Saturday, Mar. 23, 2002 / 10:45 a.m.

~Catching Up~

****FYI: Tonight's episode of "A Cook's Tour", at 11:00 p.m. on Food Network, should be the one from Tuesday night, repeated. If so, WATCH it! It's super cool.****

My big news stories:

I've got a date with a cable technician, some time between 1:00 and 5:00 p.m. Fun, huh?

It went from 82 degrees earlier in the week, down to the low 20s last night.

I wasn't online at ALL after work yesterday! Horrors!

I may actually accomplish some things today. I can feel it.

My Thrashers (see how they're MY Thrashers now?) kicked the Rangers' butts last night! I actually watched a whole game on TV for the first time since I don't know when - usually we suck so bad I have to change the channel - except for the last 3 minutes when I fell asleep, but it was excellent! We forechecked (reminds you of foreskin, I know, stop it!) all night, our defense in front of the new goalie, and right now I've already forgotten his name (comes with ageing), Cassivi?, was truly amazing, so amazing in fact that we don't really have an idea of how good the goalie is.

I have this terrible feeling that the cable person will be early. My horoscope says I should heed my fears and trepidations. Is this what it means? Will he/she really be an hour or more early?

It happened once. I'd just moved into the condo townhouse, the place I lived before here, I mean I'd JUST moved in, the day before, I'd passed out in a bed made with sheets that had been used in the move, sheets that somehow reeked of gasoline, and I was awakened from some odd dream by the sound of the doorbell. I literally stumbled down the stairs, which were very narrow and carpeted, with high risers, very hard to negotiate, always, but boy the cats loved them!, and there was the cable guy.

I told him, "You're an hour early", or however early he was, but it was really early, "I was asleep, you woke me up", and he said, "You want me to leave?". He was a wise ass, an Aries, I learned, yeah, we chatted. He put on little disposable booties over his shoes so he wouldn't mess up my carpet, and I was impressed. He was funny, considerate, young, cute, capable, and he hooked me up. With cable.

Today, well, you never know, do you? Do I? That's my point. We have yet another stranger entering our abode, soon, or maybe not until 5:00. We just don't know.

Man, yesterday morning I had bizarre dreams, and I fully blame it on the copious amount of Chinese food I consumed. Perhaps it was the garlic. Perhaps it was all that bacon. Perhaps...... it was just my addled brain. Is it addled? I don't know, but I dreamed my dead grandmother was in town visiting my brother and I only found out after the fact. She wasn't dead in the dream though. She called me, or I called her, and she was chastising me for not staying in touch. Said my brother did, stay in touch.

I told her the competition between us siblings was bad enough without her picking and choosing which of us she loves more, and she was telling me I'm selfish or something.... then I realize our phone call is being bugged and the former Big Corporation liaison at work, the one who used to be the go-between (duh, liaison, like I said) for us, the Outsourcing Company and the really Big Corporation, am I making sense?, but she doesn't work with us anymore, she's gone, but she's a lesbian, not that it matters, and the new liaison is too, more dykey, more butch, I think it's interesting, that's all, but she, the previous one, was in my dream bugging my phone, repeating snippets of what I'd said to my grandmother. Mocking me. Laughing.

What the fuck was THAT about? And, in reality, my grandmother disinherited my brother, left a ton of money to me, everything to me and her son, my uncle, well, he came to claim stuff anyway, but my brother was left with whatever we gave him, my grandmother wanted him to have nothing. I could tell you why, but I'd rather not. It's too personal for here. Yes, some things actually are.

As I made my coffee yesterday morning I simply decided I must have had a seizure in my sleep.

Yesterday was really uneventful, hence my not rushing to this computer to write all about it after work, hence my not even logging on at all, then feeling kind of weird about it, 'cause you know I like to be a daily updater and all, but I ordered food from Takeout Taxi, the really expensive food delivery service that has accesss to several very mediocre local restuarants for delivery in YOUR area. Or mine.

I splurged. I got a ribeye steak (take THAT, Roadiepig!) with grilled squash, like two whole crooknecks, er, yellow squashes, quartered, and peppers, and a HUGE mound of really good smashed potatoes. The steak was good, but kind of bloody, not the best steak, but I ate half, it was huge, and I'll fry it a bit today at some point before I finish it.

Oh, I also got a Crispy Chicken Salad, which I didn't even touch, but it's salad greens and fried rice noodles with mandarin orange slices, a peanut dressing, topped with crispy strips of chicken, sometimes very salty, but usually good. The chicken is warm, the salad cold, supposedly, but now it's all very cold in the fridge. Oops.

And, oh yeah, I was hungry!, Southwestern Egg Rolls, a signature dish at Chili's, and pretty good, or I wouldn't have ordered them. But I had one bite and scarfed down the steak half and potatoes and grilled squashes. Mmmmmm....

Then the hockey game, and who IS this team anyway??!!!!, and that was such a good game I couldn't look away, I mean we were up 4-0 'til the 3rd period!!! Of course the star goalie for the Rangers, Mike Richter, was taken out 'cause he got hit in the head with the puck a few too many times..... which makes you, or me, think, what's up with that? Dude, you're wearing a mask, you've got a huge glove and a huge stick, how is it you're letting yourself get hit in your one unprotected area, the side of the head? Aren't you paying attention? Okay, I didn't see it, I was at the table eating, and only heard it. But it was him being injured, then the glass breaking, then snowy ice, on account of the Circus is using the Madison Square Garden this week, or something. Lots of weird game delays. And don't forget the melee after we scored our 4th goal! Oh yeah, the whole Rangers team came on the ice to attack all of our guys! It was fun! But with purpose, oh yes, to break our momentum, to fuck us up, and they did come back beginning of the third and score to end the shutout.... and their second goal, I missed, I fell asleep.

