2001-07-07 / 10:40 p.m.

~Saturday~

When I spend a long period of time lying down, watching TV with my eyes half open due to the angle, I end up seeing half as well.

Right now everything is blurry and I am wearing my glasses. This disturbs me. I want to keep opening them, my eyes, wider and wider, maybe rub them a bit, to see if it will help, but I know the only way for me to see is to have my eyes wide open.

I guess that's pretty metaphorical, and obvious, isn't it?

It seems so futile to watch a movie with lots of profanity on a channel which will not allow that profanity to be heard. It ends up sounding like someone talking on a cell phone. Every other word is gone, missing, but on the TV at least I can see the word, see the mouth form it, on the phone one loses that advantage.

I am a master of procrastination. It is an art with me. How much longer before I simply MUST go to the store?

How many more clean pairs of underwear do I have?

Am I totally out of clean spoons?

I don't really need to wash my hair if I'm not going out, do I?

It will all wait, all of it. Saturday is the day to think of things to do, and then not do them.

I made a kick ass potato salad today. I amazed myself. It was one of those things I'd been meaning to do, had thought about it, visualized it, made it already, in my head, so when I reached the post-coffee portion of the program, of the day, and the hunger began to set in, I said, This is it! I will make the potato salad! Now is the time!

And I turned on cooking shows to have on in the background: Martin Yan, then Julia Child, then I switched the channel and caught the end of Wolfgang Puck, but he was making sweeties, and this was a salty.

Oh, it was good, oh, it was so fucking good, I had to have two bowls. It was Yukon Gold potatoes, chopped coarsely, and steamed. A few of them. I chopped some celery (I love celery in potato salad) and threw that in a big bowl, added some of this Vidalia onion I've had around for a while (no, it wasn't rotten, just getting, well, kind of old - I bought all this stuff a week and a half ago, and it has to be eaten - fresh food must be eaten or it will rot), and some lime juice. Weird, lime juice, but I love limes, and I squeezed some juice in on the celery and onion while the potatoes (see, Mr. Quayle? plural has an "e") steamed.

Then, black olives. I LOVE black olives. Once, when I was maybe nine or ten I drank the brine from a can of black olives. I was weird like that. I used to snatch my mom's cocktail onions from the door of the fridge too, loved to suck on them before finally chewing. But I digress.

Yeah, chopped black olives, colossals, Lindsay olives, cool label, kind of old fashioned looking - huge fucking olives! Eat a few whilst chopping!

And then I seasoned haphazardly, because I'm not good at seasoning, I'm never confident unless I'm following a recipe, then I figure if I fuck up I can blame it on the cookbook author.

Some lemon pepper, and lemon and herb, why not? Some salt. I remembered to hard boil a couple eggs, before it was too late - but how could it have been too late really? Got to have hard boiled eggs in potato salad.

Then, the last andouille sitting in the fridge. This really expensive sausage, Aidell's sausages. I browned it quickly in some olive oil, threw the olive oil over the mixture I had so far, and it was just a bit, maybe a half teaspoon. Then the potatoes, cooled with cold water, and drained, and the hard boiled eggs, sliced in one of those cool egg slicer gadgets, one of my favorite little "appliances".

The sausage I cut up, coarsely chopped, am not anal about chopping. Tossed it all together, threw some more olive oil over it all, just a bit, then 2 heaping tablespoons of mayonnaise, oh yeah, and some dried dill.

Fucking amazing! Really, I'm surprised I didn't eat the whole huge bowl of it in one sitting.

Restraint.

The cats had some canned food too, that same can from Linda, still open, cold from the fridge, like pate or something. They love it, but now they look fat and bloated. It won't be a regular thing.

What an exciting day!

"Harold and Maude" was on, but I actually didn't watch it, I actually watched "Two Girls and a Guy" instead, on WE, "Women's Entertainment", stupid channel, and they talked on cell phones the whole time, but I could see they were actually saying FUCK, and MOTHERFUCKER, I could see it, it would just cut off, over and over and over, and what a stupid movie. Yes, Robert Downey Jr. is 100% engaging, and that is why Hollywood loves him, despite the fact that he is also 100% self-destructive.

He's an Aries too, you know.

Shannon Doherty too.

Dave Letterman.

I could go on, but I won't. Robert and Shannon are very much alike, well, she does not share his talent for acting, but the rest, yeah. Dave and I? VERY much alike, very. But he's successful, and I am not.

Whatever.

Something ironic? I was flipping channels last night to fall asleep and what do I find but "A Clockwork Orange". Hah. Funny.

Cost of the War in Iraq
(JavaScript Error)

Run, Kitty, Run!

Previous - Next

New - 2012 - 2009 - 2008 - 2007 - 2006 - 2005 - 2004 - 2003 - 2002 - 2001 - Profile - Contact - Notes - Rings - Diaryland - Favourite Entries - ReadMe - Surveys - Random Entry

Recent Entries:

It Was 40 Years Ago Today - 9:44 a.m. , Friday, Oct. 12, 2012

Dead Black Cat - 9:07 a.m. , Wednesday, Jan. 25, 2012

As Seen From Outer Space - 1:07 a.m. , Saturday, Dec. 05, 2009

I Survived to Tell the Tale - 7:29 a.m. , Friday, Sept. 18, 2009

Reading My Life - 12:55 p.m. , Saturday, Sept. 12, 2009

Happy Kitty

My Diary Was Reviewed at Ms Lovejoy's - Get Yours Reviewed Too!

Registered I was a nominee