2001-07-06 / 7:47 p.m.

~Almost forgot Bogosian!~

I know I could just add on to my previous entry, but I feel that one is really just for last night, just for Kubrick and the FOX and the beautiful people, and even so, I feel I should go back and edit it, re-write it, write actual reviews of those films, but that kind of writing is HARD, and well, not many people read this, maybe none at all (sitemeter is down so how will I know?!).

I started reading Mall, by Eric Bogosian yesterday. Really, I hated that I finished The Girl's Guide to Hunting and Fishing, and now I'm supposed to lend it to Lisa and A. 'cause they want to read it, but I don't lend books, and how do I tell them how persnickety I am? How I'd hate it if they bent the spine or messed up the cover at all? But that was such a great book, and now I'm reading Bogosian and it's SO different.

Eric Bogosian is best known to me for his film "Talk Radio", which is totally intense and disturbing, especially the end, and each time I've seen it I've sat afterward in a daze, which really, any good movie, truly good movie should do to you.

Still, he's a monologuist, not like Spalding Gray, but not unlike him, and an actor, again, like Spalding Gray, but totally different. Bogosian is dark....dark, dark, dark. I'm thinking this book is Stephen King, it is just like him, but maybe it's not. The underbelly of normalcy, that's what it is. Suburbia, the people there, see how fucked up, how pitiful they really are.

And here's this psychopath who is going to kill them all, enter their shopping mall and set it on fire and shoot everything in sight!

One of those books where each chapter is about a different person, and they're all pretty short, so it moves, it just flows, keeps going, but it's a story about lots of people, or several people, and what each is doing at the same time.

Oh, let's find out what Donna is doing, and what about Jeff? Jeff is tripping now, and Mal, the psycho shooter is in the woods, but what about Danny? Will he ever get the handcuffs off?

So I'm sitting in my cubicle, after trying to entertain Lisa because she is bored and has nothing to read, and I didn't bring the book for her to borrow, because it's awfully white, and well, she may not like it, and I don't lend books, but now I'm reading, and damn, this book has me. It's got me gripped and when the phone rings and I have to say my spiel I can hardly talk. I'm thinking, oh, if you only knew the sentence I just read, how I'm sitting here, with my knees up, or with my feet propped up, and that I'm reading this fucking amazing and horribly disturbing Stephen King of a book by this guy who can rant with the best of them! Wow.

Friday night. Guess I'll read the book, or watch some TV. So many channels......

Cost of the War in Iraq
(JavaScript Error)

Run, Kitty, Run!

Previous - Next

New - 2012 - 2009 - 2008 - 2007 - 2006 - 2005 - 2004 - 2003 - 2002 - 2001 - Profile - Contact - Notes - Rings - Diaryland - Favourite Entries - ReadMe - Surveys - Random Entry

Recent Entries:

It Was 40 Years Ago Today - 9:44 a.m. , Friday, Oct. 12, 2012

Dead Black Cat - 9:07 a.m. , Wednesday, Jan. 25, 2012

As Seen From Outer Space - 1:07 a.m. , Saturday, Dec. 05, 2009

I Survived to Tell the Tale - 7:29 a.m. , Friday, Sept. 18, 2009

Reading My Life - 12:55 p.m. , Saturday, Sept. 12, 2009

Happy Kitty

My Diary Was Reviewed at Ms Lovejoy's - Get Yours Reviewed Too!

Registered I was a nominee