Wednesday, Feb. 13, 2002 / 8:30 p.m.

~Bored and Looking~

I'm actually bored. The intention was to watch some of the Olympic coverage, but I can't seem to leave the computer. And I am craving some good juicy diary action. I've run out of diaries to read. I keep trying to find new ones to add to my list, but I'm not finding what I'm looking for. And what would that be? Um....I'm not sure. I'll know it when I find it.

I used to love the Olympics. God, I watched EVERY bit of it, Summer, Winter, whatever. I used to dream that I could be Peggy Fleming. I've had dreams wherein I'm figure skating, and it comes so naturally to me. In reality, of course, I do not skate. The last time I donned ice skates I was under the influence of LSD. Wheeee.......Oh, maybe 1979? 1980?

Which reminds me, the free weekly came out today and I managed to find time to read it at work, in the cube. Cover story is on the 25th Anniversary of the "Athens Music Scene". I was there in 1981 and 1982, I saw Pylon perform live, I saw the B-52s at the Agora Ballroom in Atlanta, and DEVO at the FOX. Okay, they weren't part of the "Athens Music Scene", but it was "New Wave" and I lived for it. None of that Disco crap for me, no big hair bands in the '80s either. I stuck with New Wave and its offshoots, alternative, and "new" music.

Oh, but reading the article brought back memories, I was picturing that self portrait I took of me, A., and his friends, Matt and Ginny, us on the huge front porch of that old house in Athens. I looked like such a hippie with my long hair and hippie dress, summertime, barefoot, black and white. I love that picture. Matt's dead now, has been for years - brain tumor. And A. is married, Ginny....who knows.

But we were there. I rode my bike everywhere, like Kate Pierson was saying in the interview in the free weekly. Athens is pretty flat, it's easy to get around. We were Bohemian, college students. And I remember sitting on the porch playing A.'s bongo drums I bought him, wishing I still smoked cigarettes, and a neighbor asked if I played in a band.........

We even had a toga party, like in "Animal House", strangers from all over town showed up and stayed 'til the keg ran dry. We took acid late that night, and couldn't sleep. I couldn't believe all the people I didn't know, there, in our apartment.

Wow, that was ages ago, 20 years. Hmmmm....

But I should want to watch some downhill skiing, some snowboarding, or whatever, right? What's wrong with me? Okay, really, if you're straight, not on any drugs at all, downhill skiing is boring. Look at it, it is! I don't take drugs anymore. With the rare exception of smoking a bit, twice in the past year or so. I even have wine, a bottle of white, a bottle of red, but I don't drink anymore. I seldom want to alter my consciousness. Perhaps I should, again, more. Would it help? Who knows.

I loved Rob Brezsny's horoscope for Aries this week:

Happy Valentine's Day, Aries! How do I love thee? Let me count the ways. I love how skilled you are at wriggling free of unproductive jams. I admire the way you change yourself into a fresh creation when you've gone as far as you can with the old model. I am delighted by how robustly you rebel against your past and fling yourself open to the unpredictable sweep of the future. There are so many other ways I adore you, my dear, but there's only room to mention one more: I am enchanted by how you always seem ready to build a castle in the wildnerness if this world ever fails you.

Well, it's not really a "horoscope", is it? But it's nice, nevertheless. If only it were true. In a way it is, but mostly, it's what I aspire to.

I think I'll surf for Diaries a little bit more. I need some more regulars, preferably good writers, good writers who write a lot!

Cost of the War in Iraq
(JavaScript Error)

Run, Kitty, Run!

Previous - Next

New - 2012 - 2009 - 2008 - 2007 - 2006 - 2005 - 2004 - 2003 - 2002 - 2001 - Profile - Contact - Notes - Rings - Diaryland - Favourite Entries - ReadMe - Surveys - Random Entry

Recent Entries:

It Was 40 Years Ago Today - 9:44 a.m. , Friday, Oct. 12, 2012

Dead Black Cat - 9:07 a.m. , Wednesday, Jan. 25, 2012

As Seen From Outer Space - 1:07 a.m. , Saturday, Dec. 05, 2009

I Survived to Tell the Tale - 7:29 a.m. , Friday, Sept. 18, 2009

Reading My Life - 12:55 p.m. , Saturday, Sept. 12, 2009

Happy Kitty

My Diary Was Reviewed at Ms Lovejoy's - Get Yours Reviewed Too!

Registered I was a nominee