2001-09-15 / 12:52 p.m.

~Calm and Rational - Links~

Thanks to this entry by Bathsheba for some great links! I'd tell her directly, thank Ms. Bathsheba herself, but she doesn't respond to me anymore. I feel slighted when I reach out to someone and I'm ignored, but I still appreciate her writing, read her diary regularly and understand that there is something about my internet presence or need to know her that she finds annoying or intrusive. Understood.

Still, she lists some links to weblogs written by New Yorkers, and they're very interesting, very enlightening, and I recommend that anyone reading this go visit them. Go visit some alternative news sources as well, such as Antiwar.com.

I re-read my own entries last night, from the day of the attack to the present, and it was interesting to gauge my own reaction. The first was shock, a nightmarish shock, a desire for it all to be just that, only a sort of collective dream or nightmare, and a hope that we would all wake up soon. Then I felt some anger, but toward my own government, toward my own country. I never have felt, and still don't feel, in all of this, patriotism or a desire to stand behind the USA. More likely, as time passes, I am disgusted and repulsed at our reaction as a "nation".

My own Senator, Zell Miller, for whom I voted to be governor of this state, not once, but twice, when interviewed said, (a DIRECT quote) "I say, bomb the hell out of them. If there's collateral damage, so be it. They certainly found our civilians to be expendable." This is from my US Senator.

So, the common opinion now is that we need to just go in and kill a bunch of people of Islamic faith in a country in the Middle East, most likely Afghanistan because that is where the most widely known terrorist lives now. So we should fly overhead, high in the sky, with fighter jets, bomber jets and drop bombs on select "targets", collateral damage be damned.

USA does this all the time. We're used to bombing people. Whether it's our war or someone else's.

Let's leave god out of it. There is no god, most likely, just the collective us, and if there were a god it would not condone this sort of thing. This is just insane. I'll be cruising websites as much as I can, finding the people who are organizing and I intend to speak out about this with them, not that we can change what's about to happen, but we can voice our disgust, as one. There will be an ever-growing number of world citizens speaking out against this violent reaction to violence, no doubt, and I plan to join them.

I wrote a few days ago that I trusted my government would take appropriate action, whether I agreed with it or not, and now I realize I was in a way looking to my government for comfort, but still I wasn't completely trusting. Now I am reading, learning more and more of what we have done in the Middle East for years, I'm no longer turning away from that which I haven't understood, and I am not going to wear red, white and blue, I am not going to wave a flag, a symbol of all the wars we have fought, all the blood we have shed, I am going to stand up and shout that WAR IS NOT THE ANSWER!

Cost of the War in Iraq
(JavaScript Error)

Run, Kitty, Run!

Previous - Next

New - 2012 - 2009 - 2008 - 2007 - 2006 - 2005 - 2004 - 2003 - 2002 - 2001 - Profile - Contact - Notes - Rings - Diaryland - Favourite Entries - ReadMe - Surveys - Random Entry

Recent Entries:

It Was 40 Years Ago Today - 9:44 a.m. , Friday, Oct. 12, 2012

Dead Black Cat - 9:07 a.m. , Wednesday, Jan. 25, 2012

As Seen From Outer Space - 1:07 a.m. , Saturday, Dec. 05, 2009

I Survived to Tell the Tale - 7:29 a.m. , Friday, Sept. 18, 2009

Reading My Life - 12:55 p.m. , Saturday, Sept. 12, 2009

Happy Kitty

My Diary Was Reviewed at Ms Lovejoy's - Get Yours Reviewed Too!

Registered I was a nominee