2001-09-14 / 8:36 p.m.

~Covert Ops vs. Pacifism....and James Bond~

Reading Provisional's latest entry got me thinking (and yeah, I love it when people link to me in their entries!), so I had to write more. Maybe just to work this out in my head, like he is working it out in his head.

I grew up watching James Bond movies. When I was about 10 years old I was in love with Roger Moore as James Bond. Seems strange now, as he is in fact the least appealing of all the Bonds, and as an adult woman I am totally hot for the early Sean Connery Bond ("Dr. No", "You Only Live Twice", and "Goldfinger", being my favorite Bond films), but I guess to a 10 year old me he was it.

Plus, "Live and Let Die" had that groovy Paul McCartney theme song, and my mom bought me the soundtrack album, and the lovely Jane Seymour played the lovely virgin tarot reader. It was a fun movie. I saw it over and over and over, in the theatres when it was new.

I even ordered the James Bond video collection once, from TV, when I was living with my ex-boyfriend, the long term relationship. He was known for being a sucker for television/mail/you name it offers, but this one was mine. Give my credit card number and I get a video every few weeks, keep the ones I want, send the others back (Yeah, right!), etc.

Anyway......Bond was the answer to international terrorism. Always. There's a badass, and he not only wants to destroy the free world, he wants to blow up the planet and live on the moon or something, or make all the gold at Fort Knox radioactive so people will turn to him for his riches, or some such shit, and Bond goes in and takes the guy out. The women are beautiful, Bond fucks them all and they love him for the opportunity to be fucked by him, and they maybe even think they can have him for their own, sometimes, and the only people who die are the really bad people, or the innocents, usually foreign or black, or just unfortunate.

I've always seen the concept of Bond as a possible reality. Provisional informs me now that this is illegal in America. We can kill thousands of people, collaterally, damaging them collaterally, as in murdering them, oopsy, in a war, all justified and everything, but we can't go in and take out the ringleader or we'll go to jail. The country will be put on trial and jailed, and knowing our new President, most likely we'll be executed.

Pretty smart, huh? Makes perfect sense.

I'm with Provisional on this, mostly, partially, for the most part. I really don't want us dropping bombs though, for to me this seems as cowardly as driving a plane into an office building. I say send in the SEALS, as he suggests. Send in someone, covert, anti-terrorism "experts", James Bond or otherwise. Take out the key players, leave the circumcised women out of it. Haven't they suffered enough? Don't kill their kids either. Try to deprogram them instead. Or, what ever happened to hand-to-hand combat? Why not let our trained soldiers fight their trained soldiers, something like "Braveheart"?

If Bush really wants to 'wipe out evil' and 'wipe out terrorism' we need to think this through. Start at the top and work our way down. Take out the head honchos, destroy the training camps, maybe take out a trainer or two, or scare them into coming over to our side (a lobotomy or two?), I don't know, then make them all watch "Barney" or "Teletubbies" or even hours and hours of Dan Rather until they're on our side. Okay, "Teletubbies" is British, I know, and is it even still on? And we all know Tinkie Winkie is gay - I know, we can "turn" them gay!

I'm getting silly, and beyond my point, but I do have a point. I declared myself a pacifist, then I advocate using anti-terrorist tactics to take out the supposed leader of the major terrorist movement, if there is just one major movement. I am still a pacifist, it's true, but I think if Hitler had been assassinated early on the whole Nazi thrill ride would'nt have been quite so appealing to your average SS man, yes?

Take one charismatic (it's claimed Bin Laden is NOT charismatic) sick evil fuck of a leader, Khomeni, Hussein, Bin Laden, etc., and get RID of him, and what have you got? A bunch of displaced cocksure soldiers, scrambling. I just realized I've been touting the James Bond solution since Khomeni! I just remembered....me, 17 years old or so, saying, "Well, why can't we get a James Bond like guy in there to take him out???" and my mom saying something like "We don't assassinate people" or maybe she said "Damn right, skippy", but she never called me skippy. I'm lost.

It just got me to thinking, that's all.

I used to be pro capital punishment, 'cause my mom was a confused liberal in favor of it and I adopted a lot of her viewpoints, but now I'm not so sure how I feel. I just don't like to kill anything anymore, I even avoid stepping on ants outside.

Maybe we could somehow capture Bin Laden or whoever, with the help of our Allies and THEIR James Bonds, and just leave him in a little room somewhere, slide him a crust of bread and a thimble of water every so often, like they did with Steve McQueen in "Papillon", until he is so broken....wait, was McQueen ever broken?

Oh hell, I hear the news is still on in the living room, no commercials, just Dan Rather for days. Peter Jennings slurs, and Brokaw is just an imitation of Jennings, or vice versa. Rather is "Uncle Dan", as my Pop and I used to call him.....god, I sound old. Walter Cronkite was "Uncle Walter", you know, so when Dan took over for him we called him "Uncle Dan"...guess you had to be there. I know I'm rambling now, but wasn't Walter Cronkite on the news too last night.....or did I dream it?

Here's something else (and really I should just keep a little notebook on me at all times so I can keep writing ALL the little "something else"s I keep coming up with!) I just remembered I wanted to write here.....I saw on the news tonight, you know, the "evening" news, before the "all night long" news, where the FBI knew about the hijackings early, like at the time they were happening, and they dispatched fighter jets to intercept them, but they couldn't get there fast enough. Right? This was on the CBS news tonight, detailing the bases from which the planes left, etc., and how they were too far, how far they were, like 70 miles, etc., etc., and how the point was brought up again how it was speculated that the Pennsylvania jet may have been shot down........

The FBI/government denies it.

Would they admit it if they had? Ask yourself that!

"I did NOT have sex with that woman".

Does your government always tell you the truth? Do you know how many people we've killed in foreign countries? Recently? They would not, as in NEVER, tell us if they are indeed responsible for that plane taking a nosedive instead of crashing into the White House. And put that in your pipe and smoke it. Think about it........

"Uh, gee, should we let them take out the White House???" "But, sir, there are U.S. citizens aboard that plane.....!" "Yeah, but, come on, dude, the White House!" "Okay, TAKE IT DOWN!"

Scary shit, huh?

All this rallying behind Bush and the government.......and we don't really know the details. As usual. We mustn't forget that blind trust in government "officials" is never a good idea...

Cost of the War in Iraq
(JavaScript Error)

Run, Kitty, Run!

Previous - Next

New - 2012 - 2009 - 2008 - 2007 - 2006 - 2005 - 2004 - 2003 - 2002 - 2001 - Profile - Contact - Notes - Rings - Diaryland - Favourite Entries - ReadMe - Surveys - Random Entry

Recent Entries:

It Was 40 Years Ago Today - 9:44 a.m. , Friday, Oct. 12, 2012

Dead Black Cat - 9:07 a.m. , Wednesday, Jan. 25, 2012

As Seen From Outer Space - 1:07 a.m. , Saturday, Dec. 05, 2009

I Survived to Tell the Tale - 7:29 a.m. , Friday, Sept. 18, 2009

Reading My Life - 12:55 p.m. , Saturday, Sept. 12, 2009

Happy Kitty

My Diary Was Reviewed at Ms Lovejoy's - Get Yours Reviewed Too!

Registered I was a nominee