Sunday, Jul. 13, 2003 / 11:20 p.m.

~My Weekend~

We're having intermittent (I do so hope I'm spelling that correctly - my little dictionary is currently underneath some things and I don't feel like digging it out) thunderstorms, and they always have lightning interspersed, so I shouldn't be here long. I'd hate to lose this modem too.

It's been an eventful weekend, in the grand scheme of things. I cleaned my bathroom, and that only happens once every six months to a year, not that it's not kept neat, but Norm's hair accumulates on everything on the vanity, all the handblown glass paperweights and Crabtree & Evelyn soap boxes, etc., etc., and the sink apparently doesn't drain as it should, hence a lovely pink/orange mildew tends to form. I'd gotten used to it, used to not letting my toothbrush fall into it, used to cleaning just around the outside of the sink, to dry any spilled water, but now it's all shiny and good. The big mirror too. And I learned that Windex orange cleaner smells nothing like oranges. It's quite disappointing.

And I chopped off most of the hair on my head, which makes me feel much lighter, and I like how bouncy, how kicky it is, and how imperfect. I've just been watching an entire week of "Guiding Light" on tape, and have found that apparently the poorly hacked look is in this year. No doubt the "GL" hairstylist was paid a lot of money to make Cassie's hair look like a kindergartener cut it, so I should feel pretty good that mine is a bit uneven. Even after I touched it up a bit today. I'm happy with it. I think. And if not, well, it's too late. Like that first chop, the "Oh no, what am I doing?!" moment, the moment before the realization that it's really happening and there is no turning back.

And, and, and, today I saw two movies, in two different theatres, two separate matinee showings, and the matinee crowd for the foreign and independent films is 'seniors' and nerds, and couples just waking up from a night of hot sex. Still smooching here and there. And, uh, me.

"Jet Lag" was good, surprisingly. I think I read it wasn't so good, but I love Juliette Binoche and Jean Reno (I know, Pee Wee, so why don't I marry them?), so I wanted to see it anyway. Besides, I love the French films. Seeing Juliette with tons of makeup on was weird, weird, weird, and her character says she feels naked without it, then doesn't reapply after the oil in the face moment. No, she showers, but does not reapply. Because she thought she was going to bed? Perhaps, but she was with a man, a strange man, she would've reapplied. This obviously still bugs me. But the rest was fun. It was romantic, it was funny, even if I was the only person in the theatre laughing. What is WRONG with you people? It was funny! And, it was just plain entertaining, nice to watch.

"Swimming Pool" was slow, meditative, sensual, sensuous, and had a lot of good gratuitous nudity, always good. I much prefer the nudity to the violence in films. And Charlotte Rampling is so very unusually beautiful - I've thought so since I first saw her, in Woody Allen's "Stardust Memories". Even now, in her 50s (I'm guessing), she is still beautiful, and we get to see a lot of her in this film. And the young French girl, whose name I'll never commit to memory, yes, lovely, of course. Interesting film, interesting juxtaposition of the English older repressed 'spinster' next to the young passionate sensual sexual French girl. There's a really great dance scene too - I need to find the song used there, I liked it.

There's a twisty ending though, one which had me initially scratching my head and saying, "Wait a minute", but then saying, "Aw, come on, so you mean to tell me......?" This would be one to sit and talk about after the fact.

And, I watched a whole week of "GL" on tape just now. So, I'm visually overstimulated. Plus, oh yeah, there's more, I went to a really cool shop in the really cool and way too hip part of town, where everyone has tattoos and piercings and shows them off so you can see them too, and bought stuff I totally do not need, but wanted to have. One thing is to give away, but still. This particular shop is filled with eye candy, just stuff, all over the place, floor to ceiling, like funky lunchboxes and keychains and fetishwear and clothes and probably hookahs too. The people shopping were cool too, but who could look? I couldn't take my eyes off all the stuff! Fun.

I got souvenirs in the mail from Caroline too. And to think I was just writing about Penelope bringing me back fridge magnets from her trip, now I have another, a flip flop magnet from Long Island, and it has actual sand in it! I've never seen anything like it. And a little surfboard keychain. I love souvenirs. These are so great. Must go write to Caroline since I no longer hear thunder.

Plan for tomorrow, after work of course, is to see "The Wizard of Oz" at the FOX, but I don't know if I'll follow through. We shall see.

Cost of the War in Iraq
(JavaScript Error)

Run, Kitty, Run!

Previous - Next

New - 2012 - 2009 - 2008 - 2007 - 2006 - 2005 - 2004 - 2003 - 2002 - 2001 - Profile - Contact - Notes - Rings - Diaryland - Favourite Entries - ReadMe - Surveys - Random Entry

Recent Entries:

It Was 40 Years Ago Today - 9:44 a.m. , Friday, Oct. 12, 2012

Dead Black Cat - 9:07 a.m. , Wednesday, Jan. 25, 2012

As Seen From Outer Space - 1:07 a.m. , Saturday, Dec. 05, 2009

I Survived to Tell the Tale - 7:29 a.m. , Friday, Sept. 18, 2009

Reading My Life - 12:55 p.m. , Saturday, Sept. 12, 2009

Happy Kitty

My Diary Was Reviewed at Ms Lovejoy's - Get Yours Reviewed Too!

Registered I was a nominee