Saturday, Apr. 13, 2002 / 12:05 a.m.

~The Rise of Jimmy Usual, and Democracy Rising as Well~

Am I prolific lately or what?! Too bad it's all crap. Aw, it's not that bad.

I went to the Democracy Rising rally tonight and it was groovy. I bought Nader's new book, and Noam Chomsky's book on 9/11, I was entranced by Patti Smith, I sang along to "Because the night belongs to love", I picked up literature, I was overwhelmed by causes, by the prospect of activism and civic duty and pride, and I felt hopeful, I saw promise, I chatted up strangers and got high from one Heineken (oops, a Corporate plug, fucking Corporate giants!), and I fell in love with Ralph Nader, a man my mother loved before me.

You know how "they" say we become our parents? Most of us have parents around to compare ourselves to, but my mom died when I was 17, and still, I see her in me, I am becoming much like her, and for this I am grateful. She was a spectacular person.

Tonight was good, I paid for my bus ticket, yes, folks, I am ON THE BUS! I'm going back to D.C., to protest, to demonstrate, to speak, to have a VOICE, as a member of this great country, this Democracy, to fight for justice and truth and what is right and good and important, and I am excited and nervous and everything else.

And, I have a brand new Diaryland Diary to recommend.... drumroll please....... everyone please check out the marvelous Jimmy Usual, and not just because he has nice things to say about me, but because he can write, he is funny and highly entertaining and fascinating, and because he says nice things about me, after everything I've said about him (maybe he hasn't read it all yet!). Seriously, go tell him "hi", that would be fun, right?

I need to go to bed, but I'm keyed, too much is going on in my little brain, I may give up my job on Monday, I may be hitting temp agencies on Monday, I am scared, I really am. I'm scared of Listerine, I'm scared my management won't do shit, and their lack of justice scares me, the legal system scares me, the fact that the EEOC won't do anything scares me, life scares me. But I'll be strong, I'll be okay, change is good, so "they" say.

If you could've seen Patti Smith tonight you'd feel good, she is so beautiful, in her own natural non-traditional female beauty sort of way. She is tough, rugged, has long gray hair, she's proud, she's musical, she's happy, or so she seems, she's a survivor, she's been around a LONG time, and she rocks!

And the same about Ralph Nader, all of the above. He's funny as hell too! Almost makes me regret voting for Gore. Almost.

Oh, man, if you stumble in here and you don't know what the fuck I'm talking about, click on the "previous" link, the last entry is pretty self-explanatory, or now-explanatory, or I don't know. But you're cheating yourself if you stop here.

Cost of the War in Iraq
(JavaScript Error)

Run, Kitty, Run!

Previous - Next

New - 2012 - 2009 - 2008 - 2007 - 2006 - 2005 - 2004 - 2003 - 2002 - 2001 - Profile - Contact - Notes - Rings - Diaryland - Favourite Entries - ReadMe - Surveys - Random Entry

Recent Entries:

It Was 40 Years Ago Today - 9:44 a.m. , Friday, Oct. 12, 2012

Dead Black Cat - 9:07 a.m. , Wednesday, Jan. 25, 2012

As Seen From Outer Space - 1:07 a.m. , Saturday, Dec. 05, 2009

I Survived to Tell the Tale - 7:29 a.m. , Friday, Sept. 18, 2009

Reading My Life - 12:55 p.m. , Saturday, Sept. 12, 2009

Happy Kitty

My Diary Was Reviewed at Ms Lovejoy's - Get Yours Reviewed Too!

Registered I was a nominee