2001-08-27 / 7:45 p.m.

~I feel change coming - and Madonna's "Drowned World" concert~

I feel excited and I don't know why.

We won $9 in the Big Game Lottery, via our little pool here at work. So we're reinvesting, and getting more tickets. We now have 16 chances at winning the $90 million drawing tomorrow night.

I have a silly good feeling about it. I told the gals I'd light a candle to Mary. No, I'm not Catholic, but my mother was, and my father a Jew. I'm agnostic, but times like this I want to be religious.

I like learning about different religions, and I have an affinity for Catholicism, Judaism, Buddhism and the Greek Orthodox religion.

So, I'm tempted to start praying! We all want this money so badly we can taste it, feel it, smell it, hear it, see it�Lulu even has a picture of her dream house posted in her cubicle. She wants to "claim" it.

In other news: I thought last night's Madonna "Drowned World" live concert on HBO was amazing! Her energy blew me away. Everything about it was mesmerizing, really, the range of songs, the different styles, the dancers, the costumes, mohawks, images on the huge screen above the stage, anime and otherwise, all of it, was fantastic!

I even liked the little performances on stage while she was backstage doing her costume changes. I wished I was there, or at least taping it from the TV, but I couldn't even move. It was the best concert I've never been to.

I was also totally envious of Madonna. She is three years older than I am, yet she has the energy of someone I never was and never will be. The same with her creative vision and physical presence, charisma. I never really cared much for her until I had a really good gay friend at the bookstore, a guy who turned me on to her album "Erotica".

That was the same time as the Sex book, and the day it came out we had television news crews there to tape us selling it. I bought two copies, one to keep in its mylar wrapper, one to peruse at leisure.

I listened to "Erotica" a lot back then. And I bought "Bedtime Stories" when it came out, and at some point Madonna was an artist to me, a musician, a talented performer, not just a fad, not just an imitated image on MTV.

I gained respect for her over the years, learned to appreciate what she was offering, began to understand a bit about who she is, and now she is a sort of perfect woman in my eyes. I can look at her and more than admire her. I don't want to be her, but I love to watch her. She exudes such strength, confidence, femininity, charisma, sexuality�and above all there is that energy.

I am so glad I got to see a concert from this tour.

Oh, other news�I applied for a job last night, online. It was my first online application through monster.com, so I don't know if it went through or what. I plan to submit my resume via email as well. I don't even know what the job pays, but it's a company I want to work for, so I hope I hear something at least.

(I wrote the above while still at work, much earlier today, and now I am home, eating salad and pizza I just had delivered. The delivery people from this pizza place are all Russian, or Eastern European, very interesting. And, the salads kick ass! Not to mention the pizzas, of course. I found out "Drowned World" will be repeated Tuesday - whether that's this Tuesday, as in tomorrow, or next Tuesday, I don't know, but I plan to buy a new videotape tomorrow so I can tape it. Also, I enjoyed Andrew's enjoyment at the little article mentioning the hipness of surfing diaryland. Indeed, it's all the rage. And to think that I thought it was going under! Hah! I've got to finish eating now...)

Cost of the War in Iraq
(JavaScript Error)

Run, Kitty, Run!

Previous - Next

New - 2012 - 2009 - 2008 - 2007 - 2006 - 2005 - 2004 - 2003 - 2002 - 2001 - Profile - Contact - Notes - Rings - Diaryland - Favourite Entries - ReadMe - Surveys - Random Entry

Recent Entries:

It Was 40 Years Ago Today - 9:44 a.m. , Friday, Oct. 12, 2012

Dead Black Cat - 9:07 a.m. , Wednesday, Jan. 25, 2012

As Seen From Outer Space - 1:07 a.m. , Saturday, Dec. 05, 2009

I Survived to Tell the Tale - 7:29 a.m. , Friday, Sept. 18, 2009

Reading My Life - 12:55 p.m. , Saturday, Sept. 12, 2009

Happy Kitty

My Diary Was Reviewed at Ms Lovejoy's - Get Yours Reviewed Too!

Registered I was a nominee