Monday, Sept. 20, 2004 / 7:12 p.m.

~Autumn, Pre-Equinox~

Which is the preferred? Leftover pizza heated or eaten cold? Pizza is a bit like French fries in that it has no legs upon which to stand, doesn't last long. It becomes something totally different after the fact. Cold, it's a different food, reheated as well.

I'm eating mine cold.

I don't think it's too early to say the weather broke. I was about to go with a 'water breaking birthing' analogy, but decided against it. I do just write in a free flowing manner after all, but I tend to proofread and edit much later. Never satisfied to leave typos intact, though once I was reading a really old entry and left a typo therein. I figured it had been there long enough, might as well leave it.

Today I came home at lunch and saw two red flyers on two different neighbors' doors. I had to look, to see what they were, as I didn't get one, and neither did anyone else. Delinquent utility payments. And I thought no one lived there. So many empty apartments around here.

I'm drifting, and I think I had a point. The weather, yes, that's it. This morning I wore a jacket to work. I've left my sandals on top of the stack of newspapers by the door. I slept in flannel pajamas two nights ago, last night in long pants and t-shirt. It's chilly, in the 50s at night, and while this is to be expected every year, just as the sun does rise each morning, whether we can see it or not, it seems sudden.

Summer lasts so long here, from late March to early October, yet when the sky turns from that hazy smog-filled white to clear crystal blue, and the wind blows constantly, the sound of the leaves blowing sounding like paper crackling, the air almost thin it's so dry, it's rejuvenating. I knew it would happen post-Hurricane du jour, when it was over, I knew it would be like this, we'd get it, Autumn would be here, arrive, just like every year, yet it startled just the same.

I find I just want to look at it. I just want to turn and stare out the nearest window, or step out to feel how light the wind is, hear the leaves blowing, see the sky, the SKY again after all this time.

The a/c is off, the windows are open, and I almost need socks to warm my toes inside at night. Change is good. Changing seasons reminds me there is something bigger at work here, Nature makes things happen, not just hurricanes and the heat of summer, but harvest time and the hibernation of living things.

It's nice, that's all, it's just nice.

More cold pizza, more air to feel on my skin, and more planning for my own life, and how I might change, where I need to be going, and how I should get there.

Cost of the War in Iraq
(JavaScript Error)

Run, Kitty, Run!

Previous - Next

New - 2012 - 2009 - 2008 - 2007 - 2006 - 2005 - 2004 - 2003 - 2002 - 2001 - Profile - Contact - Notes - Rings - Diaryland - Favourite Entries - ReadMe - Surveys - Random Entry

Recent Entries:

It Was 40 Years Ago Today - 9:44 a.m. , Friday, Oct. 12, 2012

Dead Black Cat - 9:07 a.m. , Wednesday, Jan. 25, 2012

As Seen From Outer Space - 1:07 a.m. , Saturday, Dec. 05, 2009

I Survived to Tell the Tale - 7:29 a.m. , Friday, Sept. 18, 2009

Reading My Life - 12:55 p.m. , Saturday, Sept. 12, 2009

Happy Kitty

My Diary Was Reviewed at Ms Lovejoy's - Get Yours Reviewed Too!

Registered I was a nominee