Wednesday, May. 28, 2003 / 10:16 p.m.

~Zoo~

It was a perfect day. The sky was blue and cloudless, the wind blew through the trees, everything was alive with perfection.

Not everything. Not at all. The tigers need more room. But the one lay in his pool and turned his neck to see the children banging the glass behind him, he stood and sprayed the glass at them (as they shouted, "He peed on the glass!") and casually walked away, not even stopping to shake, letting the water soak through his body. Then he paced along the fence, looking at her. And she at him. They need so much more.

How did we get to this place, where this is the only way these animals can be kept alive? The beautiful Sumatran Tiger.

The lion made the best of his situation, he took his big red bucket from his pool, carried it away, chewed and chomped and forever changed its shape, then took it back, dropped it back in the pool, and pretended for what seemed an interminable amount of time that he could not possibly remove it, pawing at it with his giant cat paws. People were 'awwww'ing, and saying the shame that his brain was not big enough to help him with this project. It was a game. And he finally looked at us looking back at him, sly golden eyes, beautiful beautiful beautiful creature, and picked the bucket back up with his teeth, carried it back up to the top of the hill and batted it around like an overgrown kitten.

And gorillas, and birds of the most magnificent colors, like they were dyed to look that way, unreal shapes and sizes, and monkeys and giant lizards and snakes and I've never seen so many different kinds of turtles in my life. And the usual, giraffes and ostriches and rhinos and orangutans and lemurs and zebras and elephants and I could spend the day, and I did. I did spend the day, wandering beneath huge swaying trees, constant breeze whispering in my ears, constant cooling wind, and children saying things only children will say, and parents trying too hard to make it EDUCATIONAL, and me, just me and the animals, watching a lion play with a bucket, just because he can. And pandas eating bamboo, and making pennies and quarters come out flat, with images on them, of pandas and lions, because I could lie down with that big lion and watch him all day, all night.

It was such a perfect day. And I ate tofu and Nam Sod after, and drank Thai beer, and watched "Fame", the newest 'reality show', and I end this perfect day with a perfect headache, and I hear we expect rain again soon, but this day could last forever. I want to live at the Zoo.

Cost of the War in Iraq
(JavaScript Error)

Run, Kitty, Run!

Previous - Next

New - 2012 - 2009 - 2008 - 2007 - 2006 - 2005 - 2004 - 2003 - 2002 - 2001 - Profile - Contact - Notes - Rings - Diaryland - Favourite Entries - ReadMe - Surveys - Random Entry

Recent Entries:

It Was 40 Years Ago Today - 9:44 a.m. , Friday, Oct. 12, 2012

Dead Black Cat - 9:07 a.m. , Wednesday, Jan. 25, 2012

As Seen From Outer Space - 1:07 a.m. , Saturday, Dec. 05, 2009

I Survived to Tell the Tale - 7:29 a.m. , Friday, Sept. 18, 2009

Reading My Life - 12:55 p.m. , Saturday, Sept. 12, 2009

Happy Kitty

My Diary Was Reviewed at Ms Lovejoy's - Get Yours Reviewed Too!

Registered I was a nominee