Friday, May. 30, 2003 / 5:35 p.m.

~I Wanted It All, I Bought It All~

Today started much like yesterday, with me dragging myself from sleep, and dreams, after too much of both. Waking groggy, only wanting to sleep more. I'm not completely sure what this is about, but I think it's typical 'day off' syndrome, knowing I don't absolutely 'have' to get up, nor do I 'have' to do anything, and sleeping/dreaming is fun.

But I made promises to myself, or more likely had plans written, and so I had to comply, had to commit to something. And the Farmers Market was it.

Going in, grabbing whatever looks good, not caring how much it all costs, within reason, of course. And $138 got me an unbelievable amount of goodies, including two bottles of wine, my favorite Kiss My Face Patchouli body wash stuff, some fresh mozzarella (not bocconcini this time, just one big ball), the Gyoza potstickers I've recently discovered, fresh bread, organic milk, lots of veggies and berries (strawberries, blackberries, raspberries - I intend to serve these over some blueberry sorbet I already have in the freezer).

Three different kinds of mushrooms: fresh shiitake, white 'button' and baby portobellos. Three different sliced deli meats: pastrami, cajun turkey breast, garlic bologna. And bacon, and organic eggs, and apples, and a huge bottle of extra virgin olive oil, and some garlic red wine vinegar, asparagus, cousous, white clam sauce, tomatoes (red, orange and yellow), broccoli, of course. Blueberry/cream cheese croissants (reminds me, I dreamed my Manager [M] was telling me she doesn't like cream cheese - ???????).

Surely there's more, and it was worth it, and some items were over $6 a piece, and some were really cheap, and I have raw ingredients to cook something fantastic.

So who wants to come over and eat?

Don't answer that.

I got started by eating a garlic bologna/muenster/lettuce/mayo on whole wheat/honey bread sandwich. I was hungry. I know you're not supposed to shop when you're hungry, but it was the only way I'd get my ass out of here and over there, to shop. The cashier said she could tell I'd been shopping for a while, and when I looked at the time on the computer register I realized I'd been in there for well over an hour, maybe an hour and a half.

And I had to skip the full service meat counter because there was a line. I would've gotten some of the organic beef, and some homemade sausages. But I opted out for packaged chicken Italian sausage instead.

Now I'm planning in my head, what to cook and how to cook it. This is exciting.

Last night's "Amazing Race" was exciting too (rapid change of topic), as always. I love the little onscreen blurbs about each team: "Dating 12 years/Virgins", "Married" for the gay couple, "Air Traffic Controllers", "NFL Wives/Mothers". Most are dating couples, not as many relatives this time around, but that's cool. You know the virgins have done EVERYTHING but penis/vagina contact, you just know it. Strange to even call them 'virgins' in that case.

But I have no idea who to root for, not yet. I wish it was on every night, as TV really sucks now that we're in between May sweeps and Summer programming. Everything is a repeat, or just vapid air suck, just waste of bandwidth, or airwaves, or whatever. So I search for movies on cable, and find little there of interest. Try chatting online on IM, but there's no one to talk to.

I think I'm going to go see "Finding Nemo". And I really don't want to go to the Tattoo Convention tomorrow. I have totally lost interest. 100%. And I don't want to have to call Q in the morning, try to talk her into it. Either you want a tattoo, so you get one, or you don't, and you don't get one. I can't stand the wishy washy nature of the first timers. My first time I couldn't wait. And my second and third, etc., etc. Now, I'm pretty much inked out. I'm not happy with the last one, it's too high on my ankle. And I don't feel like shaving, so blech.

Wow, I bought smoked salmon too. I think, at this point, I'd really like for some famous chef to come in and prepare something fantastic. What's that Food Network show where the guy storms in and sees what's in your fridge and cooks it all up for you? Like that.

I'm still tired.

P.S. Almost forgot, I went to the apartment office again today to get my box from Amazon (why Amazon needs to package two CDs in such a big box is a mystery to me), and it was closed, again, with people inside, again, so I stood, knocked, held my little salmon-colored post office slip to the window, "LET ME IN", and the maintenance dude let me in, quite begrudgingly I thought, and unecessarily so, I also thought. But I not only had the Amazon CDs, which I need to put on, Violent Femmes and "Hair" soundtrack, but the chicken salad cookbook I ordered from The Good Cook. Nice, nice, nice, a Chronicle paperback, LOVE Chronicle books, LOVE them - if I could only work for them, and be happy. So, new stuff, and this is good, and fun.

Cost of the War in Iraq
(JavaScript Error)

Run, Kitty, Run!

Previous - Next

New - 2012 - 2009 - 2008 - 2007 - 2006 - 2005 - 2004 - 2003 - 2002 - 2001 - Profile - Contact - Notes - Rings - Diaryland - Favourite Entries - ReadMe - Surveys - Random Entry

Recent Entries:

It Was 40 Years Ago Today - 9:44 a.m. , Friday, Oct. 12, 2012

Dead Black Cat - 9:07 a.m. , Wednesday, Jan. 25, 2012

As Seen From Outer Space - 1:07 a.m. , Saturday, Dec. 05, 2009

I Survived to Tell the Tale - 7:29 a.m. , Friday, Sept. 18, 2009

Reading My Life - 12:55 p.m. , Saturday, Sept. 12, 2009

Happy Kitty

My Diary Was Reviewed at Ms Lovejoy's - Get Yours Reviewed Too!

Registered I was a nominee