Thursday, Jan. 31, 2002 / 8:22 p.m.

~On Feeling Good, Etc.~

So, listen to this, "Temptation Island 2", "CSI", and Part 3 of "Rose Red" are all on at 9:00. Hmmmmm.....What would YOU choose? *tick, tick, tick, tick* (no, not bloodthirsty insects, but a simulation of a clock ticking)

I'm gonna go with "Temptation Island 2", no taping of anything, I've already got a tapeful of this week's "GL"s I've yet to watch, and I've got to fit tomorrow's on there too. The rationale is this, "CSI" is constantly being repeated. I'll catch it later, no doubt. Actually, I haven't watched it in a few weeks - either it's been a repeat of one I've already seen, or something better is on, like "TI2". Yeah, baby.

And "Rose Red" has been a letdown, so far, so I'll just watch the final hour. That ought to contain some grand climax...or not....so it will make sense to simply omit the first hour. Damned miniseries.

Here's Cainer's horoscope for Aries (that be ME!) for tomorrow:

Peace and love man. Chill out. Take it easy. Don't let anything bug you.

It's all cool and, if you rise above it in a cosmic way, it is actually rather far out. Really, it is good that so many stupid things are happening and that you are surrounded by people who are becoming argumentative. This is your chance to fix the bad vibes by laying loads of love and understanding on those heavy dudes. Failing all that, just keep a sense of humour this weekend... and you'll be fine.

Funny guy. Funny thing is I felt like that today. I was jazzed. I've just started my period, and thank god the PMS is over (I was a basket case, as you may have read here in this very diary!), and it's not too bad yet, but for some strange reason - I think it was the haircut - I feel lighter. And today I was all squirmy in my chair. Wanted to be like Rasta and Quincey, standing in my cube all day. That's what they do. Rasta stands, wearing his headset, talking on the phone, laughing, laughing, talking, talking, laughing, ALL day. Quincey just stands, looking lost. She's so freaky. This old lady with rheumy eyes and coal black skin, this funky straight Cleopatra-like hairdo, this horrible speech impediment, gold teeth. What a group we are.....

So I had this guy on the phone all freaking out 'cause he needs his W-2 fixed. He got it in the mail, oh yeah, but it's fucked up and he called payroll and they told him to call us, and "I'm tard of y'all givin' me the RUNAROUND! Lemme speak to your SUPERVISOR", but she wasn't around. RUNAROUND. Ha ha. So, I tell him I'll transfer him to M (Manager), and he keeps yelling, and I say, "Calm down! Reeeeelaaaaaxxxxxx!". It was so funny. I didn't tense up like I always do.

And M came to see me after she spoke to the guy, told me she told him he had to call payroll back, speak to a manager, I say, "Yeah, that's exactly what I told him, but he wanted to hear it from someone else", and she says he apologized. I say, "Yeah, I told him to calm down, to relax, he was hoppin' mad".

I was so proud of me.

Tomorrow, you see, is the BIG DAY. D-Day. I drew a skull and crossbones on my calendar. The day we begin the reissues of the '01 W-2s for the employees of the BIG corporation. Oh yeah, we told them all to call back February 1st, or later. No one heard the "or later" part. In fact, some called today. One woman said to me, "I called a few days ago and someone told me to call back on February 1st", so I said, "Hmmm....right. This is January 31st. Thursday.", and it took everything I had not to say, "...2002". I didn't laugh, until she did.

Another woman called me from the bath. I heard the water swishing around, the echo, then the drain plug yanked, the water running down the drain. I said, "Are you in the tub?", and she said, "Yeah, you heard that, huh? I'm trying to get ready for work, make these phone calls, let me get a pen", as I was going to give her a phone number to call. I had to sit and wait while the water drained and she toweled off, then went into another room to get her pen. It was really weird. But intially, we both laughed.

One time, D., the Supervisor, told me she was on the phone with a guy who was taking a shit. I said, No! She said, Oh yeah, she even heard the "kerplunk", and the flush later. Some people are so funny.

Yeah, I was feeling good today. And I don't care why. I don't care if PMS left my body, my brain, if I'm simply manic depressive and this was a manic day, or if it was the moon, or Mars, or some other planet. I won't question it, my hair is shorter, it was 78 degrees today, and the people on the phones aren't going to freak me out tomorrow.

Deana, one of the white girl temps, told me she was in a good mood too, and she was manic too, talking to herself as she copied her documents: "Okay, this one is for filing, okay, I've copied this one...now, this one....let me see, I have this one, and that one, okay....", etc., and I laughed at her. I said the usual, "I'm not laughing at you, I'm laughing with you", but I lied. I was laughing at her, obviously. She amused me. She said she amuses herself, and she reminded me of me in that moment, and I wanted to say, "Hey, are you an ARIES too? You're jazzed today too??? What's up with this shit?!", but I didn't.

You know how that person wrote to me recently that my diary is all bleak and dreary and don't I have anything good to write? Well, I practically wrote the same thing to another diarist today. Shame on me! God, I suck! I am sorry, I told her I'm sorry. I was really challenging her to write something fun, to have a change of pace and find some happiness. There have to be ups to balance all the downs. We can't all want to kill ourselves EVERY day, now can we?

Come on, am I the only one who's feeling good? I've said I'm a sucker for these horoscopes, right? Astrology is one thing, horoscopes are another, one is a science, the other is fun. Here is Sydney Omarr's for ARIES today:

....Express your own ideas, make a fresh start. Your confidence builds, and finally you feel good.

I swear I read that late in the day today. After I realized I felt good.

It's the haircut. No one said a thing. If they noticed, they weren't talkin'. Penelope insists on her morning hug, then looks at me like I'm from Pluto when I try to talk to her. I just wanted her to know I bought some of that Tony Chachere seasoning last night, and I want to try her chicken recipe, but she was downright unfriendly. If Lulu told her something nasty about me, why would she still be hugging me?? That's for all you Scorpios out there to ponder. I know you're intensely loyal, but do you succumb to gossipy innuendoes, and rumours? She's a Scorp.

My hands are hot. I'm better typing at work, in the morning, but I had this to say tonight, all this.

Off to watch my prurient sleazefest now......"Temptation Island 2"....mmmmmm....

Cost of the War in Iraq
(JavaScript Error)

Run, Kitty, Run!

Previous - Next

New - 2012 - 2009 - 2008 - 2007 - 2006 - 2005 - 2004 - 2003 - 2002 - 2001 - Profile - Contact - Notes - Rings - Diaryland - Favourite Entries - ReadMe - Surveys - Random Entry

Recent Entries:

It Was 40 Years Ago Today - 9:44 a.m. , Friday, Oct. 12, 2012

Dead Black Cat - 9:07 a.m. , Wednesday, Jan. 25, 2012

As Seen From Outer Space - 1:07 a.m. , Saturday, Dec. 05, 2009

I Survived to Tell the Tale - 7:29 a.m. , Friday, Sept. 18, 2009

Reading My Life - 12:55 p.m. , Saturday, Sept. 12, 2009

Happy Kitty

My Diary Was Reviewed at Ms Lovejoy's - Get Yours Reviewed Too!

Registered I was a nominee