Sunday, Sept. 08, 2002 / 2:55 p.m.

~But Do They Eat Tabouli In Tblisi? I Told You I Could Cook~

I believe absence can make the heart grow fonder. Not always, but often. It's best to take a break from that which one loves, then return to find feelings renewed, reinvigorated. This is the case with me and Moby's latest album, "18". Oh, I hated it at first, then I listened to it again and again, until it was like a drug of which I had to have a 'fix'. Then I grew tired, I became sick of the melodies, the instrumentation, the symphonic sound, the sound of Moby's voice, everything about it.

It's almost through playing now, after close to an hour, and I'm in love with it again. "18" is one of the most beautiful albums ever recorded. And the lyric, "At least we died together, holding hands, flying through the sky", which of course is changed on the album to be, "At least we were together..." is the perfect backdrop to the WTC towers collapsing (you know, because people actually did that, they held hands and flew through the sky that day, to their deaths - oooh, it's intense to think about). This is why Moby changed it for the album, it was too intense. But he sang it live at his concert, on his whole tour, and he used the original lyrics. Chilling. The song is "Sleep Alone". I just paused to put it on again.

I also paused to turn on the a/c. I've had it off so far today because it's really nice outside. But now it's gotten hot.

I awoke early, early for me on a Sunday, around 11:30, and I couldn't really sleep after that. I kept thinking of all I wanted to do, all I needed to do. So I got up and made coffee and sat on the porch with the girls, mostly just staring at the trees as they moved with the wind, but eventually reading more of the 'penis book', the final chapter on solutions for erectile dysfunction, etc. Sort of boring at this point, but I do want to finish it.

I took pictures with my digital camera, of the porch, the girls, me, the trees, and I will upload later if they're good.

Yesterday, hah!, you thought I was talking out my ass all this time, I know, but I finally went to the Farmer's Market, known more commonly by another name I will omit here, for the sake of my semi-anonymity, but anyway, yeah, I spent $118. on all kinds of good crap!

My most expensive items were a ribeye steak about 4 inches thick, costing some $14. I came home and cut it into three steaks, froze two and I'll eat one tonight. Wow, me, steak. And a box containing a Charles Chips tin and two bags of chips, for some $8 or $9.

When I was 10 years old my best friend's family got Charles Chips delivered, they came in a big tin, and I thought that was the COOLEST thing ever. We'd sit with the tin and go crazy eating those chips. I loved them. And I was so jealous that they had chip fucking delivery.

I always wanted my own Charles Chips tin and now I have one. La de da. I debated, in the store, but I went all through, shopped for every item, then came back and grabbed it. Fun!

I have pictures of Gladys sitting on the box in the kitchen. Again, uploading to be completed later. Stay tuned!

So, I bought asparagus, three different colors bell peppers: orange, purple, green, broccoli, shiitakes, a funky red pear, plums, oranges, organic eggs from free range chickens, said ribeye (Coleman organic beef), Boar's Head bacon, Hebrew National hot dogs, it goes on and on and on. Let's not forget the almond croissants and the herb cheese bread, the bocconcini (the little fresh mozzarella balls I always have trouble spelling). Wow. I had so much fun!

But now I'm sort of overwhelmed with knowing I have to cook all this shit! I'm trying to think of the best ways to utilize everything quickly so nothing goes bad. Tonight, later, will be steak, pan fried in olive oil, no doubt with fresh garlic and lots of pepper, not sure what else, probably sauteed asparagus and a big salad with those peppers, some white mushrooms, celery.

And now, now, now, I am taking a break from tearing mint leaves and parsley off of stems, half a cup of one, one cup of the other.... for..... yes, that's right, Tabouli. I've been wanting to make it all Summer, and here I am now, finally, making my favorite Tabouli recipe in the whole wide world. I'm waiting for the bulghur to soak, the tofu to drain a bit. I drain it on paper towels 'til it is as dry as I can get it. Tofu in Tabouli? Yeah! Here's the recipe:

1 cup bulghur wheat
1 cup fresh parsley, finely chopped (I'm lazy with 'fine' chopping)
1/2 cup fresh mint, finely chopped (ditto)
8 oz. firm tofu, finely chopped (no, not too fine, that would be gross - I say diced)
2 tomatoes (I've been known to use cherry tomatoes here... but whatever kind you like)
1/2 cup black olives, chopped
1/4 cup fresh lemon juice
1/4 cup scallions, chopped
2 Tbsp olive oil
1/2 tsp salt
1/4 tsp black pepper, freshly ground

Place the bulghur in two cups of boiling water, turn off heat and soak for one hour. Drain well.
Add rest of ingredients and mix thoroughly.

The bitch is tearing the leaves of the mint and the parsley. I don't like the stems in there, so I am really careful to remove only the leaves. This takes a LONG time. But it's always worth it. And I make sure to drain the bulghur and the tofu on paper towels, really well. It's best if the ingredients are really dry so they soak up the lemon juice and olive oil. And I always adjust the amounts of each to match my mood. This is a great recipe, really, I got it from Vegetarian Gourmet magazine years ago.

So. That's what I am doing. The bulghur is almost through soaking.

I watched Serena beat Venus last night in the US Open. She wore her same little black unitard thingie, and the announcer said she designs her own tennis wear, they both do. Okay. I wanted Venus to win, I guess because she's skinnier.

Tonight I plan to watch the Agassi/Sampras match, if for no other reason than these guys are old for tennis players, 31 and 32, and they've been around a LONG time. I'm curious to see how fast their serves are, compared to Serena's. She hit 120 mph last night. Isn't that amazing? Yeah, I thought so.

Oh, oh, oh, I talked to Central-Red (who probably uses her real name on Diaryland, but I don't know if I should use it, I can't remember if she minds) on AIM last night, really late, like 'til 4:00 a.m. I like her a lot, and she writes an excellent diary, I've been a fan for a long time now. We share the same birthday, a love of Jeff Buckley and Miles Davis, and cats, and many other things. Very fun to chat on the ol' Instant Messenger. I don't normally do that, but I make exceptions. I spoke to St James that way recently too. Another very groovy cat. (Am I in Sammy Davis Jr mode here all of a sudden?)

Okay, Gladys is sitting on the Charles Chips tin box (yes, I will open it and fill it with chips soon, not yet though) in the kitchen, waiting for me to finish my Tabouli, so off I go.

Cost of the War in Iraq
(JavaScript Error)

Run, Kitty, Run!

Previous - Next

New - 2012 - 2009 - 2008 - 2007 - 2006 - 2005 - 2004 - 2003 - 2002 - 2001 - Profile - Contact - Notes - Rings - Diaryland - Favourite Entries - ReadMe - Surveys - Random Entry

Recent Entries:

It Was 40 Years Ago Today - 9:44 a.m. , Friday, Oct. 12, 2012

Dead Black Cat - 9:07 a.m. , Wednesday, Jan. 25, 2012

As Seen From Outer Space - 1:07 a.m. , Saturday, Dec. 05, 2009

I Survived to Tell the Tale - 7:29 a.m. , Friday, Sept. 18, 2009

Reading My Life - 12:55 p.m. , Saturday, Sept. 12, 2009

Happy Kitty

My Diary Was Reviewed at Ms Lovejoy's - Get Yours Reviewed Too!

Registered I was a nominee