2001-11-26 / 7:24 p.m.

~"Barbarella", "Kama Sutra", and the End of a Five Day Vacation, All While the Earth is Hurtling Toward the Sun~

I was going to sit here naked to write this, and I would've started off saying, "I'm sitting here naked to write this", but I didn't, I mean, I got dressed, but I was wandering around naked, and yes, it is nice, it does feel pretty good, but mostly I did it because it's awfully warm in here, and I don't want to turn on the A/C because it's nice that right now I'm not paying a hefty electric bill, nor a hefty gas bill, which it seems I am always doing, one or the other, and because it's not quite that warm, you know?

That was a long run-on sentence, my favorite kind.

But yes, this weather is crazy. The Earth has left its orbit and we are hurtling towards the sun, as Dave Letterman used to say. I believe this to be true.

It's been raining a bit, so it's kind of mucky outside, the air is thick again, and when I stepped on to the porch earlier, thinking I'd let in some fresh, and hopefully cooler, air, I smelled exhaust, muck, smoky, nasty smells, like a week or so ago when it all hung in the air like brown soup.

So, I was walking around naked, inside, and then took a bath, and was going to go to Wal Mart, since I'm apparently not going to Publix, and I decided I could get a lot more of what I need at Wal Mart, but then I realized I spent a long time reading my EW in the bathtub, and I could never get in and out of Wal Mart in the time I have before "Barbarella" starts on the Oxygen network.

And I thought Ted Turner had sole rights to his ex's movies.....Oh well. That was sad, their breakup, I loved Ted and Jane together...

Anyway, yes, I saw "Barbarella" for the first time when it was new to theatres, so when was that? 1960something? '69? (1968, it's definite) I don't know, but my mom always dragged us to the movies she wanted to see, and yeah, I guess she liked movies, a lot. So, we went to the drive-in and saw "Barbarella", and that scene with the dolls with chomping jaws and sharp teeth scared the shit out of me! But I loved it, thought Jane was someone to aspire to be like.

I adored Jane Fonda growing up, adored! I wanted to be her, in "Cat Ballou" especially. So, "Barbarella" is a special movie for me, it takes me back to my childhood, it's total escapist camp trifle, and it's eye candy as well. It's FUN! It's what every movie should be, adventure, attractive actors, a little sex, a little suspense, and outfits with plastic bubbles for breasts to fit into. And let's not forget the golden "fur" lining her spaceship walls! And "exultation transference pellets"! Oh yeah! And....Duran Duran, the inventor of the positronic ray!

So, that's coming on in just a bit, and I'll watch, for my millionth viewing, or something close to it.

This reminds me.....there was a guy, and I want to say his whole name, because it's how I think of him, and would that be wrong? No. Gordon Manning Collins. Isn't that a delicious name? Ugh....I wanted us to work, but we only went out a handful of times. I was convinced he was an alcoholic, and he was in denial, and I didn't trust him, etc., but we had fun, for a bit. Anyway, we were talking one night when I had him over here for dinner, and I mentioned "Barbarella" and how I watch it every time it comes on TV, and he said, "Me too!", or something to that effect, and I thought, Oh, how great is this, this guy is like my age, we have so much in common, and he loves "Barbarella" as much as I do! Perfect!

But of course it wasn't perfect, and it's a long story, or at least too long to write here, now. But I remember him fondly, even if he did stand me up on Christmas, yes he did. No hard feelings, none at all.

Last night I watched a good movie, "Kama Sutra". It's Indian, of course, and the plot revolves around two women in 14th Century (?) India, one a princess, the other her servant, two women who grow up together. So, the princess is married off to the King, and the servant sleeps with the King on the princess' wedding night, before she gets to sleep with him! In fact, she never does sleep with him. The King takes one courtesan after another, eventually the servant girl, who is initially banished, meets up with a stone sculptor, the most handsome man possibly ever to act in a film (Ramon someone....can't remember the last name)!!!!!!, and stays in a commune for aspiring courtesans.

Eventually the King comes looking for her, because, you see, he is smitten, totally in lust, cannot function, and he wrestles the handsome stone sculptor a few times, for the servant/courtesan's honor, or something. But oh, the costumes, the colors, the music of the tabla drums, the ambiance, the scenery, the actors, the adornments, the beauty, the SEX! Yeah, baby! My favorite position is featured often, the lap sitting posture, wherein the woman sits facing the man on his crossed legs, or his legs are stretched out in front and hers are crossed behind his back. Either way, it's good, it's heavenly, spiritual, it's part of the Kama Sutra.

This was a good movie, it had a lot going for it, even tragedy, of course, for these lovers are all star-crossed, aren't they? See it, it's on video.

I have email. I should check it. Some from the stranger, and what could he possibly want? To go to another hockey game? Does he need me to be his beard again? Hmmmm....

Right, so watching "Kama Sutra" made me think of sex, duh, and made me want it again, and reminded me of the last good sex I had, of Terrence, of how we made love in that position numerous times, we made love hard and fast, and slow and easy, oh, we had lots and lots of sex, and it was really good, and when it was over, us, I missed the sex more than him, because he was never right, and I knew that, I just tried to forget while I was with him.

Maybe I'll have sex again one day. Maybe.

Man, that actor, that Ramon what's his name, omigod, he is so beautiful, I'm not kidding, dark skin, beautiful cheekbones, lips, eyes, long, long, long black hair, incredible body, ugh, incredible. Oh, see this movie, anyone reading this, see it, I really don't think you'll be disappointed, man or woman. There is something for everyone. Truly.

It also reminded me of Anne Rice's Sleeping Beauty books. The soft core D&S, S&M books - they were so filled with annointing of bodies, spreading of oils, and powders, and jewels, making women look beautiful and enticing, allowing them to submit, yet all the while maintaining such power. Those books were mighty good as well.....

Okay, I'm checking this email because the mailbox icon thing keeps flashing, and then I'm going to watch "Barbarella" because it is SO good (there is a "Barbarella" fan site on the 'net, I forget the address right now, but I went there once and downloaded a shitload of .wav files from the movie - for a while everything I did on this PC elicited some sound byte from the film, it was too funny!), and I'm going to reflect on what a fantastic vacation from work I've had, no longer feeling bad about re-designing my diary, nor goofing off.

I actually got some things done too, got offline last night and vacuumed, washed dishes, did a couple loads of laundry, and today I had the day off too, and I paid all my bills (something I usually do at work - I actually like my cube, it's well lit and has lots of desk space), and watched "GL" and read a bit, and it hasn't been bad, not at all. I've watched a few movies, gone to a couple too, so it's been fruitful. So I didn't dust, so what? The dust is not going anywhere.

And....I have five more days off for Christmas!!!!!!

Cost of the War in Iraq
(JavaScript Error)

Run, Kitty, Run!

Previous - Next

New - 2012 - 2009 - 2008 - 2007 - 2006 - 2005 - 2004 - 2003 - 2002 - 2001 - Profile - Contact - Notes - Rings - Diaryland - Favourite Entries - ReadMe - Surveys - Random Entry

Recent Entries:

It Was 40 Years Ago Today - 9:44 a.m. , Friday, Oct. 12, 2012

Dead Black Cat - 9:07 a.m. , Wednesday, Jan. 25, 2012

As Seen From Outer Space - 1:07 a.m. , Saturday, Dec. 05, 2009

I Survived to Tell the Tale - 7:29 a.m. , Friday, Sept. 18, 2009

Reading My Life - 12:55 p.m. , Saturday, Sept. 12, 2009

Happy Kitty

My Diary Was Reviewed at Ms Lovejoy's - Get Yours Reviewed Too!

Registered I was a nominee