Sunday, Oct. 06, 2002 / 5:56 p.m.

~Clint, the Stereo Salesman~

My body is confused. I actually got up at 7:30 on a Saturday, yesterday, and we know how I spent yesterday (see previous entry), so today my body was all ready to start the day at 8:00. No, no, no, I told it. We are sleeping in, me, my brain, my body, all of us together, despite, or in spite of everything telling us otherwise.

So, I spooned with Gladys and forced myself back to sleep. I dreamed I was buying a stereo from Clint Eastwood. I mean he worked at the stereo store, like a HiFi Buys or something. I told him I was looking for a CD equalizer, and first he told me it wasn't a necessary thing to have, then he pulled out a Bose (I noticed, in line for rides yesterday at the amusment park that the speakers hanging from the ceilings were Bose) and asked me to come along. We got in his car and headed to his house, but I told him I'd forgotten my purse at the store, so some co-worker of his (where did HE come from?) gave me a ride back while I asked about Clint's relationship with his wife.

I'd asked Clint in the store, "Can I ask you a personal question?", "Sure", he'd said, sounding puzzled I'd have one. "Why aren't you in Carmel?", and I was going to tell him about the time my father and I went to Carmel on our way to the Monterey Bay Aquarium, how cold it was, how surprised I was at how cold it was, how we ate in a little restaurant, and had nothing to say to each other, as usual, and then stopped in a little store that sold fine wool garments and I bought a hat and matching mittens. But I decided Clint would not be interested.

Clint said something about how easy it was to tell his wife he'd be right back when he left, but he never did go back, and I was going to ask what about his little boy, or was it a girl?, but I didn't. I was flirting with him, I mean I wanted him. I woke up and thought how I don't think I could ever be attracted to a man in his 70s.

I never made it back to his house though. The co-worker was driving me back to the store, explaining to me how it's best to test out the stereo components at someone's house, to hear the full effect, that it was going to be good to do it at Clint's house because he has a good setup. I was anxious to get back, but I woke up instead.

But here is a link to information about the Deja Vu rollercoaster we rode yesterday. Part of me would like to try it again, without the 2 hour wait, of course.

The cats insisted I get up, finally, and I did, I guess around 3:30. Here it is just after 6:00 and all I've managed to do is wash my face, make and drink a cup of coffee, and sit here to read diaries.

Norma threw up a couple of times, just spittle it looked like, but I put her in the bathroom so she'd throw up on linoleum instead of carpeting, and when I finally went in to retrieve her, and check to see if she'd thrown up more, I bent over to sweep some litter off the floor, reached out to wipe a bit of spittle off the floor too, and in that moment of bending and reaching, yow! I pulled something, twinged something, some nerve was pinched or pulled or twanged, I don't know, but it's in my hip and now I can't stand up straight. It only hurts if I move, but moving is necessary.

I have things to do, but I don't want to do them. I need desperately to vacuum all the litter from the carpeting outside the bathroom, I can't stand the feel of it on my bare feet, but the thought of getting the vacuum from the laundry room and actually plugging it in and pushing it around is a little too much for me right now. Not just the thought, but actually doing it, imagining actually doing it. It's hard work. And I'm worn out.

Dishes too. Blah. And I'm hungry. Who wants to cook in a kitchen with dirty dishes lying around? Right. No one. See how one thing sort of depends on the other thing? Funny how that is.

Yesterday at the amusment park Mark and I sat down on a bench just outside the Superman coaster, just to take a load off and try to recover from the horribly jarring Great American Scream Machine. There was a woman already sitting on the bench, and we joined her. It wasn't long before she was talking to us. We had all three witnessed a brief altercation between a mom and her teenaged son, and I joked that I couldn't be sure it wasn't the boy's girlfriend, as she was shorter and appeared very young... but the way she grabbed him and made him behave, well, the woman next to me laughed, said her son was not unruly like that boy.

Her son is 13 and he was in line to ride the coaster. She was waiting for him, she had been waiting for him to ride everything, all day. They'd been touring amusment parks across the Southeast, and she would sit and wait, she'd wished she brought a book. Why didn't she ride?, I wanted to know. No, she wouldn't. Not interested. But she felt she had to go along.

She told me it's easier when "...you have one of those". And I said, "Huh?" several times and she repeated herself several times, nodding in Mark's direction. I'm thinking, what?, a coke? When you have a coke, like he was drinking? (actually it was water in a Coke cup) No, a man. She meant a MAN. Then she told me her husband died when her son was a month old, and she now wishes he were around still, no, this isn't the first time she's wished that, she quickly corrected herself, but she just can't get inside her son's head, she can't figure out what he's going through.

I had many questions, like hasn't she found anyone else in 13 years? Who is the 25 year old woman she claimed was with her son? Her girlfriend? She had this man's haircut, and I quickly deduced she's a lesbian, in fact I was shocked when she mentioned her son and the husband who was no longer around.

But I was also shocked when she asked if we had kids on the ride, and that she thought Mark and I were 'together', and I wondered if that was how it looked. Can't a man and woman go to an amusement park together as friends? Must they be seen as a couple?

And I mentioned the Greek Fest to Mark in one of the long lines we stood in. Yes, yes, he'd been hearing about it on the radio, many times. I suggested he might join me, though I'd planned to go alone this year, and he brightened so much that I included him in my plan. Suddenly I would be going with him. But believe it or not, part of the reason I like to go is the men, the handsome Greek Men. And if people see us together and automatically assume we're a couple, then I doubt I'd meet anyone interesting. He'll read this and offer to not go, but then he won't go at all, he would never go alone, and I'd hate for him to miss it, and we do enjoy each other's company. Still. Mark is my friend, and I am single, and I don't want us to be seen as a 'couple' on any of our excursions.

This is the curse of a male/female friendship between two heterosexuals, I think.

But, speaking of Mark, and what a good friend he actually is, he brought me a gift when he picked me up yesterday morning, a Sigmund Freud Action Figure! Isn't that cool?! I love it. I'd been imitating Sigmund while reading the Freud chapter in the 'penis book', so Mark thought of me when he saw it in a funky little store in his college town recently. I'd like to remove him from his packaging and move him around, make him say things like, "Sometimes, a cigar is just a cigar!", all angry and everything, or, "It appears zat, subconsciously, vat you really vant to do is suck your father's penis!", but the packaging is too cool.

My hip hurts. That pulled 'whatever' is really hurting. I might take some Kava Kava, that would fix it, for now, I'm sure.

And I need to find something to eat, deal with the dishes and the carpet. Again, blah.

Cost of the War in Iraq
(JavaScript Error)

Run, Kitty, Run!

Previous - Next

New - 2012 - 2009 - 2008 - 2007 - 2006 - 2005 - 2004 - 2003 - 2002 - 2001 - Profile - Contact - Notes - Rings - Diaryland - Favourite Entries - ReadMe - Surveys - Random Entry

Recent Entries:

It Was 40 Years Ago Today - 9:44 a.m. , Friday, Oct. 12, 2012

Dead Black Cat - 9:07 a.m. , Wednesday, Jan. 25, 2012

As Seen From Outer Space - 1:07 a.m. , Saturday, Dec. 05, 2009

I Survived to Tell the Tale - 7:29 a.m. , Friday, Sept. 18, 2009

Reading My Life - 12:55 p.m. , Saturday, Sept. 12, 2009

Happy Kitty

My Diary Was Reviewed at Ms Lovejoy's - Get Yours Reviewed Too!

Registered I was a nominee