Saturday, Jun. 14, 2003 / 10:35 p.m.

~Modem Madness~

I am now the proud owner of two lightning-killed modems, and one brand spanking new modem, with lightning protection. But, it's not installed correctly, the software was too much for this PC, so I don't know it's connecting as fast as it should, or that the lightning protection is protecting, etc., etc.

I should pay more attention to what's going on outside, and not take so many chances with the weather. I swear, that storm Thursday didn't look bad, the sun was shining on my way home, there was a rainbow even. Little did I expect (obviously) a big flash of lightning with simultaneous crack of thunder, and sizzle in the modem. Fuck.

Sometimes I don't even think about spending money, I just do it, if it's something I want, or deem necessary, I do it.

On that note, I went to Wal Mart after work yesterday, supposedly looking for cheap modems and serial port/USB adapters, and ended up buying FIVE shirts for only $35. Now THAT's a good deal. One looked returned or something, sort of wrinkled a bit, unbuttoned a bit, and it had a red sticker over the price tag, $3. When I got to the cashier, she typed something in the register and it rang up at $1.50. Okay, see, not so bad (makes up for the money I spent on the modem today, right?). I didn't even try anything on, just grabbed five of these really 'neat' Summer shirts, short sleeves, different patterns, all cotton, and one with rayon mixed, embossed turtles, or embroidered, barely visible under the blue and green. I'm excited. New stuff to wear to work. I need new pants now, but everything I see is Capri or jeans. Must research. As always.

I've also wrenched my neck somehow and I've been in pain all day. Especially when I turn my head. Guess I just won't turn it.

There was a note, no there were two notes at the mailboxes yesterday, on the little bulletin board area, handwritten notes, anonymous pleas to keep our neighborhood safe for 'our kids', notes warning that it could have been "YOU" robbed the other night, not an off duty cop. I admit, if I let myself think about it, I'll freak out a little bit.

I'll never forget the night Terrence came back from South America, and came here to spend the night with me, um, on account of his house burned down while he was gone, and I hated him for sleeping with his little South American girlfriend, but I fucked him anyway, partly in anger.... I digress. He met me in the parking lot, and it was raining, and I had my umbrella up, of course, obscuring my vision. He called out to me, from the dark next to a car, or maybe his truck, and I jumped. He accused me of not being aware of my surroundings and I told him how safe I feel here, how I go out late at night sometimes and come home in the dark, early morning hours, and nothing's ever happened.

It feels different now.

I bought a new modem. And I installed it wrong. I should go visit the web site for the manufacturer....

Oh, one more thing, I watched a couple movies last night, while I was enjoying what it feels like not to have Interweb access (one can get more 'done', one can watch more TV, and one can move about more) - one being "Joy Ride", a take on the classic "Duel", but fun, suspenseful, entertaining completely. I recommend.

Cost of the War in Iraq
(JavaScript Error)

Run, Kitty, Run!

Previous - Next

New - 2012 - 2009 - 2008 - 2007 - 2006 - 2005 - 2004 - 2003 - 2002 - 2001 - Profile - Contact - Notes - Rings - Diaryland - Favourite Entries - ReadMe - Surveys - Random Entry

Recent Entries:

It Was 40 Years Ago Today - 9:44 a.m. , Friday, Oct. 12, 2012

Dead Black Cat - 9:07 a.m. , Wednesday, Jan. 25, 2012

As Seen From Outer Space - 1:07 a.m. , Saturday, Dec. 05, 2009

I Survived to Tell the Tale - 7:29 a.m. , Friday, Sept. 18, 2009

Reading My Life - 12:55 p.m. , Saturday, Sept. 12, 2009

Happy Kitty

My Diary Was Reviewed at Ms Lovejoy's - Get Yours Reviewed Too!

Registered I was a nominee