Friday, Aug. 12, 2005 / 8:03 p.m.

~Viral Onset, Constant Thunder, and Brazilian Party Central~

I woke today thinking, I really don't feel well, I feel horrible, what's wrong with me, why can't I have energy, I feel sick, what's wrong with me? I think I'm a bit better now, but it was a surprise, and I think it may be just a cold virus invading my system. A bit of echinacea to attempt an immune system boost, and we shall see. And yes, I do know there was yet another 'study' recently 'proving' that echinacea does nothing for anyone that a placebo cannot do as well, but I don't believe that, and neither do all the other people who swear by echinacea.

It seems there are often 'studies' regarding herbal supplements, and they always turn out to 'prove' that some herb or other is a waste of money. I wonder if the big drug companies are not the sponsors, and if the results are not skewed.

I am a conspiracy theorist.

I also slept on the sofa last weekend, and my right arm has yet to recover. The nerve twinges and years old tendonitis resurfacing are causing pain shooting all up and down it, from the shoulder to my wrist, and since my right wrist is the one I use more, especially when I'm online with finger perched on mouse scroll wheel, this is most unfortunate. And, in keeping with this invading virus and high white cell count (you know, you can feel it, elevated body temp, hot behind the eyes, hot dry throat, etc.), last night my eyes hurt from looking at this monitor and I had to log off before finding out who held out longest in the latest endurance competition on "Big Brother 6".

Today I logged on to read the recaps of the live feed, and accidentally saw the outcome first thing. I am my own best spoiler. Now I don't want to sit here and read how it all happened, I'll let CBS edit it creatively, or as best they can, and watch tomorrow, though tomorrow I go out to a nice dinner, so I'll tape it and hope thunderstorms don't knock out power.

Thunderstorms, daily. Most of the past two months really. I'm tired of the sound of thunder, and the threat of being killed by lightning every single day. Several people have been killed this summer already, and several more homes destroyed by the stuff. It's just so random. The other morning I was lying in bed listening to the cracks, thinking how absurdly loud it was, and thinking also how I could be struck at any moment, and there wasn't a whole lot I could do, other than drive very far away perhaps.

Ah well, the shoulder down to the wrist is hurting, shooting pains in the carpal tunnel region, so I'd best stop typing, and a shower is in order anyway, before I head out to run some errands this evening. I honestly hope I don't have to crawl over Brazilians in the stairwell - the neighbors are omnipresent in the public areas on weekends, and this starts the weekend tonight. Last week it was a crowd with 12-packs of Bud Lite, cavorting like the area outside my front door is party central. I want to move.

I want so many things, and nothing is happening. Maybe I should try harder.

Cost of the War in Iraq
(JavaScript Error)

Run, Kitty, Run!

Previous - Next

New - 2012 - 2009 - 2008 - 2007 - 2006 - 2005 - 2004 - 2003 - 2002 - 2001 - Profile - Contact - Notes - Rings - Diaryland - Favourite Entries - ReadMe - Surveys - Random Entry

Recent Entries:

It Was 40 Years Ago Today - 9:44 a.m. , Friday, Oct. 12, 2012

Dead Black Cat - 9:07 a.m. , Wednesday, Jan. 25, 2012

As Seen From Outer Space - 1:07 a.m. , Saturday, Dec. 05, 2009

I Survived to Tell the Tale - 7:29 a.m. , Friday, Sept. 18, 2009

Reading My Life - 12:55 p.m. , Saturday, Sept. 12, 2009

Happy Kitty

My Diary Was Reviewed at Ms Lovejoy's - Get Yours Reviewed Too!

Registered I was a nominee