2001-07-09 / 10:10 p.m.

~Wal Mart and Summer Television~

Sometimes I think there are subliminal messages piped into stores, through the background music, be it KRGR - Kroger Radio, or just Muzak at Wal Mart. I don't know what they are, maybe "You need more toothpaste" or "Check out the snacks before you leave" or something like that. Why else would I be incapable of spending less than $50 every time I shop at Wal Mart?

Today I spent $99 and change. Okay, call it $100, but it was really only $99 and change. And I bought some high end items, some really fancy shampoo and conditioner, not the cheap shit, and this fancy shampoo and conditioner is a dollar or two more elsewhere. I know.

And my vitamins. I'm really hoping that replenishing my supply will make me feel better. That taking my multivitamin once again will aid in my overall goal of feeling not like crap. We'll see.

I don't feel badly that I spent so much, no, no buyer's remorse here, not yet. I have the money, had it, so I was okay with spending it, I NEEDED that stuff, I really did. All of it. Hell, I should've bought MORE! And next time I will.

I used to go to a funky web site almost every day, got kind of sucked in to it actually - this guy, Derek, saves all his Wal Mart receipts, scans them and posts them to his own site. Then you, yes YOU, can go and look at them, see what he bought, and wait, there's more, you can leave messages for other fans of Derek's Wal Mart receipts so you can share the experience. It's hilarious, it's addictive, it goes on forever and ever, and pretty soon, well, I had to stop. I was signing the guy's guestbook, I was reading his online journal (I've always wanted my very own!), and I was falling for this guy, this single parent, this eccentric, and way talented guy living up north somewhere, I forget where. It was all consuming, and I withdrew myself. I hardly ever remember to visit now.

But I always thought, Hey, Derek, my receipts are so much more interesting than yours. Ever since I got past my horror at the fact that I was shopping at that place, ever since I realized they had stuff I wanted/needed, at reduced prices, and the crowd shopping with me is this total melting pot/bizarre amalgamation of suburbia/American ethnicity, well, I gave in to the whole experience, and now it's this wonderland, this mecca, this shrine to consumerism. I love it. I spend a lot of money there. Hence, I seldom go.

Wal Mart is a weakness.

And the choices facing me, the consumer, are ridiculous. Deodorant alone. Which to buy?

The last guy I had sex with had the single most best smelling underarms (or would that be double?) of anyone I've ever known, so naturally I'd asked what he used. I wanted to buy some for myself, wear it around, but I can't, I mean it's for men. I'd smell like a sexy guy, not like a woman, right?

Women's deodorant/antiperspirant stuff smells like crap, even the unscented smells horrible. So, as I stood there singing Dave Matthews' song about "...too many choices......" I made a decision. Dove. With moisturizer. Because I guess my pits should be moist. Wait, I thought the idea was to dry them out! Oh no....I fucked up, didn't I?!

Shopping is not my forte. I buy too much, I buy on impulse, even with a shopping list in my hand.

But I watched summertime TV tonight, and what fun it was. Wanted to check out the Yusef Islam intereview on "20/20", but I already know why he left Cat Stevens in the dust, and I still think that any culture which makes women wear scarves and clothes covering their bodies, and probably cuts off their clits or sews their vaginas almost shut is not a good place to be. Cat made his own bed though. Let him lie in it.

So it was "Fear Factor" for me. Sheesh! Taken down by attack dogs, lying in pits with snakes covering their entire bodies, walking I-beams, swaying, in mid air.....cool! All in the name of "conquering their fears". Uh huh. I love it!

And that stupid "Weakest Link" show. I actually watched an entire show. Entertaining, in a way. I liked guessing at the answers.

Tomorrow is Friday for me, okay, Tuesday for me, but I have Wednesday off so it will feel like Friday, except I won't be wearing jeans, and well, it's Tuesday, but I know what I mean. I have no idea what I'm going to wear Wednesday, and this is of major concern. I will be outside, in temps of up to 92 or 93 degrees, it will be humid, it will be uncomfortable. Hmmmmm.....

I think more shopping is in order, but that will have to wait for tomorrow, and I've got to do it before "Big Brother 2" and "Real World". Ahhh....Summer.

Cost of the War in Iraq
(JavaScript Error)

Run, Kitty, Run!

Previous - Next

New - 2012 - 2009 - 2008 - 2007 - 2006 - 2005 - 2004 - 2003 - 2002 - 2001 - Profile - Contact - Notes - Rings - Diaryland - Favourite Entries - ReadMe - Surveys - Random Entry

Recent Entries:

It Was 40 Years Ago Today - 9:44 a.m. , Friday, Oct. 12, 2012

Dead Black Cat - 9:07 a.m. , Wednesday, Jan. 25, 2012

As Seen From Outer Space - 1:07 a.m. , Saturday, Dec. 05, 2009

I Survived to Tell the Tale - 7:29 a.m. , Friday, Sept. 18, 2009

Reading My Life - 12:55 p.m. , Saturday, Sept. 12, 2009

Happy Kitty

My Diary Was Reviewed at Ms Lovejoy's - Get Yours Reviewed Too!

Registered I was a nominee