2001-08-28 / 1:27 p.m.

~A Compliment~

I fade into the gray here at work. Not that I don't wear colors, but I can't say I fade into the woodwork because there is no woodwork, only gray.

All the same, I make little to no effort with my appearance. I slide in just inside the dress code, push the envelope, and no one notices, no one sees me. I get the occasional up and down look, but mostly it's eye contact or nothing.

Today someone complimented my hair.

Wow. It is getting really long and I'm using this new shampoo and conditioner, this expensive stuff, hair stuff to make my hair even curlier, shinier, whatever. And even I've been thinking, Hey, my hair looks good. Sometimes.

But it is getting long, and it's been really hot outside, and I pull it up, out of the way, first thing when I get out of bed. I wear it pulled back, with this clip or that scrunchie thingie, or that barrette or whatever. I want it out of my way, I want to keep it from falling out and down my arms.

You know how hair always falls out, hair of any length. Sure, a lot stays attached, but we humans shed. Like animals. Picture really long hair shedding�long strands dropping down my body when I'm not looking, feeling like a bug or something on my arm.

The long term relationship had long hair, really, really long hair, when we were together. I insisted on separate bathrooms while we lived together, and we lived in three different houses in 4 years. His hair was all over the place, huge balls of it in the bathtub. Not that he was terribly slovenly, but it didn't matter to him to leave things like his own shedding lying around, for a while, until he felt the need to get rid of it.

Anyway, yeah, so B. says, "Do you ever wear your hair out?", and I'm thinking, it is out. What does she mean? And I realize I do have it clipped up, back a bit, off my face, and I say, "Well, it gets in my way�", and "�yeah, sometimes." And she stops, takes a good look at me from behind, and I am thinking, well, I did brush it today, and it's kinda dirty today, so it's straighter than usual, not so kinky, curly, I washed it really late Sunday night and I was going to wash it again today, but I was tired this morning, slept too late, not enough time�

She said, "It's pretty�it's really pretty", and I thought wow, someone saw me, someone actually noticed what I look like. It feels really good to get a sincere compliment, and yeah, my hair is getting long and it does look good. Hmmm�

(Linda is feeling good today - I can tell because she has started her nonsensical humming, and it almost sounds like it might be an actual song this time. Yesterday she was tired, no humming, an entire day with no humming. Today�it's like a mosquito flying too close to my ear, I want to shoo it away, smack it between my hand and my leg, smoosh! But it's not that easy, is it?)

Cost of the War in Iraq
(JavaScript Error)

Run, Kitty, Run!

Previous - Next

New - 2012 - 2009 - 2008 - 2007 - 2006 - 2005 - 2004 - 2003 - 2002 - 2001 - Profile - Contact - Notes - Rings - Diaryland - Favourite Entries - ReadMe - Surveys - Random Entry

Recent Entries:

It Was 40 Years Ago Today - 9:44 a.m. , Friday, Oct. 12, 2012

Dead Black Cat - 9:07 a.m. , Wednesday, Jan. 25, 2012

As Seen From Outer Space - 1:07 a.m. , Saturday, Dec. 05, 2009

I Survived to Tell the Tale - 7:29 a.m. , Friday, Sept. 18, 2009

Reading My Life - 12:55 p.m. , Saturday, Sept. 12, 2009

Happy Kitty

My Diary Was Reviewed at Ms Lovejoy's - Get Yours Reviewed Too!

Registered I was a nominee