Crazy. But no, don't tell me our winning 5-2 was a fluke, we earned that win. We really did! Wow. Maybe those trades were a good idea??????

Ack!

I tried to get online at work yesterday, and both computers had access to the crappy Outsourcing company's health insurance open enrollement site... ONLY. Someone had us blocked, two days in a row, the IT Guy, the programmer from Pakistan that's been working with me on the new program, confirmed it. "You've been blocked". Why are they so anxious for everyone to enroll in the health insurance? Do they get a PROFIT off it???? Horrors!

Well, I didn't enroll. I know, I know, the moles, the cancer, what about that? Fuck it. I feel fine. I do have PMS, I looked at the calendar and confirmed it. This month is long, if I count back, yes, it's time, hence the acne, the bloating, the crankiness, the craving for salt!, but not last weekend's meltdown. Still, no explanation except an overactive brain.

Oh, Mark and I are in touch now, a bit. The other night we exchanged emails with the speed of chatters on AIM. Just chat. I turned him on to Moby's web site, he read some of Moby's updates, and he loved it as I knew he would. He told me he's going to see Tenacious D next week, and he misses talking to me too. He keeps quoting funny things I said to him, things he can't forget. He likes my humor. Who knows what will happen now....

What else?? Oh, after Sunshine not being able to leave early three days next week to be with her son, so she quit altogether, well, Lulu gets a call that her daughter has a 102 fever at school (and excuse me, but this child is always leaving school with some ailment, no kidding, can you say "psychosomatic"?), she goes home EARLY! At noon! And it's OKAY! I wanted to shout, "SEE??? Do you see that???? Lulu's black so it's okay, the white chick wanted to do it and you guys said NO!!!!!!", but I didn't. I was really pissed though, and sat and read.

And the IT woman, the beautiful woman from India, came and installed the new program on Lulu's and Kukla's PCs, and Laverne's too, later Veronica's, and I went to D., the Supervisor, and jokingly (?) asked if I'd get a little "sumpin' sumpin'" for my efforts all week working with the prgrammers to test the program. Hah! I was begging her to thank me, a total fucking waste of time. She turned it around to herself, as she always does, "Well I came up with the idea for it, and yada yada yada...", and I just said, "Yeah, well, sometimes you have to ask to get a pat on the back, you know, I'll just pat my own back." because she pisses me off royally.

Oh, oh, oh, almost forgot, first thing yesterday morning at work, first thing, I get a call on my outside line, who the hell is that?, I wonder, I answer, "This is _____", my real name, you know, not Joleen, that's my "pseudonym", and this woman says, "This is _____ from Georgia Temp" and she stops. Um, yeah, and who the hell is that? Is this work related, what the fuck?? She says, "Is this a good time to talk?" after she suffers through the pregnant pause following her intro, and I say, "Er, yeah, sure, I guess, may I ask what this is regarding?", and she says, "The job you applied for with Monster.com", and I say, "Oh, Georgia Pacific, downtown, right", well, no, they're a temp agency staffing for Georgia Pacific, and the job is NOT downtown, it's CROSS town, in the exurbs, and sorry, but that is a HELLISH commute and there is NO way I'd do it. Seriously.

Have you seen my car?? It's 17 years old for chrissakes! This is after I've told her I'm dissatisfied (I FUCKING HATE MY JOB!) in my present position and I've been there four years after all, and I liked the salary range of the Georgia Pacific job, and she's asking me how much I want to make, or what my salary "requirments" are, and she's okay with the amount I'm asking for, and we're practically setting up an interview and I'm freaking out because I actually got a response, but she sounds pretty stupid, I mean she didn't even properly explain herself and she asked if I was at work, duh, it says right there on my resume that the number you dialed is my WORK number, idiot, and she tells me the job is in the exurb, and is that okay, and I tell her where I am, which is ALSO on my resume, and she says, "Oh, so that wouldn't be good for you?".

Thanks. Thanks a lot.

Wait for my annual review though. I'll say to the Manager (M), "And don't forget I was the one who tested the new program, pointed out all of the spelling errors, I edited it, I helped to add all the new features, that was ME!", because D., the Supervisor, doesn't want me to get credit for anything, grrrrrrrrrrr.

Whew. Why am I sitting here writing about how much I hate the idiots who run the place where I work when it's Saturday, a beautiful, COLD, day, and I have things to do?

Just catching up, I guess, here in the land of Diaries. That's all for now. No "Bond Picture Show" tonight, it's ice skating. Think I must find an alternative.

Cost of the War in Iraq
(JavaScript Error)

Run, Kitty, Run!

Previous - Next

New - 2012 - 2009 - 2008 - 2007 - 2006 - 2005 - 2004 - 2003 - 2002 - 2001 - Profile - Contact - Notes - Rings - Diaryland - Favourite Entries - ReadMe - Surveys - Random Entry

Recent Entries:

It Was 40 Years Ago Today - 9:44 a.m. , Friday, Oct. 12, 2012

Dead Black Cat - 9:07 a.m. , Wednesday, Jan. 25, 2012

As Seen From Outer Space - 1:07 a.m. , Saturday, Dec. 05, 2009

I Survived to Tell the Tale - 7:29 a.m. , Friday, Sept. 18, 2009

Reading My Life - 12:55 p.m. , Saturday, Sept. 12, 2009

Happy Kitty

My Diary Was Reviewed at Ms Lovejoy's - Get Yours Reviewed Too!

Registered I was a nominee