2001-10-12 / 7:30 p.m.

~Irreverence, Cynicism, Irony, Sarcasm, Humor~

I am SO glad I copied and pasted and posted that letter from Michael Moore! I hope lots of people stumble upon it and read it. I think he's a genius, really I do. He is just so real, and he is totally seeing the irony of everything right now.

I keep hearing that irony has died, that everything has changed, comedy doesn't know how to be funny, not anymore.

Well, I am seeing more and more humor every day, from last night's news conference which had me giggling all over the place, to tonight's CBS Evening News headlines, read so seriously by Dan Rather: "What you need to know about anthrax!" "Unite For the Fight!" "Mass Murder Conspiracy". There I was sauteeing some sliced mushrooms in bacon fat, adding in the green onions, all the while trying to hear the symptoms of skin anthrax. I was thinking how incredibly funny and surreal it all is.

I'm quoting my favorite, well, one of my favorite portions of Michael Moore's letter, just because this made a HUGE difference in my attitude. I read it and said, YES, OF COURSE!!!

"Orwell warned us about this one. Big Brother, in order to control the population, knew that it was necessary for the people to always believe they were in a state of siege, that the enemy was getting closer and closer, and that the war would take a very long time. That is EXACTLY what George W. Bush said in his speech to Congress, and the reason he said it is because he and his buddies want us all in such a state of fear and panic that we would gladly give up the cherished freedoms that our fathers and those before them fought and died for. Who wouldn't submit to searches, restrictions of movement, and the rounding up of anyone who looks suspicious if it would prevent another September 11?"

I really only worry about the folks who are frightened now, who can't stop thinking they'll get a suspicious letter from St. Petersburg in the mail, containing some odd white powder.....people afraid to leave their homes. How awful for George and his FBI to put such a scare into the population. That was not a good thing, I don't think.

Anyway, as I listened to Dan, and the usual sound bites, watched the newest film footage, and videotape, I thought how easy it would be to sit and believe all this crap. Wouldn't it be easy to just listen, heed warnings, trust my government, not question? If only I didn't have a brain. Ah, but I do. I listened, but I don't believe about.....I don't know.....2/3? That's do NOT believe. I liked the footage of the refugees returning to Kabul, the interview with the one guy, translated of course, in which he says, "Only Taliban are killed, no civilians - they are saying that civilians are killed to get America to stop, but they are lying."

So, do I believe that the translation is accurate? Do I believe this is a real refugee, not a plant? Do I believe that he knows who has and who has not been killed, really? Who the hell was that guy?

So, we can all rest easy...whew! No civilians killed, only evil women-hating Taliban. Good! Kill those fuckers!

See, this is all so fucking funny! And if you're not working in the Pentagon, or living in NYC, who the fuck even notices? Watch it all from your futon sofa, like I do, with popcorn, or a frittata (mmmmmm.....), and the beverage of your choice. And, if you're so inclined, do it whilst naked except for an American Flag wrapped around your body. Whee!

"America's New War"! Yeah! "America Fights Back!" "Operation Enduring Freedom!" Whoo hoo! Because the only killing that's good and just is done by Americans, FOR Americans! Kill them all!

I am so enjoying my newfound sarcastic sense of humor. I feel so politically incorrect I want to sit with Bill Maher and chat over drinks. We can amuse one another for hours. Fall asleep laughing, CNN on in the background.

Speaking of humor...I watched "The Daily Show" the other day and they had a bit wherein these fake reporters were supposedly reporting live from Afghanistan and Pakistan, darkness interrupted only by flashlights, bombs in the background created using lighters held behind their heads. It was very funny, actually, and their cover was lost when the lights were turned on by mistake and it was discovered they were in the one's bedroom at his parent's house. They said it was too dangerous to actually GO to Afghanistan or Pakistan, there are bombs going off! Funny.

There is some humor in all of this. I need to visit "The Onion" online, I've been reading they are back and running, and very funny...

Do I use too many ellipses?...........

