2001-09-27 / 11:07 p.m.

~Briefly~

I came really close to not writing at all, but I have some sort of compulsion with this diary, so here I am, not wanting to miss an entry. I imagine I'll be skipping Saturday, and maybe tomorrow too, not sure yet.

Everything was fucked at work today, all day. The server which handles our phones was hit with the worm or something, and that included our tracking program. No phones, no computers, I don't even know how we spent the day. I got online on my break and saved some articles to disk, then printed them out and passed them around a bit. Stuff from R.A.W.A. - Revolutionary Association of Women in Afghanistan, news articles, etc. I was intense about it all for a bit. Printing, reading, passing them out. Disseminating info.

K. felt stabbing pains in her side, went to the doctor at lunch and did not return. She won't be going to D.C. - not that she is not true to her word, but I swear that every time we make plans something always comes up. Seriously, something always prevents her from sticking it out. However, I do not want her on a van for hours and hours if she has appendicitis or something.

Meanwhile, Keya expressed a desire to go, so she will take K.'s place. She is in the "grey area", she says, not sure how she feels, but young, 21 years old, wanting to experience the experience of rallying, or marching, of meeting people, of learning. I warned her what we may encounter, how it may be, how it may not be fun, it may be arduous, tiring, difficult in general, but she wants to go.

I have a new demonstration buddy. We shall see.

We left work an hour early again. Why we stayed 7 hours is beyond me. I had a total of 4 phones calls, re-routed calls, mostly verifications for pilots - the company we are under contract with flies planes as part of its duties and the pilots are now required to have extra ID at the airports suddenly. I printed out a couple verifications for them, but without our regular system up and running they were done in EXCEL and looked kinda crappy. I hope they don't get shit for it. I mean, get into shit, like get hassled or anything.

I'm feeling like I'm coming down with "something" too. Headachy, fuzzy head, nose, achy shoulders, back, neck, lots of neck and head pain, exhaustion. I loaded up on the echinacea once again, double dosed on C too. Hopefully I'll nip it in the bud, or come back from D.C. and be sick. Either way.

I made a sign too, but it doesn't look too hot so I may not take it. However, I did make a sign, and that's something, right? It is a large peace symbol with the words: "War is NOT the Answer" over it, and at the bottom is "Islam is NOT the Enemy", like the graphic on my page here. It kind of looks like the Islam part was an afterthought, and maybe it was, but I suck at sign making, so I don't know. I tried. I want to make a statement, I want to say that War is never the answer, more killing is not the solution, diplomacy, aid to foreign countries, and maybe helping the Northern Alliance take over the government of Afghanistan? I don't know, that's like Viet Nam then, isn't it? I don't know the solution, I just know killing a lot of innocent people is not the way to go.

So we'll be on one of two vans tomorrow, and the email I got from Diann tonight says they're full!!! Yay!!! She says we have Europeans, African-Americans, even Alabamans! And Floridians! Whoo hoo. It will be good, I hope.

I'm just hoping everything at work is still fucked tomorrow so they let us go, and I can use yet another vacation day. No point in saving them forever........and no point keeping us there to chat all day, on the clock. Good god, how did we spend our time today??? I don't even remember.

(Oh, people have been joining my diaryrings like crazy! Especially the "Activist" ring - I wonder how many are being active on this issue.....)

Cost of the War in Iraq
(JavaScript Error)

Run, Kitty, Run!

Previous - Next

New - 2012 - 2009 - 2008 - 2007 - 2006 - 2005 - 2004 - 2003 - 2002 - 2001 - Profile - Contact - Notes - Rings - Diaryland - Favourite Entries - ReadMe - Surveys - Random Entry

Recent Entries:

It Was 40 Years Ago Today - 9:44 a.m. , Friday, Oct. 12, 2012

Dead Black Cat - 9:07 a.m. , Wednesday, Jan. 25, 2012

As Seen From Outer Space - 1:07 a.m. , Saturday, Dec. 05, 2009

I Survived to Tell the Tale - 7:29 a.m. , Friday, Sept. 18, 2009

Reading My Life - 12:55 p.m. , Saturday, Sept. 12, 2009

Happy Kitty

My Diary Was Reviewed at Ms Lovejoy's - Get Yours Reviewed Too!

Registered I was a nominee