Saturday, Oct. 02, 2004 / 4:51 p.m.

~Analytical Ruminations on the Idea of Going to a Movie on a Saturday~

I missed the only showing of "Hero" by sleeping 'til 2:00, on the sofa. I suppose it was the drawn blinds that allowed such lengthy sleep 'activity'. I was dreaming I was going to start walking around my apartment complex for exercise, and I walked to a certain point that would no doubt be the end point, and it happened to be a grassy area outside some sort of secluded scientific research facility.

I decided to get in my car and drive it, to use the 'trip meter' to gauge the mileage, and it was over a mile, perfect for future 'exercise' walks. But, then I turned into Sigourney Weaver and I was on foot, and I somehow got sucked into the research facility and was kidnapped and forced on some conveyor belt through a big machine, lying on my back, but I was also watching as if it were a movie, and I was sprayed with some liquid and my canvas skirt was torn away and I was left in some sort of uniform and clearly brainwashed.

I woke up with a start and thought it was awfully odd. I also dreamed we were working without lights at work, and it was hard on the eyes to simply have the light of my PC's monitor to see by.

Too much sleep, clearly.

So I'm trying to get out to see all the movies I want to see, but it looks like there aren't really all that many, or the interest I had in certain movies has now waned the longer they've been in circulation, and the brand new ones don't seem as alluring when I read the critics' reviews online. I do respect Rober Ebert's opinion enormously, so I will not be heading out to see "Shark Tale" this weekend, and I almost did.

Then I started to think about the benefit of reading the reviews first, and how I'd waste my time seeing something I know I'd hate too if I hadn't read about it first, my time and money, and then I started thinking what a hassle it is to go out to movies, just the driving to get there, and then the parking, and the line to buy tickets, and the annoying people in the line, and then finding the perfect place to sit, and how then some schmo sits right in front of me, or right behind me, someone with halitosis, or someone sniffly with a cold, or someone who keeps her mouth open when she munches her popcorn, or all of the above.

And the times I've literally gotten up and moved, and even still heard people talking during the film and been horribly distracted, causing my memory of the film to include the lousy moviegoing experience that ensued.

Now I'm not sure I want to leave my apartment at all.

I'm good at thinking ahead, at times, and I'm good at driving because I'm always looking several cars ahead, I'm not as concerned with what's behind me, but what's ahead, and can therefore usually manage to be in the best lane on the highway, etc.

An analytical mind can be good, but it can also prevent one from acting in any circumstance. Couple this with foolhardy headstrong behavior and we have a real dichotomy on our hands.

We do.

That said, all of it, I think I'll go see the Kerry film, as Moby is so gung ho about it, and I respect him nearly as much as Roger Ebert.

I'll somehow survive the drive. But, yesterday I had two very close near accidents. One was within an inch, if that, I'd say without exaggeration. The other was very close as well and had me running a red light to get out of the way. I'm developing a seriously dangerous case of road rage and if I had a gun in my car I'd have been on a murderous rampage by now.

I suppose I'd either be in Costa Rica, on the lam, or I'd be in prison awaiting trial.

I'd better not purchase a gun.

I need to be less reckless, although granted, the one near accident yesterday afternoon was totally not my doing, it was the result of a cell phone talker/driver not merging with the appropriate yield action. I could have sworn he saw me, and I refuse to yield to people who should be yielding to me. One day this will hopefully provide me with a new vehicle, courtesy of someone else's insurance coverage, but it may also provide me with years of neck pain, or worse.

Damn, can't win for losing. And I have a very unique vehicle, so if these people live around here and see me again in traffic, well, let's hope they've not purchased guns either.

Today, if I leave, I promise to be more relaxed, more careful, more defensive in my driving chores, but during the week I'm on such a tight schedule, to work, home for lunch, back to work from lunch, it's all about the timing, and while I love a challenge, well, I see it as a challenge to make it all on time. I live by the time clock and how to the minute I can be. This week, for the whole week, I was off by one. My goal is to have 40.00 on that time sheet.

I've done it, and it feels grand.

This is my life.

Did I mention I slept on the sofa last night? It's becoming a Friday night ritual, and I love it. It feels so decadent, so weekend-y, so something that I can only do on Friday or Saturday nights, with the TV on, tuned to some cable movie channel, the light on until I wake and turn it off close to daybreak. It's pure decadence, like it used to be when I'd stay up to watch Johnny Carson, sleeping in bed with my mom when I was in high school. It was just the two of us, and sometimes I slept with her in her bed.

It's a long story, we had a lot of tragedy in my family, and my mom and I were dependent on one another for comfort. It wasn't whatever you're thinking.

Regardless of all of that, I first woke today to the sound of the land line ringing (now that I have a cell I have to distinguish) at 5:16 a.m. That will freak a person out. Caller ID says "out of area" and of course there is no message. Wrong number? We'll assume. No one should ever call anyone at that hour, ever, you hear me, ever!

Speaking of my new cell phone, I finally got my first bill. With no return envelope. Seems weird, and I read recently that some companies hold up payments that aren't received in the correct envelope, so I intend to enclose a note saying this was the case.

I also notice they began my service three whole days before I received the phone in the mail. Is this normal? Is this 'right'? Ah, who knows, I'm tired of fighting with utilities and sundry corporations' customer service reps. They're all just schmoes and joes working for a living, trying to make a buck, and I've been there and done that too.

It's getting late. Am I going to a movie or what?

Cost of the War in Iraq
(JavaScript Error)

Run, Kitty, Run!

Previous - Next

New - 2012 - 2009 - 2008 - 2007 - 2006 - 2005 - 2004 - 2003 - 2002 - 2001 - Profile - Contact - Notes - Rings - Diaryland - Favourite Entries - ReadMe - Surveys - Random Entry

Recent Entries:

It Was 40 Years Ago Today - 9:44 a.m. , Friday, Oct. 12, 2012

Dead Black Cat - 9:07 a.m. , Wednesday, Jan. 25, 2012

As Seen From Outer Space - 1:07 a.m. , Saturday, Dec. 05, 2009

I Survived to Tell the Tale - 7:29 a.m. , Friday, Sept. 18, 2009

Reading My Life - 12:55 p.m. , Saturday, Sept. 12, 2009

Happy Kitty

My Diary Was Reviewed at Ms Lovejoy's - Get Yours Reviewed Too!

Registered I was a nominee