2001-07-10 / 10:48 p.m.

~Dead Meat/Shopping~

As I was getting ready to eat a couple of hot dogs for my dinner tonight a line from a Timbuk3 song popped in my head: "If you are what you eat, I'm dead meat...". What ever happened to them? I saw them once at a little club in town, well, okay, twice at little clubs in town, but the first time doesn't count because I went with an old boyfriend, way after we weren't together, but were still friends, and we got to the club really early, there was no place to sit, so we stood and drank until Timbuk3 came on and I was outrageously overcome with alcohol and secondhand smoke and had to leave.

The second time was much better. I went alone, and they played almost everything I wanted them to. It was just the two of them, husband and wife, (the first time I saw them they'd had a full band) much as I imagine these White Stripes are. White Stripes is a brother/sister/or/husband/wife duo too, right? Anyway....Timbuk3 were an amazing and irreverent singer/songwriting/loving collaborative duo, in their day.

Here's some more, from one of my favorites of their songs, "Pass it On":

"When we do the mystery dance
The right to life is left to chance
Love's the beast we feast upon
Lovers leave yet life goes on
And on and on....."

I love the way they use words, twist them around, play with them like Legos, or building blocks or something.

I don't make a good woman. I don't play the game. I don't do the girlie girl stuff, I hate shopping. I am terrible at shopping. Yes, I have a weakness for toiletries and sundries, and everything else at Wal Mart, and I can drop $100 easy at the Farmer's Market - gourmet staples are a fave - but I cannot buy myself clothes. I suck at it.

I went to Old Navy, thinking I could grab a cool pair of those long cargo shorts, almost like Capris, this guy had on at work one Casual Friday. They were nowhere to be found, Capris were nowhere to be found. Shorts, yes, SHORT shorts, but the whole point, my whole point was to cover up my scrawny white legs while still remaining as cool as possible in 90 degree weather, tomorrow, at this outdoor music fest.

So I bought shorts, not short, but shorts, and a couple shirts, sleeveless. I'll expose my tats, I guess, so people know I'm not just some old fogie, I've crossed the line, although it's no big deal to be tattooed these days, but still......it's a conversation starter, and that may come in handy.

Then I went to Target, or that would be Tarzhay.......but I bought an Eeyore (is that spelled right? Pooh's depressed donkey friend?) camisole and matching thongs. My first thongs, a little set, with Eeyore on them. Isn't that too perfect?! What would Sisqo think? I love it!

Then I had to get sunglasses, and new underwear, well I've been needing some, and a bra, well, because I don't wear bras, but sometimes, well, I don't know, this is a point of contention with me. I'm conflicted. Still, I have breasts, however small, and they shouldn't stare people in the face, not always. A little coverup is in order, and I found a really neat one, all stretchy and seamless. Lovely. (This is all so exciting, I know!)

Trying on bras in a Tarzhay dressing room is just plain weird. Especially after reading Mall, in which there is this long scene with this freaky woman tantalizing this guy with blue balls! She's undressing with a gap in her dressing room curtain and she knows he's looking so she goes crazy, taking everything off, spreading her legs, etc., etc., and he gets arrested for jacking off while watching her! Crazy fucked up book.

So that's what I'm thinking about as I try on stupid bras that I think are pretty useless in the first place.

And I think they have something to do with breast cancer, constricting lymph nodes or something. Bra manufacturers staunchly deny it, of course.

I guess I'm ready for tomorrow, but I do intend to shave my legs again. Twice in one summer can't be all bad. That's if I decide to go for the new shorts. I'll probably spend an hour or two just putting clothes on and taking them off. Fun. I feel like I'm going on a trip or something, deciding what to take, what to pack, what will I need.

Why can't it just be me in something comfy, my Check Card, Driver's License, some cash and my car keys?

More Timbuk3? This is from "Wheel of Fortune", which seems to be about marriage:

"Two hearts at the steering wheel
Driving all night
Between the darkness
And the dawning light
We veer to the left
And we swerve to the right
Two hearts, two hands held tight
To the wheel of fortune"

Cost of the War in Iraq
(JavaScript Error)

Run, Kitty, Run!

Previous - Next

New - 2012 - 2009 - 2008 - 2007 - 2006 - 2005 - 2004 - 2003 - 2002 - 2001 - Profile - Contact - Notes - Rings - Diaryland - Favourite Entries - ReadMe - Surveys - Random Entry

Recent Entries:

It Was 40 Years Ago Today - 9:44 a.m. , Friday, Oct. 12, 2012

Dead Black Cat - 9:07 a.m. , Wednesday, Jan. 25, 2012

As Seen From Outer Space - 1:07 a.m. , Saturday, Dec. 05, 2009

I Survived to Tell the Tale - 7:29 a.m. , Friday, Sept. 18, 2009

Reading My Life - 12:55 p.m. , Saturday, Sept. 12, 2009

Happy Kitty

My Diary Was Reviewed at Ms Lovejoy's - Get Yours Reviewed Too!

Registered I was a nominee