Monday, Jun. 16, 2003 / 7:17 p.m.

~All I Had To Do Was Ask!~

When I transferred a crucial Windows 98 file last January, and I seemingly 'broke' the computer I'd bought from Brent, people said, "Ask your IT guy at work, see if he can help you", and I said, "Nah, I couldn't do that".

Last Friday I did. I asked for two things, an old external modem he might have lying around, something he could just let me 'have', as the previous IT person (a woman, not a 'guy') had done a few years ago, and could he help me start Windows, as I'd fucked it up and it wouldn't start.

Answers were, he might have a modem, he'd have a look, and I should bring in the PC, he'd also have a look.

A guy in another department also said he'd try to help - he's in school to study computers, so sure, he sounded knowledgeable, and was more approachable.

Today I hefted the PC to the cube, the guy from the other department looked at it at lunch, and we got our signals crossed so I didn't know he was looking at it, I came on home for lunch. He said he couldn't fix it, it was password protected or something, and he couldn't get in to move the file or whatever, most of it over my head, whatever he said.

Meanwhile, before we talked, I took it to the IT guy, not knowing the other guy had taken a look. He said he'd look, and he came to me later asking where I'd put the file after I moved it, but that being in January, and I didn't write that part down (every other error message, yes), I said I had no idea, and couldn't he search, and he tromped off (is tromp a word?) and said, "I'll find it".

And he did.

He came by at the end of the day and said it was ready to go, my PC. I wanted to give him a big hug, but he and I don't relate quite like that, although I've actually always been attracted to him, he is very much like someone I once dated, very much, physically. I thanked him profusely, he told me the hard drive is almost gone, he said it makes too much noise, it's not as fast as it should be, considering the MGHZ, that his at home is the same speed and it flies, and this one doesn't.

Did you catch that? "THIS" one? I'm on it. And it feels really weird. It's the other keyboard, the one that's been sitting since January, and the mouse, which actually feels weird, the roller ball sticks, and everything looks different, the font is a different size, the image doesn't fit my monitor as well, and I have 'task scheduler' in my tray and I don't remember putting it there.

I haven't even gone to Windows Explorer yet. And the main problem, the problem that had me checking out web sites looking for help, and moving that file upon someone's recommendation in the first place, which is what fucked it all up, is that the animated cursors are not animated anymore. That was the whole problem. And it still is. But it's so minor, I don't think I care.

However, Netscape has already crashed on me once. So far, and that's just in about half an hour.

Point is, I'm on the other computer. After six months, all I had to do was ask him if he could fix it, bring it in, and he'd fix it. I could've done it six months ago. This illustrates a good point, I am terrible at asking for help. I feel like I'm putting people out, like I'll owe them, etc. And I told him I do, owe him. First I asked how much I owed him, and with a very straight face he told me it was $50 an hour, so he'd have to figure it. Then I said, "I owe you" and he said, "No you don't, you don't owe me anything", and he hung by his fingers from the top of the doorjam, and I could see the inside of his upper arm, really muscular and taut, and I must've been obvious the way I was looking, maybe like a wolf licking her chops.

Now I'm trying to decide what to do. I just bought the modem for the other one, and I was SO used to using it, all my emails are on there from the past six months. Do I transfer them here? Is he right? Is this hard drive about to die?

And why is it when I hold my cursor over the connecting computers icon in the tray I see that I'm connecting at 26400 bps, but on the other one, with the new modem, I'm connecting at 115200? How is that possible? This one is slower?

I've had this huge headache, big fat tension headache for hours, and now I'm so wrapped up in this thing, but I need to recognize my pain and deal with it, take my eyes away, rest all over. Figuring it all out can wait. I have two computers again. One for backup.

I'm going to see if I can listen to my MP3s...

(This keyboard and mouse are really wonky, by the way, must replace if I intend to use further)

Cost of the War in Iraq
(JavaScript Error)

Run, Kitty, Run!

Previous - Next

New - 2012 - 2009 - 2008 - 2007 - 2006 - 2005 - 2004 - 2003 - 2002 - 2001 - Profile - Contact - Notes - Rings - Diaryland - Favourite Entries - ReadMe - Surveys - Random Entry

Recent Entries:

It Was 40 Years Ago Today - 9:44 a.m. , Friday, Oct. 12, 2012

Dead Black Cat - 9:07 a.m. , Wednesday, Jan. 25, 2012

As Seen From Outer Space - 1:07 a.m. , Saturday, Dec. 05, 2009

I Survived to Tell the Tale - 7:29 a.m. , Friday, Sept. 18, 2009

Reading My Life - 12:55 p.m. , Saturday, Sept. 12, 2009

Happy Kitty

My Diary Was Reviewed at Ms Lovejoy's - Get Yours Reviewed Too!

Registered I was a nominee