Monday, Aug. 22, 2005 / 7:52 p.m.

~Only a Couple Days Left of Gold~

So, I've deleted all the images previously hosted on Diaryland's server, re-hosted the ones I'd like to continue using here, at PhotoBucket.com, for free, written more email requesting help, to Andrew, and [email protected], and written a heartfelt letter to Andrew to express my disappointment about this site and his lack of care for it, and to let him know I'm not paying for it any longer. (no replies, as expected)

LiveJournal is $15 for six months ($19.95/year for paid accounts with automatic payment!), Diaryland is $20 for six months! And LJ is more fun, more interactive, has more outlets for creative expression, through a huge variety of layouts and user icons, etc.

I feel so sad about it. Diaryland was IT for me, once upon a time, but as I said in the previous entry, it didn't grow and change, and improve, along with the rest of the Interweb's blog sites, and along with me.

And now there are no responses to tech support requests, and there are problems, we have questions, I'm learning I am not alone. It truly feels like an abandoned site.

I've also just realized that the 'private entry' feature is for Gold Members only, paying members only, so I'm wondering if the problems I've been having regarding access of previously 'private' designated entries will become moot in a day or two when my membership runs out. What will happen to those entries? Can't ask Diaryland, no tech support.

Imagine starting up a web site, really caring for it, working on it, building it, then just dumping it, and the thousands of subscribers. Amazing to imagine. And think of all those paying customers, at $40/year! Wow. I was one, for FOUR YEARS.

I love this diary, I love my layout, I love to click on 'random entry' and read all I've written here. This was a HUGE chunk of my life I put here. I'm still not sure how much more I'll add, but I went back and edited some older entries last night, to add the new HTML for some re-hosted photos, and the entries are not showing as edited! Another bug, another glitch, another question with no answer.

I cleared my browser's cache, I tried another browser, nothing. If I click on 'edit/delete entries' and check the coding, I see it's been altered, but it's as if Diaryland has its own cache, and it won't clear.

Maybe Andrew is on vacation? Maybe his family experienced a tragedy? Maybe he died? Maybe he is just a small man behind a large curtain, or maybe he never existed at all.

I think as a free blogging site, Diaryland could be good. And really, I never should have gotten all caught up in it, paying so much money to use it, but it was all I knew. Now I know more, and I know better.

Still, I wonder at my 'private entries'. Where are they? Are they still there? And do they become public when the membership runs out? And what did I write? I can't even remember, I don't even know which ones they were. There were only a few after all.

Anyway, I'm ready. We'll see what happens. I think I have 2 days left in the Gold Membership.

And if anyone wants the Activism diary at Diaryland, let me know. I've been paying for it too, but I am going to cancel that one as well. It's an open diary, but no one ever posts there - yet I get notes on occasion saying how sad it is it's not 'updated'. Yeah, so, update it yourself, that's what it's there for. Sheesh.

Back to check the LJ 'friends page'. Oh, Andrew, it could have been such a sweet and longer lasting relationship. So sad. I feel totally ripped off.

P.S. If anyone knows of a good and relatively easy way to download all my diary entries to save them to CD or my own hard drive, or something, please let me know. Thanks, you guys, I got my whole diary downloaded to my hard drive! It's just over 8 MB, well over 1,400 entries.

Cost of the War in Iraq
(JavaScript Error)

Run, Kitty, Run!

Previous - Next

New - 2012 - 2009 - 2008 - 2007 - 2006 - 2005 - 2004 - 2003 - 2002 - 2001 - Profile - Contact - Notes - Rings - Diaryland - Favourite Entries - ReadMe - Surveys - Random Entry

Recent Entries:

It Was 40 Years Ago Today - 9:44 a.m. , Friday, Oct. 12, 2012

Dead Black Cat - 9:07 a.m. , Wednesday, Jan. 25, 2012

As Seen From Outer Space - 1:07 a.m. , Saturday, Dec. 05, 2009

I Survived to Tell the Tale - 7:29 a.m. , Friday, Sept. 18, 2009

Reading My Life - 12:55 p.m. , Saturday, Sept. 12, 2009

Happy Kitty

My Diary Was Reviewed at Ms Lovejoy's - Get Yours Reviewed Too!

Registered I was a nominee