 - 2009 - 2008 - 2007 - 2006 - 2005 - 2004 - 2003 - 2002 - 2001 - Profile - Contact - Notes - Rings - Diaryland - Favourite Entries - ReadMe - Surveys - Random Entry

Recent Entries:

It Was 40 Years Ago Today - 9:44 a.m. , Friday, Oct. 12, 2012

Dead Black Cat - 9:07 a.m. , Wednesday, Jan. 25, 2012

As Seen From Outer Space - 1:07 a.m. , Saturday, Dec. 05, 2009

I Survived to Tell the Tale - 7:29 a.m. , Friday, Sept. 18, 2009

Reading My Life - 12:55 p.m. , Saturday, Sept. 12, 2009

Happy Kitty

My Diary Was Reviewed at Ms Lovejoy's - Get Yours Reviewed Too!

Registered I was a nominee