2001-08-05 / 8:13 p.m.

~This entry should be boring~

I just read Andrew's (our faithful and dedicated web master) notes on the member page, and it occurs to me that the problems I was having last night, problems accessing my diary, may have been due to the fact that I was, and am always, logged in as a member.

But I kept re-booting, thinking it was my PC.

I stayed up really, really late, following along as my newest faithful reader read this diary. I wanted to see what page he was on, what was he reading, what is he discovering about me now? But it was so frustrating. I'd reach a point where I couldn't get to my diary at all, so I'd try other diaries, and nothing, just waiting, waiting, waiting, but other sites worked.

Now, I realize it must've been the colocation thingie, or server, or AT&T or whatever the hell, and it doesn't really matter because he read as much as he could stomach, or got to the point where he'd come in, and was through for the night and I could give up too.

No one has done that yet, that I'm aware of, found my diary, and read it. Really read it, beginning to end. Well, there was my first faithful reader, the one who promised he'd never read again. And why? Whatever, really, just whatever. It's not a book, I'm not trying to get it published, it's just a diary, it's unedited, it's rough. I've said it before. And we all have conflicts about writing so personally, yet wanting others to read, installing guestbooks and site meters, logging traffic, promoting, some creating banners even. To advertise a private diary?

Then it's not really private, is it?

I was still glad to see someone really take the time to get to know me. It's outrageously flattering, and seemingly sincere. I am still not quite sure what to think of it. Or maybe I'm just surprised more people haven't done it, haven't gone on from one page, to another, and another, like I do when I find one I like. Or maybe it's that no one really likes it that much. And do I want people to?

I still don't know.

I didn't really do anything I thought I would today, and I know the day's not over, but it's close, it feels over, this is when I start to feel I had a weekend and I let it get away from me. Once again I spent hours online, and it was enjoyable, mostly, aside from the constant re-booting and overall frustration at the slowness of this setup.

I did visit Amazon and Borders, and was really disappointed to find out they have merged. Now their prices will be the same, and really there will be no difference. Sad.

MySimon.com still is great for comparison shopping, and I haven't shopped online in quite some time. I found Jeff Buckley's "Mystery White Boy" for $10 something, new, at MyMusic.com. So I ordered that, and Moby's "Play" (it was only $9 something). I hesitated to buy from Half.com because I don't really want to buy from individuals online. I know a lot of people do it, but it seems too risky to me. I've used SecondSpin before, and with good luck, but I didn't think to look there today.

So, I have CDs coming soon. Yea!

Then I decided to order a pizza and salad through Food.com, and placed the order, got my confirmation, etc., but the food never arrived. An hour later I called the pizza place to find they canceled their Food.com account. My order was lost in cyberspace, totally bogus, and I've done it so many times before. That sucked.

I ordered it again, live, on the phone, and they were apologetic, and rightly so, but then I had to wait another 45 minutes for my food. And my gyro pizza didn't have nearly enough meat on it. Live and learn. I could call this another pig fuck, but I wasn't nearly as bothered as I might have been on any other day. I'm just feeling sort of blase today. No accent mark for that e in blase, don't have the energy to search for the code.

See, boring, right? Me, one boring individual.

Oh, Norma ran into me earlier, and I almost fell against a huge stack of Entertainment Weeklys and book club mailings, a huge stack of each really, but caught myself, whilst knocking most of them to the floor in a loud crash. She was terrified, I was pissed, at her, for not being more considerate (I don't care if she is a cat, there's no excuse for mowing me down like that), and at myself, for amassing huge stacks of stuff all over the place. EWs, book club mailings, catalogs, papers, the free weekly, all for potential future recycling, because I don't believe we should just fill the landfills with paper that can be recycled, but it's such a hassle to actually accomplish the recycling.

Which makes me think of Al Gore, and what I'd like to think he would've accomplished as our first truly ENVIRONMENTAL president. Damn.

I want someone in charge who is aware of landfills, who is aware that we need to DO something about all our GARBAGE. Hello???? Is anyone listening? Aaarrrrggghhhhhh. It shouldn't be a chore for me to recycle, it should be easy. I should be compensated maybe. Forget the stupid tax refund, economy boosting, kiss my ass 'cause I'm the President who gave you a check! shit. Forget that. Let's take care of our environment, you know, the air we breathe? Remember that? The water we drink? Anyone? Our land? Our aquifers? Does Bush even know about any of that stuff? No, he's lead such a privileged life up to and including now, all he cares about is who is going to bring him his next bottle of water, not whether he can drink from the tap.

Oh, man, how did I get off on that?

Right. Norma, the stack of stuff that fell.

I'm okay. My wrist hurts from all the typing lately. But I'm okay.

I'm going now. Yeah, I'm through with this entry. Read the older stuff, it's much better, much more interesting. In fact, read it ALL!

Hey, thanks again, you, you know who you are. You actually slogged through all of this. That means a lot to me. And if you read all of it and still want anything to do with me, anything at all, wow, I'm impressed, and it makes me feel pretty good.

And thanks to you, Kristi, for all your kind words and offers!

Cost of the War in Iraq
(JavaScript Error)

Run, Kitty, Run!

Previous - Next

New - 2012 - 2009 - 2008 - 2007 - 2006 - 2005 - 2004 - 2003 - 2002 - 2001 - Profile - Contact - Notes - Rings - Diaryland - Favourite Entries - ReadMe - Surveys - Random Entry

Recent Entries:

It Was 40 Years Ago Today - 9:44 a.m. , Friday, Oct. 12, 2012

Dead Black Cat - 9:07 a.m. , Wednesday, Jan. 25, 2012

As Seen From Outer Space - 1:07 a.m. , Saturday, Dec. 05, 2009

I Survived to Tell the Tale - 7:29 a.m. , Friday, Sept. 18, 2009

Reading My Life - 12:55 p.m. , Saturday, Sept. 12, 2009

Happy Kitty

My Diary Was Reviewed at Ms Lovejoy's - Get Yours Reviewed Too!

Registered I was a nominee