Friday, Nov. 07, 2008 / 10:34 p.m.

~Broken Record-O-Rama~

Every time I pay a visit to our dear Diaryland I am compelled to note the same observations: hey, this place never changes! The home page? Oh Em Gee! It's exactly the same as when I signed up seven years ago. Hasn't the Interweb changed by leaps and bounds since then? Hey, now there are little bitty portable telephones that play movies and stuff too, without cords, that receive signals from radio waves (they cause brain tumors too!), but Diaryland stays the same. Always will, it looks like.

But, alas, it is still here.

And the other observation each time I visit? My stuff is still here, it's always still here. I downloaded it all, en masse, a few years ago, but since then I've added an entry here and there, mostly to note how I can't believe it's all still here, and Diaryland looks exactly the same.

New observation? My writing is exactly the same. The slang, the idioms, the anger, the bitterness, the longing, the loneliness, the cats, the television... a new cat now, new shows, of course, but the rest? A different job for the past three years, but it might as well be exactly the same.

Except this job has Interweb access. This job pays more. And this job has a whole different set of obnoxiously confounding coworkers. Some of whom I like... on some days. See? Exactly the same. I never change. My life never changes, it's all still exactly the same. Except... I'm older now. I'm more tired now. I don't protest now. I give in. I acquiesce, on nearly every level.

I voted Third Party, I am close to being a Green Party member, but I cried during Obama's victory speech. That bit of history happened on the same day Californians voted to ban same sex marriage. We make strides, we never move forward. We will never change, but we are in the midst of it.

Have we yet learned why we are here? Life goes on, doesn't it? It just keeps on going. We get older, we get sick, we will die. I heard a great quote today, attributed to Tom Waits, "Most of my friends are dead... or not feeling very well." - that sort of says it all, doesn't it?

Okay, not really, but every time I think to come to Diaryland, the land of diaries, the land before "blogs"... I see that it's all still exactly the same, and all my stuff is still here, and I think that really, in the proverbial long run, I take tremendous comfort in that.

Cost of the War in Iraq
(JavaScript Error)

Run, Kitty, Run!

Previous - Next

New - 2012 - 2009 - 2008 - 2007 - 2006 - 2005 - 2004 - 2003 - 2002 - 2001 - Profile - Contact - Notes - Rings - Diaryland - Favourite Entries - ReadMe - Surveys - Random Entry

Recent Entries:

It Was 40 Years Ago Today - 9:44 a.m. , Friday, Oct. 12, 2012

Dead Black Cat - 9:07 a.m. , Wednesday, Jan. 25, 2012

As Seen From Outer Space - 1:07 a.m. , Saturday, Dec. 05, 2009

I Survived to Tell the Tale - 7:29 a.m. , Friday, Sept. 18, 2009

Reading My Life - 12:55 p.m. , Saturday, Sept. 12, 2009

Happy Kitty

My Diary Was Reviewed at Ms Lovejoy's - Get Yours Reviewed Too!

Registered I was a nominee