Sunday, Jun. 15, 2003 / 9:52 p.m.

~My Money Was Sucked From Me~

I saw my first firefly of the season tonight. Although the season is technically Spring, what I mean is Summer. I love fireflies. There's something about them that is familiar, welcoming, comfortable, like the Sun rising every morning and setting every night, fireflies appearing one night in June, suddenly, slowly flying around, or hovering, lighting up every so often. Nice.

I'm broiling a steak.

The reason I detest malls, the reason I hesitate to 'shop', for anything, ever, is this: My money is sucked from me, almost against my will.

I only went to the mall to get my friend a gift card to a baby clothing store. That's it. Of course I had to 'stop in' Pottery Barn, because, well, because I love their catalog. And of course they had to have that purple chenille covered pillow I love so much and have always coveted, on SALE, and some really cool vintage milk label glasses, also on SALE, and so I had to spend some $35 dollars there.

And then I was too late for one movie, then too late for the other, so I went to the other mall across the street (I know!), and hung out, bought a way expensive sandwich and lemonade, but nothing else. Whew.

But then! I had to hang out at Borders to kill time before the next showing of the movie I'd wanted to see all along, and I had to buy this really fun little book on cocktails for women, what's it called?, oh, let me grab it....

Highballs High Heels - a girl's guide to the art of cocktails, that's it. I loved it when I saw it, just laid on top of books on pasta in the cooking section, it sort of called out to me, "Buuuuuyyyyyy me......", and I did. And a big book on Thai cooking, for only $5.99, and when books are big and cheap, well, what are you gonna do? Buy 'em! Two CDs too, on SALE of course, because we all know that when we buy things on SALE we save money, even if we'd never have bought them otherwise.

Neil Young's "Harvest" (to supplement my copy on vinyl) and a John Coltrane 'Best Of' jobbie. I have no idea if it will be good, but most likely, because John Coltrane can't be bad. Oh, and some really cute "French Kitty" cards, because retro kitties, especially kitties in Paris, are just too fucking cute. Fucking cute.

I'm such a sucker. If my sale had not already been rung up, I would've asked the cashier to throw in the little Jelly Belly tin, because HEY, it's a TIN, filled with JELLY BELLYS!!!!! How fucking cool is that? Get me out of stores, please, somebody. I'm a horrible impulse shopper. Horrible. Unless you're in retail, then I'm wonderful, I RULE!

I saw the movie, "Spellbound", documentary about national spelling bee contestants. It was funny, poignant, suspenseful, interesting, engaging, entertaining, unh huh, go see it.

Where oh where will I put my new glasses? I have no room in my cabinets, seriously. But I had to have them, they are so cool.

I was trying to remember the last time I visited either of the two malls, the cattycorner malls I went to today, and I couldn't remember. But the one, the first one, where I went to get the baby store gift card, my whole reason for entering a mall on a Sunday, was really cool, I wanted everything I saw. I mean there was really cool stuff, everywhere, and it was ALL for sale, and maybe a lot of it was ON SALE too.

I've spent a lot of money this weekend, shopping at Wal Mart on Friday, new modem yesterday, and today just impulsive buying, but I'm not unhappy, not completely.

This one kid in the spelling bee, this kid from India, has this really interesting father, a man who not only pushed and prodded his son to succeed, helping him completely all the way, hiring tutors, etc., but having good reasons, teaching his son a strong work ethic. And that man's father, the boy's paternal grandfather, was giong to buy food for 5,000 people in India if he won. Imagine the pressure. The boy is 12, but looks 15, is tall, has really funky ears that stick way out, and he's athletic, well liked, and can spell like a madman.

My steak is cooked, I must eat, as it grows later by the minute.

Cost of the War in Iraq
(JavaScript Error)

Run, Kitty, Run!

Previous - Next

New - 2012 - 2009 - 2008 - 2007 - 2006 - 2005 - 2004 - 2003 - 2002 - 2001 - Profile - Contact - Notes - Rings - Diaryland - Favourite Entries - ReadMe - Surveys - Random Entry

Recent Entries:

It Was 40 Years Ago Today - 9:44 a.m. , Friday, Oct. 12, 2012

Dead Black Cat - 9:07 a.m. , Wednesday, Jan. 25, 2012

As Seen From Outer Space - 1:07 a.m. , Saturday, Dec. 05, 2009

I Survived to Tell the Tale - 7:29 a.m. , Friday, Sept. 18, 2009

Reading My Life - 12:55 p.m. , Saturday, Sept. 12, 2009

Happy Kitty

My Diary Was Reviewed at Ms Lovejoy's - Get Yours Reviewed Too!

Registered I was a nominee