Alright, whatever, today I was exhausted, as usual, but worse, and I had no clue how I'd make it through to 6:00, but by the end of the day I was flying, no extra caffeine, no extra sugar, just weird planetary vibrations. Oooh! Seriousy, I was jazzed, bouncing around, re-organizing Lulu's computer desktop, organizing her files, giving her new Webshots wallpapers, etc. God, I felt GREAT! Like Tony the Tiger or something. Why? Dunno, but why not?

The first meeting of the new group forming in town (I don't want Google hits for it so I'm not going to mention it by name, but it's international) is Sunday, and here is why I'm thinking of not going: This is really stupid, okay? Okay. Carlos may be there. See? Look, he's twenty years my junior, that's 20 years younger than I. And I have a crush on him. If I see him I will want to pursue him, he is shy, and I will go with that, take over, you know, be the aggressor, or not, but I will think of him, look at him, wonder, get sweaty palms, stuff like that, and it will totally distract me.

Plus, I questioned the forming of this group, QUITE publicly, via Yahoo Groups, via emails sent to like 150 people! Yikes. I will be embarassed for that, and for writing to Carlos when we got back from D.C., saying I find him attractive for a number of reasons. What if he wants to know about that, what the reasons are, what if he challenges me? What if I get so totally worked up about it, but go anyway, because I need to go, I know I do, and well, try to be attractive and stuff, for him, and then he's not even fucking there?! Huh? What then?!

Whoo, have I mentioned I'm flying right now? Aries energy. This is what you read about when you read about Aries. Usually I read it and shake my head, the general Aries profile bullshit, nah, I am one lazy person, not me, energy?, what energy? But today, this is it, this is what they talk about.

It's time to unwind now. It's time to start thinking about this weekend, now that it's here. I've got TV to watch tonight, yeah, TV! Lots. And I'll probably fall asleep on the sofa, because that's a weekend thing. And tomorrow is the Thrashers first home game of the regular season, and I'm going, and I am stoked, really, I'm getting there. And I'm going by myself, and there will be MEN there, and I will have immense fun watching everyone, and Thrashers rock this season!

Then will come Sunday and I will have to agonize some more about whether or not to go to the meeting. Whether or not to see Carlos, or not see him, or go and not see him, or stay home and definitely not see him. Or whether to be a meeting sort of person. Do I want to do "meetings", really?

So many questions!

Oh, I have a new fan!! Read my guestook. I hope she doesn't mind that I eat meat (she's a vegan), and that I like boys (she's a lesbian). Really, lesbians never like me. It's like I have some flashing neon sign on my forward: I'M STRAIGHT (even though we all know I've been tested, and I am actually 48% gay). I felt that way at PRIDE last year. I sat all day in the park, after the parade, waiting for the B-52s to play their free show, surrounded by so many boys with boys and girls with girls, and I have maybe never felt so out of place in my life. I loved being there, but I felt like they all knew I was not one of them, I was an outsider, I was alone.

But I'm alone no matter where I go. Anyway, I'll be getting to her diary shortly, exploring the new fan. I am so flattered! If she thinks I'm "fabu", doesn't that mean she has poor judgment though? This is all just so much drivel after all.

Ciao.

Cost of the War in Iraq
(JavaScript Error)

Run, Kitty, Run!

Previous - Next

New - 2012 - 2009 - 2008 - 2007 - 2006 - 2005 - 2004 - 2003 - 2002 - 2001 - Profile - Contact - Notes - Rings - Diaryland - Favourite Entries - ReadMe - Surveys - Random Entry

Recent Entries:

It Was 40 Years Ago Today - 9:44 a.m. , Friday, Oct. 12, 2012

Dead Black Cat - 9:07 a.m. , Wednesday, Jan. 25, 2012

As Seen From Outer Space - 1:07 a.m. , Saturday, Dec. 05, 2009

I Survived to Tell the Tale - 7:29 a.m. , Friday, Sept. 18, 2009

Reading My Life - 12:55 p.m. , Saturday, Sept. 12, 2009

Happy Kitty

My Diary Was Reviewed at Ms Lovejoy's - Get Yours Reviewed Too!

Registered I was a nominee